The Fig Tree : Master of None

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The Fig Tree : Master of None

So its winter here in New Zealand and the colder weather means and shorter days means I get to binge the shows I've been meaning to watch. Netflix and Chill for one? Don't mind if I do.

So I recently binged Aziz Ansari and Alan Yangs Master of None and it was delightful. If you haven't caught it its a comedy drama that revolves around the life of Dev Shak (Aziz Ansari) and follow his Romantic , Cultural and Professional experiences while also tackling some of the bigger social topics - Racial Stereotyping, Treatment of the Elderly and Women's Safety amongst others. 

photo via denofgeek

The comedy is upbeat and charming and encompases the main characters wit and love for food. Mostly consisting of good pasta, delicious cheesy saucy pasta. 

The Fig Tree - Sylvia Plath


The finale of season 1 included one of my favourite all time quotes by Sylvia Plath from her book The Bell Jar

 “I saw my life branching out before me like the green fig tree in the story. From the tip of every branch, like a fat purple fig, a wonderful future beckoned and winked. One fig was a husband and a happy home and children, and another fig was a famous poet and another fig was a brilliant professor, and another fig was Ee Gee, the amazing editor, and another fig was Europe and Africa and South America, and another fig was Constantin and Socrates and Attila and a pack of other lovers with queer names and offbeat professions, and another fig was an Olympic lady crew champion, and beyond and above these figs were many more figs I couldn't quite make out. I saw myself sitting in the crotch of this fig tree, starving to death, just because I couldn't make up my mind which of the figs I would choose. I wanted each and every one of them, but choosing one meant losing all the rest, and, as I sat there, unable to decide, the figs began to wrinkle and go black, and, one by one, they plopped to the ground at my feet.”

I like to think of myself as a bit of jack of all trades but a master of none and this quote sums up both the opportunities and the fears that I have.

Heres the Scene Read by Aziz Ansari from the show!

So fellow Steem Folk,

What are some of your favourite Quotes that inspire or motivate you or just cheer you up when your down?

~~~~

Check out my previous posts:

https://steemit.com/life/@yoza.ossan/great-food-just-like-mom-used-to-make

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@yoza.ossan/greetings-from-the-long-white-cloud-not-a-weed-joke

Sort:  

Congratulations @yoza.ossan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63223.35
ETH 2688.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55