RESET, REFUEL, AND REFLECT -- MAKE TIME FOR A "DAYCATION"!

in #lifestyle7 years ago

Hey there Steemians!

When was the last time you got away? Either a big vacation, a weekend getaway, or even a day trip somewhere local? For me personally, its something I haven't even thought about lately, mostly because it hasn't been feasible. I am in the thick of trying to launch a business, I have been unemployed for the past few months and doing everything I can to land a job, and simply just trying to stay afloat and make sure my bills are paid, so a vacation of any sort just has not been possible -- or so I thought. We all have different circumstances that allow or don't allow us to do certain things, but like I have mentioned in a ton of my posts, you have to BE CREATIVE! It is really important that within the hustle and bustle we don't forget to take care of ourselves, recharge, refuel and get away. This doesn't require breaking the bank, and definitely should not stress you out.

Depending on your situation, you can take the weekend and take a road trip somewhere a few hours away, or take a staycation and take the weekend to yourself and do something relaxing and something you enjoy, or you can even take a "daycation" and take a drive somewhere local and enjoy a beautiful view or grab a bite somewhere you have never tried before. These are just a few ideas to think about, but there are so many other ways to mix it up, so that you don't end feeling overworked and uninspired.

Time away from our regular everyday routine and hustle is so important, for reflection, inspiration, and self care!

This weekend my cousin came to visit and we decided to take a "daycation" just an hour away from SF in Sonoma. Sonoma and Napa are in the Bay Area's backyard, but feels like a total getaway and is absolutely gorgeous. We visited a winery called Gloria Ferrer, that I had never been to before, and boy did we pick the perfect day to go. The weather was a dream and we got to enjoy some delicious wine and champagne, while overlooking the scenic views of the vineyard. Because we are all so busy, it can get difficult to coordinate schedules and make time to connect, so it was so nice to catch up in such a beautiful setting. We lounged at the winery for a few hours and then made our way into Sonoma Square, that has tons of cute bars, restaurants and desert spots. We had dinner at this rustic bistro called The Girl and the Fig, and got to sit outside on the patio. The food was delicious, and we still left some room for desert, so we dropped into to the cutest little ice cream parlor and I got a scoop of the lavender lemon - which was delightful :)

Overall, it was one of the best Sundays I have had in a long time and it didn't cost me and arm and a leg. I was able to spend time with my family, enjoy some delicious eats and wine, and take in some beautiful views, all within a day! It got me thinking about how grateful I am to be able to enjoy a day like this with the people I love, and it put me in a peaceful and centered place to start my week. Waking up this morning, I realized how important it is for me to make time for myself, my family and for a getaway every so often, whether its close, across or out of the country. Whatever your circumstances are, be a little creative and think outside the box, and make these getaway experiences happen!

Here are some moments I was able to capture on my "daycation" in Sonoma this weekend:

I hope you guys think of some fun getaway ideas and share them with all of us! Thanks a ton for reading and I hope everyone has a fantastic and productive week :)

Sort:  

Like it how you try to get people to travel more! its most important from time to time.
Goodluck landing a fun job and hope your business will suceed as well.
I travelled for four years and blog about it now.
Will keep an eye out for your blogs
Upvoted

Thank you so much! I will definitely have to check out your posts about your travels. :)

Congratulations @bluestsky! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The semi-finals are coming. Be ready!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bluestsky! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54266.19
ETH 2288.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31