Sourcing for green leaves for rabbit utilization / rabbit ingest

in #lifestyle6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, how are you doing today? It Tuesday, more favour coming our way. (Amen) . I am sharing with you the purposes of feeding green leaves to the rabbit and how I source my green leaves.

IMG_20180617_162539.jpg

Another type of rabbit food apart from grower mesh(poultry feeds) (Green vegetables -sunflower plant)

It has been my practice so far to rear animals especially rabbit, broiler birds, and dog not just that alone I am a pure farmer who believe in himself and I am proud to be one. I rear 🐇🐇🐇🐇rabbit for many purposes.

a. For pet ( this as been my first aim since I was so small, when I was trying to earn one or two things from my dad who is also a pro in farming. My dad was a degree holder in animal production also PHD holder in thesame field. That was when I learnt and took interest in farming when I was 8years old. We were still living in a rented apartment then in ile ife, osun state. Nigeria. That was when I learnt that it is good to feed rabbit green leaves/ vegetables, centrocema, all kinds of leaves. But there are some green leaves that are very dangerous to rabbit health.

b. For laboratory tests : I was called upon one day to supply rabbit to a secondary school for laboratory experiments, since then it has been my culture to raise rabbit so much.

c. For consumption : haha, in this case I won't talk about it so much.

d. For Competition.

IMG_20180617_162554.jpg

What do I learn?

So this afternoon, I went down the road not minding the road distance I Will cover I left my apartment (Ita Alamu, ilorin ,kwara state and took a car down to Take, along Princess Hotel and suite also in ilorin too. Close to 100km. There I went straight into the Bush as you can see in the picture, although it is along the road side but it very bushy. Ibwent there with my cutlass 8inches tall.

IMG_20180617_162308.jpg

I began to fetch the leaves( Sun flower) I took my time in this particular type of leave because I have done rabbit experiments with it and the result was awesome, very great. What I did was that after I weaned two rabbits from the same parent I seperated them as usual, I gave one a female sunflower leaves and the other tridax weed for a couple of months the result showed that rabbit fed with sunfower leaves grow better than the rabbit fed with tridax weed although they both grow well but one was more grown,that is why i voted for sunflower leaves

IMG_20180617_162222.jpg

The sunflowr leaves already cut and left for leaf ants or leave worm to have their way and come out for few minutes.
I learnt that when you want to feed your animals generally with leaves ( fresh veggetables) you have to cut and leave them on the ground for some minutes to allow it free from leaf worm. Here that's what I did.

IMG_20180617_162228.jpg

This is the left over of the fresh sunflower leaves which I'm still coming for this week by His grace.

IMG_20180617_162801.jpg
This was when I packed them all inside the harvesting bag and moving them inside the vehicle.

IMG_20180617_162804.jpg
Almost done with the packing anc branding of the sunflower leaves.

IMG_20180617_162814.jpg

IMG_20180617_162818.jpg

Sunflower plant : How does it look like

IMG_20180619_111010_771.JPG

The sunflower plant has an erect rough-hairy stem, reaching typical heights of 3 metres (9.8 ft) by physical examination. The tallest sunflower on record achieved 9.17 metres [30.1 ft] by research. Also Sunflower leaves are very broad as you can see in the pictures, coarsely toothed, rough and mostly alternate. What is often called the "flower" of the sunflower is actually a "flower head" Sunflower is very bitter in taste but very high in protein and minerals.

How do the rabbit react when fed with green leaves?

Rabbit do consume green leaves but it must be minimal amount so as not to get your rabbit grow up some related diseases like bloat, diarrhoea. This types of disease kill fast especially the bloat. I had a terrible experience last month where I lost close to 4 rabbits (wearner) due to too much consumption of green leaves.

IMG_20180617_191541.jpg
This was when I got home from the place I went to fetch the sunflower leaves some kilometres away.

IMG_20180617_191526.jpg
The harvesting bag I used for fetching the leaves before getting home.

IMG_20180617_191626.jpg
New Zealand white , Mother Rabbit fed with sunflower leaves

IMG_20180617_191303.jpg

IMG_20180617_191349.jpg

IMG_20180617_191421.jpg

Here is my picture proof......(You can examine them well , not fake pictures)

IMG_20180617_162539.jpg

I am a farmer and I am very proud just like my great mentor @papa-pepper.

Photographer : @matthewthonyit and also @pejugold

Thanks for stopping by...

@matthewthonyit

DQmVmwajaSVn8sGMeSjyxHwF1hFecQ4U8NGfNCNPVx1WEPW.gif

Sort:  

Very cool article on good food for rabbits. I never fed mine sunflowers when we had them. Good to know for the future. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @viking-ventures. Congratulations and best wishes.

Hello, I enjoyed your interesting article about rabbits. My foster daughter and I often have a little joke about eating rabbits - she is shocked at the idea! You have a long journey to collect your leaves, interesting that sunflower is so nutritious. I came via @viking-ventures and the #payitforward contest.

As @viking-ventures mentioned she featured you in her entry for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

If you are looking for a fun way to meet new people consider joining our discord room and/or the contest.

Congrats! I have chosen this article to feature in this week's Pay it Forward Curation contest.
As such, I have followed you, resteemed and upvoted this post. Keep up the great work!

I think the same method as let leaves on the ground for sometimes before pack it as animal feed also implemented for ruminants, right? Whether it's green leaves or green grass.

Found your post through @viking-ventures post on Pay It Forward Contest this week. I appreciated what you've shared with us, wish that all the rabbits are happy to, since they had a smart and caring owner like you👐

Thanks for this. I love using rabbits to munch away at some of the more invasive weeds in the garden so it's interesting to know that green leaves can be a little harmful! Thanks and also @viking-ventures brought me here!

Full of substance, and very well written. Maybe rearing rabbits isn't that a hard job after all! Talk about adding value to the community, and this kind of post is way up there! You deserve more, but hang on in there!

And just so you know, i stumbled on this in a Pay it Forward Curation contest post by @viking-ventures and that was featured in the @asapers curation posts today.

Keep up the good work, recognition starts with publicity and then the rewards follow.

Those hungry rabbits need their sunflower leaves!

Thanks to @viking-ventures, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

As you know @viking-ventures featured you in this week's Pay It Forward Curation Contest

Great job in sharing your process of collecting and feeding your rabbits. I guess it makes complete sense that some greens don't settle well with them. Very informative. And very awesome you were chosen by @aspers too. Both are great groups to be associated with.

I didn't know they can eat sunflowers. We have lots of sunflowers here in our area as well. My aunt has rabbit pets. I should recommend that to her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83