Another reason to hate winter...

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I took the day off from posting on the blog so I could focus on resting.

@guthrie woke me up around 3AM and had trouble falling asleep which threw off my sleep schedule completely so I needed that extra day to catch up. I woke up today knowing that it was Friday and I had game night to look forward to. I had a planned to write about that tonight but something unexpected occurred and I’m sure you can guess what happened from the picture above.

It was risky for me to leave the house this afternoon because I knew it would be snowing and everyone out here SUCKS at driving. There were no problems getting to the coffee shop, I had to park further down the block because of winter parking restrictions but we were okay with it. Near the end of the night @guthrie spilled his smoothie all over his pants and I thought that would’ve been the highlight but I thought too soon.

Not even 5 minutes away from the coffee shop, my car had completely stopped at a traffic light then it was suddenly bumped from behind.

It was complete unexpected and I was so pissed because it HAD to happen just as we were making our way home. Thankfully, @guthrie and I are okay. We’re feeling a little sore from the collision and he’s very unhappy with the person who hit us. I’m almost positive the guy was on his phone because I had already been stopped for 3-5 seconds when he rear-ended me.

I followed the guy who hit me and we exchanged information in a parking lot. He explained that he was rushing to get home to let his dog out and that he needed to get back to work. He asked if I had called the cops and begged me to not call them because he would be late for work. I did end up calling but they told me that they wouldn’t come if the car was still drivable. I wasn’t trying to be a jerk by making the call, I just felt uncomfortable and needed reassurance. In the middle of all this chaos, he also told me that the front of his car was mostly damaged from another car accident which occurred recently. Right away, he was flagged as a reckless driver in my eyes.

@guthrie was complaining about his injuries the whole ride home. Telling me that his ear infection had returned after the collision, that his head, tummy and numerous other ailments were causing him discomfort. I really won’t know what wrong with him until tomorrow, but he looked okay to me, just sleepy.

We arrived home only to discover that the trunk is busted. 😫

I popped it open to retrieve my work bag and regretted it when I noticed that the frame around the trunk was messed up. @kommienezuspadt messaged @bryanpolitte to ask him to help me rope it shut tomorrow. I’ll gratefully accept any help I can get because I don’t know what I’d do if the bumper fell off!

Again, I’m thankful that this accident wasn’t serious and that no one was injured. I do feel bad for worrying @kommienezuspadt when he’s on the other side of the country. He’s only been gone for two days and I know how stressed he must be.


Please...post anything cute, funny or encouraging in the comments to brighten the mood.


Thanks. 💜🦊

Sort:  

Sucks that some dick was rushing and just slammed you in the rear. Hope you're not too sore.

I'm thinking maybe he should have his licensed revoked for winter.

From a scale of 1-10, I’m probably feeling a level 3 in soreness. I’m not in pain but it feels uncomfortable and my alignment is obviously out of order. I soaked in a hot bath and stretched lightly before bed.

Two accidents in a short period of time? Yeah, I’m thinking he needs a break. I’ve been getting apologetic messages from him this morning so I’m glad to hear that he cares.

I’m sorry to hear this happened to you but glad you two are alright aside from being a little sore. People suck at driving in the wintertime in here too, where there is a proper winter every year, yet it always seems to come as a surprise and people have the wrong tires on.

Thanks, Eve. I’m gonna take some time to unwind and hopefully let go of all this stress. I can’t believe how thoughtless people are in the snow, it blows my mind. I probably would hate winter less if I didn’t ever have to drive because everyone around me is either too scared (to drive), unprepared or overly confident.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Always have some tie rips at hand and some rope and you can save yourself.

You have something to.look forward too. A course how to fix the car (for women) as soon as winter is over.

Good the guy hit you instead of you hit him. Now you have prove men are bad drivers.

Posted using Partiko Android

I usually have bungee cords but I can’t seem to find them. 😑

There was a car in front of me too but I gave it enough space so they were lucky to not get hit as well. Unlike most winter driver out here, I don’t tailgate in the winter because you never know when everyone starts to slide outta control.

:O

That sounds like a day where you shouldn't leave the bed at all. Poor foxxie... so many things went wrong :(. I tried to find funny pics, but I'm not good at my meme T_T.

*hugs

I had such fun plans for today too. I might still try to leave the house... unless my bumper falls off. 😅

Your thoughtful words were enough for me. <3

Fender benders are so damn common, but it always sucks when you get one!

It does!!

Oh! I would like to one day be able to have snow in my hands and feel the cold, but not too much.
Lots of snow, take away the plans. it's not cute hehhehe

It sounds like you were both concussed. It’s really important in the early stages to document all of this for car insurance purposes and for general health. Good luck!

Hehe happened to me last month. It's all fixed up now. Don't feel bad, it's only a bumper... and a trunk! Like you said, it could have been worse...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89