Why my kids spend 18 hours a day on XBOX One

in #life7 years ago (edited)

 When I was a kid we played outside. 

It was that simple. After school and homework, on the weekend and during holiday breaks we played with our neighborhood friends and didn’t come home until it was dark. Yes, we had a Nintendo, and eventually a Super Nintendo, but they were in the living room on a shelf under the TV in the entertainment center. My parents not only watched every second we played video games but they monitored how much time we spent playing them. They also didn’t have to worry about the online risks involved with video games on consoles nowadays. 

me as a baby... OUTSIDE!!!


  I must admit, @xtrodinarypilot @despool @xtdnrymompreneur and all the members of the Brown Household spend a ton of time in front of screens. We do not monitor the kids time like a lot of other parents, but we do monitor what their activity and content is. My husband and I are on our phones constantly, my husband works from home so he is on the computer often. 

Our kids all have Kindles, an XBOX One, a Wii, and an HTC Vive Virtual Reality system. We are also a family who enjoys watching movies! We even have an inflatable big screen and projector that we put up in the front yard and watch movies on.

 


 I wish my kids could play outside like I did as a kid but it’s just not realistic anymore. We live in a decently quiet neighborhood and have surrounding neighbors that have lived in their houses for 30+ years. But we are those parents that sit outside with our kids, even our 6 and 10 year olds, and watch them. I just don’t trust people. I hear too many stories of child abductions to feel comfortable. Every day we go outside and let them ride bikes, jump on trampolines, take walks, go to the park, or pool.    

Balance is the key!  Source: Simone Biles

As a mom, I find struggle with maintaining what I perceive as a healthy balance between screen time and creative outside play. It’s so easy to just let them play video games or watch videos, especially while trying to cook or get housework done when that’s what they want to do anyway. I know that once we get outside and breathe that fresh air, we all enjoy it so much. There are many critics when it comes to screen time for kids and numerous studies proving how we are all screwing up our kids by allowing them to be sucked into the virtual world. My way of thinking is that we try to balance things as much as possible in life. From junk food vs healthy food, chores that earn you money vs household expectations, educational learning vs creative learning and screen time vs outdoor play. We can’t do everything perfect, 100% of the time. Some days will be PJ wearing, video game playing, ramen soup days while others will be bike riding, swimming, grilled salmon, quinoa and broccoli.  We do a lot with our kids and that’s something I love about my husband and I, we love the outdoors and facilitating adventure in our kids’ lives. We might be a family of devices but we are also an outdoor/travel loving family like when we took our kids skydiving.   

  

How do you manage screentime?
  • @MrWang with Ethan
  • @VischangeFitness with your son
  • @prestigiouskids and @Cryptoblessings
  • @little-peppers
  • It takes a village.


    Sort:  

    My kids have yet to experience the games we played on the street when we were young. Maybe when we have time, I'll take them outside and let them experience the joys of gadget-free gaming. :)

    Upvoted and followed.

    Oh i know, games like dodgeball and hide&seek!!! We try to force them as much as possible. Lol
    Thank you for the upvote and follow!
    Following back. Look forward to seeing you around!

    You got a lovely family, but get them kids outside playin! lol

    Hmmm did you read it? 🤔

    Must mention that your photos are great to look at. Keep doing good.

    Thank you so much!!!!!

    Ah the joys of Summer

    We LOVE summer. We are a late night family and love being able to hang out late and not have to wake up early. Happy Summer @soccericon

    Your story is so real. I myself can attest to some of things you mentioned.

    This is a new generation we should train well, but also accept on the other hand.

    I think that is the true key to sucessful parenting. We really do have to embrace the future generation while teaching them the value in manners and life balance. Otherwise there's an over abundance of consumerism!

    I hear ya! There's something so refreshing about spending time in nature. I think back on my childhood and all the time I spent playing outside. What magical days. Onward and upward!

    There is definitely something magical about nature and I am so glad we create opportunities for our family to experience that magic! Thanks for the upvote!

    Congratulations @xtdnrymompreneur! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    Award for the number of upvotes received

    Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
    For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

    Most parents today probably grew up in the "Don't come inside till the street lights are on" times. Life in general is so much different for kids now, and as a Mom of a 4yo, I too struggle with the screen time issue. You hit the nail on the head in regards to balance! Whenever I get hard on myself for too much screen time, I try to remember that as long as it's balanced with play time or quality time, it's just the reality of being a kid now a days!

    Absolutely!! We all do the best we can and some days its doing what we think is minimal. I really hate when other moms/parents criticize because we all have good days and bad days.

    This isn't a comment on screen time, but some food for thought regarding letting the older kids play outside unsupervised. Did you know that stereotypical stranger abductions are actually vanishingly rare?

    These stats are courtesy of Leonore Skenazy's blog, Free Range Kids:

    Abductions in perspective:

    Number of children age 2 – 14 killed in car accidents, as passengers: 1300
    Number of children killed each year by their family members and acquaintances: About 1000
    Number of children abducted in “stereotypical kidnappings” (kidnapped by a stranger for ransom or for sexual purposes and/or transported away) in 1999, the most recent year for which we have statistics: 115.
    Number of children killed by their abductor: About 50.

    It's actually more dangerous to take your kids in the car than it is to let them play in the backyard without supervision! :-)

    We live in an apartment in the downtown core of a major city. What I wouldn't give to have a backyard where I could let my kids blow off steam while I work, cook or clean.

    The kids enjoy playing out front because they have friends on the street they play with. They also cannot ride their bikes in the back yard.

    The comment applies to both front and back yards :)

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.20
    TRX 0.14
    JST 0.030
    BTC 67364.26
    ETH 3322.90
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.71