It’s fine to envy others, but you have your own way to go

in #life7 years ago

source

A few days ago, on my way to work on bus, I passed a crossroads.

Through the window, I saw a young couple walking briskly across the crosswalk, the energy from young people make me envy of them.

The boy was tall, wearing short sleeves, double shoulder bags, and a baseball cap. The girl has a blonde hair, wearing short-sleeved shirts, jeans, and a slight movement with her arm when talking, exaggerated body language filled with exotic feelings.

Both of them have a pleasant talk with each other, their face is full of relaxing and pleasure. The bright morning sun shines on them, looks like a painting on the wall.

When I look back into the bus, most of the office workers have no expression on their face, their eyes were sluggish, look down on their phones, dark circles under the eye, because of lack of sleep from time to time and keep yawning. The dull atmosphere in the bus and the scenery outside the window formed a sharp contrast.

source

Most people who are already working will have this feeling--every time they see college student, they always get envy.

Envy them no need to face the complex social, interpersonal relationships; no need wake up so early to catch the bus to work; and also no need worry so much about their life.

But a few friends of mine who have not graduated yet, told me that they do not feel that their life are worth admiring, but rather envy those who dress formally to work every day. In the eyes of students, those who are free and independent, have a good salary and buy anything they want, no boring, heavy homework and assignments, have the right to dominate their life.

Between the two identities, is looking at each other, envy each other.

Students are envious of the stability, income, and ability to control their life. While office workers envy students ' youth, space, and future possibilities.

source

When it comes to "envy", the first person I think of is Chewie.

Chewie is a foreigner. When I was traveling to Penang for a few days, he has become a permanent guest there.

At that time I was just finished my internship and travel to Penang. After I made friend with Chewie, I realized that there is not only work in our life, there is another way of living.

Chewie spent two years in Penang. In that two years, he was a volunteer in a guest house, singer in a bar, and done a lot of part-time jobs. When he was stressed, he will go the beach and look at the sunset.

At first I thought he was just traveling for a few months then will go back to his "normal life", but later Chewie told me that he was working in Penang and has saved a small amount of travel expenses. After he experiences enough the Penang lifestyle, he will set off to Thailand.

But his journey does not end in Thailand. He also plans to go around the world, to India, China, Russia, if he has no money, he will work, save enough money to continue the journey.

After listening to Chewie, I was shocked and full of envy. During university, I always said I want to travel around the world, but I never really accomplish it. 

I often say to Chewie, I envy him. At first, Chewie always smiled noncommittally.

Until the night before I left Penang, we squatted on the beach and drank beer, Chewie said: "You do not need to envy me, in fact, I am very envious of you. By looking at your pampered look, you certainly will not know how hard to survive in foreign country. You can reunite with your family when you get home, and I haven't been home for more than three years. You can also find a job, work, and I will panic when I see the office building, and forgotten how to social. Almost become a barbarian."

That day, we chatted for a long time, I don’t remember the specific content, but I still remember the last words Chewie said: "Although I envy you, I know very well, I still have my own way to go."

This sentences, gave me a long thought, although we envy each other, we can’t live in each other's life, in the end, we still need to return to our own way.

source

The fish envy the bird can fly in the sky; The bird envies the fish can swim freely in the sea. But their survival habits determine that their life is unable to exchange.

A few months later, I went back to my hometown and started my life in a methodical way. And Chewie from Penang, after more than half a month's journey, he finally arrived in Thailand.

At every end of a busy day, I will always look at Chewie blog that shared places he went, and then silently talk to myself in my heart: I do envy him, but I still have my own way to go.

Most of the time, the mist of envy will appear in front of us, if you does not push it away and find what you really want, you will lose your path of progress.

No one can live in the vacuum world, as long as there is people, network, social, there will be comparisons, no matter good or bad, there will be envy.

In fact, when your life and the spiritual world become richer, you have no time to take into account the happiness of others.

Their life is wonderful, but you still have your own way to go.


follow

PREVIOUS POST
People who always in a hurry, will never have enough time
School is the "TICKET" to Life, Don't Always Complain Your Life is Hard and Tired
There is no pain in the world is for you Alone
16 Habits to Improve Yourself
There is no IF in Life
The Elements That Determine Whether a Person Can Succeed

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Salad from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Great story to share with us @walkinharmony! Upvoted, resteemed and followed you

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @walkinharmony to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52