About inmates, pen-pals & friends

in #life6 years ago (edited)

postage-stamps-484991_1280.jpg
*(picture: Pixabay)

I decided to find me a pen-pal. I needed something to do for me.

I have always been writing letters. Some years with my granny, an aunt, I had a pen-pal in Belgium and two in the USA, also one in Germany. All of them I also met in time and yes there some I still miss.

We shared the same love, my American friend and I, our love for ferrets.

We both had them as well and that is how we met at the first place. She did visit me because she also found a guy on the internet overseas (to be honest I am glad she did not marry him).
As she came back home she met a great, attentive man and they got married. I felt so happy for he. She did find the love of her life. Unfortunately he died and she had a hard time to handle it and did not know how to live without him. She felt so lost and I lost her.

I also lost my German pen-pal.

Sadly enough he also broke down as his girl friend broke up with him because she found someone new. He became very ill, was hospitalized for a very long time. What did happen to him I do not know.

Fact is I like to hear about other people lives.

What might be boring to them did open a whole new world to me (no, internet did not exist at that time). And yes I share my life with them as well.

Fact is also it is hard to find a pen-pal nowadays. People simply do not write letters any longer. Personally I think it is a pity. It is great to find a letter in between your mail instead of just bills (and even bills are send by e-mail already and getting less, so the letter box stays empty).
prison-370112_1280.jpg
(picture: Pixabay)

While searching the internet I found www.writeaprisoner.com.

I decided to give it a change after asking myself first if I was able to write with inmates and if so, what kind of.
A question I had to ask myself, since I am a survivor of child abuse and escaped out of a marriage with a narcissist and have been manipulated and abused the biggest part of my life.

I wrote to several inmates (first letter is by e-mail) and simply waited for an answer.

And some did answer, others did not.
I did wrote, to start with, with over 15 different inmates, three are still my pen-pals after all these years.

I managed to became friends with some of them and hopefully I will be for some more time. I feel way more save and appreciated by them as in my world.

Like to know more about me? Please read my other posts.

My family is not "flattered" by me. They say I am a monster

https://steemit.com/cps/@wakeupkitty/you-should-know-i-am-am-a-monster

My dad run out of us and left me with a psychopath of a mom to take care of

https://steemit.com/parents/@wakeupkitty/run-away-dad

I turn out to be interesting for scamming

https://steemit.com/scam/@wakeupkitty/he-is-a-scam-it-is-omar-day-again

My pen-pal is in prison, in a few years he will be free again.

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/he-my-pen-pal-wants-to-meet-me

Sort:  

Beste @wakeupkitty er bestaat ook een Nederlandstalige steemit/discord community 'all dutch' meer informatie vind u hier
Je bent van harte welkom in de Nederlandstalige community op Discord !
Groetjes @anouk.nox

taddlogo001.png
Click on the top photo

Ik kom er niet in.. invite expired?

https://discord.gg/5qCvhw probeer zo eens aub

Ik ben er in maar zie geen e-mail om te verifiëren. Ook geen optie om te antwoorden

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30