Do you have a role model? Someone you admire and want to be like?

in #life6 years ago
Last week I went to a job interview for a position of an Educational coordinator at one firm, the longest one in my life. It lasted more than an hour and I am generally satisfied with how it went. I did not choke and was communicating just fine. There were some fears since it was in English but we will see if my vocabulary was good enough when I hear from them. From all of the questions they asked, there was only one I did not know how to answer, the one about a role model.


CC0 image, Pixabay, author: LUM3N, adapted by me

The interview was going just fine while I was talking about the usual stuff they wanted me to talk about. I was asked what my flaws and strenghts were, my previous employment, education, where do I see myself, why did I apply, what does my ideal workplace look like, what would I never do, what I last learned, what do I regret... The same stuff they ask you at every job interview. This was the first time someone asked me about a role model and I realized that I do not have one.

I answered that I honestly do not know and that I find that to be the hardest question. I explained that it would be easy to just pick some celebrity from the history or modern-day age, maybe even go with some family member but it would be a false answer. In that short time I had to pick one, I could not do it because there were too many factors to consider. The woman smiled and said it is ok if I did not have an answer to that one. I hope she was honest and that this will not cost me that job...

So many people...
So many people to choose from...

I could have said Tesla, Einteinsten, Gandhi, Salvador Dali, Michelangelo and I would have been wrong. All of them (and many more) have some traits that I admire but I could never pick one favorite person because that would mean that I think that person is perfect and I believe perfection is impossible. How would I even decide what things are more valuable than others? Among so many artists, scientists, revolutionaries, and visionaries, how does a person choose only one? A task I could never do. Sure, we can talk about how it is important to follow your dreams, be happy and oh what joy if that includes leaving something behind and benefiting humanity. I do not see myself as a person with enough credibility to be the judge of whose legacy is the biggest. Why would I be anyway? Is having a role model that important? Isn't it better to have some values and actions as planned goals to be acchieved? Why compare yourself to anyone?

It was always crazy to me to want to be somebody else, why not just be yourself? Even in my lowest moments, I knew I had to be myself, whatever that meant. I could look up to some action that another being has done, I may admire some thought process or an emotional response but not the entire person. That person I could like, really like or even love but not admire. I do not admire anyone. I admire what they do or not do but not who they are because if I would admire people, I would admire them all.

There is a potential for greatness
in everyone.

To achieve greatness you should always compare yourself but only to yourself from the past. Are you better today than you were yesterday? Are you more kind, happier, healthier, more loving? Are you smarter, wiser, more resourceful? Did you learn anything new in the last 24 hours? Others can inspire you but do not let them lead you. Lead yourself. You have all that it takes. You have a brain, use it. You have emotions, feel them.

You are a magnificent being that can achieve great things. All you have to do is grow into them. You need to evolve a little bit with each passing day and reflect on what you were with asking yourself are you still that old person or did you change and if you did, was it for the better? Your motivation for progress should be present whenever you look in the mirror. Always be proud of yourself but never be satisfied. You can always be better. You can always achieve more. You can learn a lot from others but that does not mean you have to admire them.

I have been kind of sick-ish for the last couple of days, tired too and fighting a headache. It is the 12th of November and it is 20 degrees outside. What better way to get better fast than by getting some fresh air. I am off to take a nice long walk in the Sun.

I just have to figure out what to listen to while I walk. I often turn on some audio books, lectures or gentle classical music. Who knows what will it be this time. Before I finish writing and leave, one more thing. @bigtom13, @trucklife-family, @hazem91, @yidneth, @enginewitty, @naturalmedicine, @goldendawne I have rewarded you each with 2 SBI shares for your lovely comments. Maybe I made your day just a bit better :)

Until next time,
KEEP YOUR SMILE ON!

Image sources AND LICENCES in order of appearance:

- all images used in this post are free for commercial use, they are royalty free with the links to original images provided under them
- line divider that I use is from FREE CLIPART LIBRARY, and is here
- title pictures are made by me using the CC0 images from pixabay that can be found here
- my bitmoji avatar was created on https://www.bitmoji.com/, visit the site to create yourown

PROUD MEMBER OF:


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

First off, thank you for the SBI. That is REALLY nice. Makes my heart feel good.

I don't agree that role models are perfection. I don't have one, I have many, people that I want to be like in a certain aspect of their life.

You are a role model for me. I don't want to be Petra, but I'd damn sure like to write like you. That makes you a role model in my world.

I even have some favorites. Harry Selvig, who taught me more about fly fishing than any human could possibly know. Ray Underwood, who taught me more about riding a motorcycle than I had learned in 30 years of riding.

Both those men had deep flaws. I did not want to be either one. But I did want to be able to fish like Harry and ride like Ray.

That is my point too, to admire specific things about people but not people in total. Thank you for sharing your opinion and that about me is jut lol :D Much love honey 💚

Nobody has it all. Yes nobody is perfect. There may be few people that possess the virtue I admire. These are the ones I like to hang on with, pick advice from in theit particular area of goodness. Yet there is only one perfect man. Yeshua, perfect man in perfect God. All knowing! All powerful! He has all MAN will desire. Looking unto Yeshua (Jesus Christ) the author and finisher of our Faith.

Posted using Partiko Android

An amazing post, as always from you and very thought-provoking..

This is a question I have never been asked, and never put so much thought in really. Should we have a role-model? Should we have many role-models?

I believe this post is worth some extra thought.. We all admire people, look up to certain persons in our life (or in history). It is what we gain from each one of them, how we assimilate everything, that spices up our own character, behaviour and goals.

Thank You @zen-art for another wonderful post!

It was my pleasure, I am glad you enjoyed the read and that it got you thinking. 💚

I'm not sure I could ever answer that question! There are many people that I admire for one thing or another, but there is always something that I wouldn't want... I guess in the end I would try to be the person that I would want to admire... Seems like a cop out answer, but I think it is better to be the person that you are happy being, rather than aspiring to emulate another...,

That sounds good, be a person you would want to admire. I should have said that! Thank you for your thoughts 💚

This post has received a 25.00% upvote from @daeshawn!
You deserve an upvote for your post. Keep posting and I'll be around. One upvote deserves another please feel free to upvote this comment if you like what I do.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you for the love! 💚

Aw, you know, when I read your title i thought: YOU! You, @zen-art, a role model! You're kind and always willing to help, and your wisdoms are detailed and thoughtful and very, very thoughtfully written. I aspire to be like you!!! And everyone in the @naturalmedicine team, of course. I would have said the same thing - I think it's a terrible question and whoever thought of it for an interview question should be sacked!

Thank you for your kind words honey, they are crazy but still kind :D 💚

that is a really hard question and it would throw me for sure, why should we strive to be like others indeed. thank you so much for the SBI shares xxx

I hope I managed to talk my way out of it :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zen-art 💚 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

There is a potential for greatness
in everyone.

Yes yes yes!

Personally I admire my children for the way in which they are so good at staying in the moment and for fighting for what they want!

Kids are great at that, I like that about them too. It is very inspiring 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60202.34
ETH 2423.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43