Privacy is Dead...and We Have No One to Blame but Ourselves

in #life6 years ago (edited)

1_IVawgs9-QwIZcDz4_M401Q.png

In case you hadn't noticed, privacy is dead. If you'd like to know who to blame, just look in the mirror. Every day we freely choose to give up privacy in exchange for convenience...and most people have no idea they're doing it.
images.jpeg

Do you use an A.I assistant like Siri? Unless you turn it off, it's on...and always listening by default.
Do you post on Facebook? If so, facebook now owns every picture and post you make...not to mention the timeline of events in your life.
Do you use your fingerprint to unlock your phone, tablet or computer? You've just given your fingerprint away to strangers.
Do you use Google or any of their products like Google Maps? Have you ever read the user agreement on Google products?
Do you shop on Amazon? Every product you buy goes into a data base with your name on it.
I could go on and on...

You can try and turn off tracking options (located in privacy settings), but then the services you love won't really work as well, if at all. Most people don't bother. They think, "I've got nothing to hide". That mentality is leading to the slow, agonizing death of all privacy.
images (1).jpeg

To make things worse, consider how quickly Artificial Intelligence is advancing. Not only is A.I taking many human jobs, it's now capable of reasoning. It can fix itself in many cases...which means once created, human impute is needed less and less. Eventually A.I will be self sustaining. One study performed at the Georgia Institute of Technology actually taught A.I to be deceitful. If A.I can think and reason, how long will it take before they start demanding the same rights as humans?
https://listverse.com/2017/12/04/top-10-scary-facts-about-artificial-intelligence/

Many of these advances have been made in the last few years. Technology is increasing at an exponential rate. What use to take decades is now being achieved in a matter of months. Imagine where we'll be in a couple years. What will happen when every human beings personal data is uploaded to these machines capable of reason, thought and deceit?

616164016_preview_chosen 1.jpeg

This may seem like something out of a sci-fi novel, but it's closer than you think. If we don't do something to protect our privacy now, I fear for our future.

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-41483723
https://hackernoon.com/privacy-is-dead-and-we-have-killed-it-603df3727f22

DQmXB9aF8ZeQAEgsHbLu8ZiHCrPTrujQp3YMHZykKGiBoyx_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

This post is making a lot of sense to me in my personal life when recently I found that our neighbours were able to hack our personal information. They were able to grab the phone numbers from my phone, maybe by some hidden camera about which I am not aware. But now after reading this post, I have realised that if I sit and cry for my security, then I should understand that the technology has overtaken our security. I believe this post has made a lot of sense to me. I feel like my eyes have opened up. I should really not fear and feel unsecured because the time and technology is changing. Thanks for this million dollar post because I found an answer to my very big problem.

Thank you for sharing. I'm glad it helped.

Yes, it helped me understand that it is my mistake and not of those who hack. My security is in my hands altogether. Nor the police or anyone else should protect me, it is my life and my protection.

Please send a new post to the group, the one that you sent in memo is 11 days old, in steemit we get paid only for maximum 6 days old, and we upvote only 6 days old, tell here when you done.

I tried to create a facebook account, but it was shut down for some reason. They said "suspicious activity"...which I have no idea what that's suppose to mean. Anyway, you can use this post: https://steemit.com/life/@workin2005/privacy-is-dead-and-we-have-no-one-to-blame-but-ourselves

Ok, I will share it in the group my self and it will be upvoted by the team, thanks for using our service. I will do the same the next time if you will use it again.

CONGRATULATIONS YOUR PUBLICATION HAS BEEN SHARED BY @Untapentuoreja, will be seen by 2903 steemians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64951.20
ETH 3557.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35