My last first day at school

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I entered in the classroom and my teacher distributed some candies

... and that's because today was my last first day at school.

How the system works in Italy

Before you'll be able to understand my quote, you need to realize how the educational system works here. So I'm going to briefly explain that one to you.

Kindergarten

When you turn 3 or 4 years old, you can join the kindergarten. A lot of them are private and the waiting list can be huge, since parents need to leave their kids there to go to work.

Elementary School

From 6 to 10 years old you have to join the elementary school. That's mandatory and there are a lot of public schools on this side. 

Here you have a single teacher or a small group of teachers explaining a big variety of subjects.

Medium School

From 11 to 13 years old you have to join the medium school. That's mandatory and you can find both private and public schools on this side.

Here you have a lot of different teachers. They teach their own subjects but, usually, the teacher teaching italian teachs story&geo too.

Superior School

From 14 to 18 years old you have to join the superior schools. They're divided in a lot of categories, mainly described as: professional institutes, technical institutes, liceums. 

Up to the second year (16 years old) it's mandatory. Then you can leave.

Anyway, no one or almost no one leaves and they wait to have their diplomas on the last year

University

A different world. They're cheaper then other countries, so a lot of people choose to go there. But I'm probably not going.

That's just a brief explanation about ages - of course. If you want a detailed explanation about how the educational system works in Italy just let me know in the comments below.

So... yep, I'm on my last year at superior school!

I'm going to be 18 in one month.

I never got stopped in any subjects (I always had at least 6 out of 10, which is the minimum you have to reach on each subject to get promoted).

So... I'm now 18 and today was my last first day.

Since the "normal" school will finish when I'll graduate (there's a final exam this year), I will never have another first day.

Yeah, I could choose to go to University, but that's another World.

I will never see new mates in my class, I will never see the changes the school will apply, I will never see new pupils that seems every year smaller then the year before.

I won't miss it, because I don't enjoy going to school and my plans bring me elsewhere, but it's just a strange feeling.

I got used to it

I got used to this stuff.

It'll be strange to don't being able to see them ever again (if I don't become a teacher...).

Today I discovered we have four new classmates and I remembered people on the first year are now borned in 2002. So weird. 

And, starting from the next year... nothing.

I won't have three months to sleep when I want, I'll have the entire year (if I don't decide to work).

I won't have to do homeworks, tests, or anything like that. 

I won't be obligated to study.

I won't have any bad teacher.

It's not bad... but it's weird.

I've been in this system for 13 years. I always had "three months", then I waited for Christmas to have another vacation and so on.

It's the student life. And sometimes this life is great too. 

You meet new people

I met a lot of great people in school.

Since I don't study that much I don't talk to "always-studying-student", because we have different ideas about educational systems, but I have a lot of friends in my classroom.

So, not just "classmates", but friends.

We go out on weekends, we exchange homework, we don't go to school together (lol). It's just another part of the student life.

So... what's next?

That also brings in my mind the general question anyone ask me: "what will you do next?".

I have a plan.

Really.

But it's strange. It's fool - probably. 

It's crazy.-

But it is a plan and I don't want to be forced to join the University. I will, for personal reasons, but I won't actually join the courses.

I want to study for passion and joy of knowing something. And I will do that in a setted time each day. If I keep my mind as it is right now.

And I also want to dedicate my time to earn online. I have my prospects about that and I can't wait to start my projects when I'll turn 18!

Let me know about your last first day

Let me know about your last first day at school.

How did it go? 

Did you have fun? 

Did you meet any new friends?

Write a comment below and...

See ya!

PS: if you want, take a look at my last article before that one clicking here.

[First Image] [Second Image] [Third Image] [Fourth Image] [Fifth Image] [Sixth Image] [Seventh Image]

Sort:  

I had eight of those !!

...runs away...
Note: Good job! :)

Ahaha :) thank you! I'm glad you liked it :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64119.05
ETH 2765.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66