DESTINY DELAYED BUT UNCHANGED

in #life6 years ago

Destiny delayed but unchanged

……Episode 1

“You are making a huge mistake”.

I try to shake off the voice for the thousandth time today and just like before, it isn’t exactly working. Its keeps ringing back to me.

Maybe because a part of me agreed with the voice? Maybe because I just might be making a mistake I wouldn’t be able to go back from? Maybe because I’m very nervous at the moment?

Rebecca, you will be more hurt than you were when he left! Why do you want to do that to yourself?

And again, I try to silence the voice by refusing to listen. They were the words my best friend David said to me on the phone last night about the trip I’m taking and just as I didn’t listen the previous night, I’m not listening now.

I drag my attention back to the busy road, I’m at Ado-Ekiti for a wedding…my ex’s wedding actually. My ex that I was engaged to for a few months back and he is about to get married to someone else.

And no, I am not insane. I am only acting like a good Christian should.


Now At Ado-Ekiti

“Rebecca!”

I smile as I run into her outstretched arms; she holds me in a warm embrace and kisses my forehead so many times I begin to giggle.

“I’m so glad you came,” she says to me when we disengage from the embrace and I know that she means it. Not just because she says it with so much sincerity but because her eyes actually echo her words.

“It is the right thing to do ma” I respond and the voice in my head scoffs. Right thing to do? It asks and like I have made up my mind to do, I ignore it.

She nods in response to my answer and then squeezes my hands “Are you sure you are okay with…”

“Ahn ahn come on mummy. I’m fine I promise” I answer, reassuring her and more importantly, reassuring myself. I can cope, I hope.

I travelled down from Lagos for this, I can cope, I really can. I decide that my new meditation to chant for the next three days will be “I can cope”…or maybe “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me?”

My Ex’s mother nods again and gives her heart-warming smile. “Oya come inside, let’s go and deal with this wahala together.” She says to me and I follow her with my small travelling bag.

As I enter the house, memories come rushing back and most of them are unwelcome. I don’t want to remember the times I spent with him in this house and our good times together. No. It is not healthy; it isn’t right, it isn’t…

“Rebecca this is Linda, the bride to be…” My ex’s mother gauges my reaction as she says the words. Bless this woman’s soul, she just doesn’t want me to get hurt. But she needs to know I can’t. I’m happy for her son and that is all that matters at the moment.

To make her understand that am after nothing but her Son’s happiness, I dragged Linda into a warm embrace and as aware as I am of her surprise, I don’t act it.

“Congrats Linda” I say and she manages a smile. She is still shocked at how nice I seem and I’m not sure if she knows I’m her groom’s ex but she can’t seem to understand the whole nice attitude.

“Thanks” she says and then adds “thanks”. There is an awkward moment of silence after which she faces her would-be-mother-in-law.

“They say my maid of honour is still sick. I’m really worried, its my big day in two days and I don’t know if she’d be able to make it” Linda says.

“Don’t fret Linda. Everything would be fine” my Ex’s mother tells her and I nod.

Then I say without thinking “Yes. Just tell me if you need anything, I’d be glad to help”.

Linda and my Ex’s mom look at me as if I’ve just being delivered at the doorstep with a bow. I know I’m being silly but I’m nervous! Freaking nervous! I need to get out here.

I smile like an idiot and say to nobody in particular, “I’d be in the guest room” after which I disappear in a flash.


“I told you it was a stupid idea. Now you are being silly simply because you are nervous and you won’t shut up! Rebecca take the next cab and get out of that town” David yells from the other end of the line. I called him immediately I entered the guest room and told him what I just did.

“Come on David, I’m already here. I can’t leave” I reply. Or can I?

“Sure you can. You can get a freaking cab and leave. Why are you staying in their house anyway? Whatever happened to a hotel if you have to be there?” He inquires and I can’t help but agree. What am I doing here? Oh I remember why and I tell him again…

“His mum asked for me to stay here and…”

“And you could have said no. Jeez, whatever got into you?”

“I will be fine David. You need to trust me.”

“You better be. And you better not keep me in the dark. I don’t trust you to take care of yourself anymore. I don’t know what you are thinking going to attend the wedding of a man who broke your heart…”

And that stings. He didn’t have to remind me “David… I have forgiven him. You need to know that this is part of what forgiveness does…”

“Going to your ex’s wedding? That’s stupidity. And two days earlier?”

Maybe he is right. Maybe I should pick my bags and leave. I decide to seriously consider that when I hear a knock on the door and my Ex’s mother comes in.

“I’m going to run an errand. Do you want to come?” She asks and I nod quickly, glad to be distracted from David and his stinging words.

“Let me get back to you David, I have to attend to something” I say quickly and hang up while I hear him say something like “You are being silly…”

I grin at my Ex’s mother. “Let’s go ma”.


The drive had saved me from David’s hurtful words but it had delivered me into the hands of my Ex’s mother’s kind words that I could do without.

She keeps telling me about how happy she is that I could get over the hurt and act like a grown up but I honestly would rather everyone stops talking about my arrival.

Maybe I should check into a hotel and stay away from David’s calls and messages?

That is seriously under consideration.

“Have you seen him?” My Ex’s mum mum asked.

The “him” in question is my ex and I haven’t seen him. We haven’t spoken in over a week and he doesn’t know I would be here because I didn’t give him an answer when he last pleaded with me to come.

“No..” I answer. I haven’t seen him in over a year as well. Not since he returned to the states.

There’s silence in the car and when her phone suddenly rings, I’m happy I don’t have to endure another awkward silence. How many of those do I need to endure till the weekend is over though? I wonder.

The wedding is on Saturday and its only Wednesday evening.

“Hello…Micheal? Kilode?” She responded on picking the call..

My heart skips a beat at the mention of his name. That’s him. Am I prepared to meet him? I haven’t thought about that in a long time but now I’m not sure. But then I still have a little time to prepare…

“Okay, Rebecca and I are headed in that direction. We would see you soon.”

What direction? I thought to myself….Wait, are we seeing him now? Damn, I am so not ready for this!

How Do I Face Him and My Emotions wont Disappoint Me?

-To Be Continued-

Sort:  

Congratulations @vivinaps! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57495.90
ETH 2348.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36