Owning My Disabilities and Flaws: A Liberating Confession

in #life7 years ago (edited)

26754690_1552098951511661_1173364142_n.jpg
Photo source

Mainstream media has taught the world to hide their imperfections and flaws. We take selfies and only post those that will surely get a number of likes from our followers, not to mention the layers of filters we apply in our pictures. Confidence has been faked and is measured by the number of likes we get. Truthfully, we have boxed ourselves as to what the world dictates to be “acceptable” and “beautiful.”

In fact, if you visit my Facebook account, you will never see the real me because I chose to succumbed to the world’s definition of me and what I should be. I have posted my pictures but never talked about the story behind them. I have never allowed the world to see how much time I spent in cropping my pictures or retaking them to get the perfect shot. I was afraid how people would judge me if they know my deficiency.

26853063_1552038708184352_1675125999_o.jpg
Shamesless selfies, I know!

I hope you will understand why. I was born with a disability in my right arm, it was medically referred as Right Arm Deformity. When I was still a baby, my mother brought me to a German Doctor whom she thought could help my case. However, my father then realized that we should just accept what the Creator has given and be grateful that I was alive with no other major “defects.” I grew up with little confidence fearing that if I act normal in front of my friends, they will only tease me and make fun of my hand. We all know how painfully honest children are and as much as we can, we try to divert their attention to something that interests them instead of explaining to them why things are the way they are.

26853275_1552038511517705_146445677_o.jpgFinally my imperfections

I wanted to be accepted even just for once. When I was in grade school, I was refused to join camping or dance presentations. My teacher said, I will only be a distraction to the audience. These rejections are a lot more painful than being dreaded by my high school crushes who does not want anything to do with me. When I graduated college, I applied for a writing job but was refused because I can only type in one hand. I was devastated that time as I have passed the initial examinations and even the typing exam. Still, I was refused.

I can still remember the exact words I wanted to tell that HR Officer with curly blonde hair when she told me to convince her more with her uninterested tone.

I could no longer convince someone who has already decided not to hire me basing only from my physical flaws.

I really wanted to say that to her face. But I didn’t. I was too coward to confront her and tell her that she was only rejecting me because I couldn’t type in both hands and not because I wasn’t qualified. I didn’t and I have regretted it a million times. I know I should have because that very moment still haunts me up until the present day.

For all the times that I couldn’t join dancing and camping activities, I resorted to writing. It has become my escape to a world free from judgement and “what shoulds.” And she is taking it away from me.

I never told anyone about this, not even my parents as I felt so helpless at that time. I couldn’t blame anyone. I couldn’t find someone that will truly understand my pain and my anger. Also, I don’t want the world to actually pity me because I know I can do great things without restrictions. All I want is for the world to give me a chance.

How I wished I could share all these to my mother. However, we all know that a child’s pain is a hundred fold more painful to a mother and I couldn’t do that to her.

For the past 27 years of existence, I am already used to judging looks and pity looks of strangers. Looks of relief that they weren’t in my position. Degrading stares thinking that they are better than me because of my personal circumstance.

You can’t...

You can’t join the dance troupe.

You can’t carry that.

You can’t be like that.

All my life, I have been forced to do what the world has set for me that I can only do. I have been imprisoned to the world which they want me to be in. That’s why I have stayed in the dark, hiding in my pictures with fake smiles and unrecognized potential.

Then, Steemit Came…

I was too busy writing things about me wanting to make people see the best in me. I tried to write everything that I am without writing the things that I wasn’t. I am not perfect. I don’t have the perfect two hands and I am typing this article using only one.

Then it hit me. Steemit is for everyone. @surpassinggoogle’s words became my motivation in coming clean to all of you guys and show you the real me.

Flaws are allowed.

Flaws are allowed.

Flaws are allowed.

These three words are very powerful as it has encouraged a lot of individuals to embrace their incapabilities, their physical circumstances and their shortcomings. I have read these words few days ago and they still keep me awake every night.

I was so ashamed when I read about posts of people who managed to share their whole life story in Steemit without any lies. These people gave me a glimpse of their lives without any conditions and I wasn’t giving them the same thing. HONESTY.

So, I am putting this for all the members of Steemit to know who I really am. I know this should have been included in my introduction post but forgive me for finding my courage at a later time.

I am doing this for myself too. Finally, I can be liberated from the world’s hold of my true identity and worth.

What Steemit did to me was life-turning. It allowed me to own my imperfections and make use of it. It gave me a hope that somewhere out there, someone still wants to know me more than my physical appearance. It has given me the chance that I have been asking this world my whole life.

So, Steemit, thank you for making me realize my self-worth and for letting me feel that I am truly a part of a warm, understanding and encouraging community. I will be forever grateful to what you have brought my entire life.

Sincerely yours,

Valerie, the Reborn Version

26692971_1548713168516906_434282882_o.png

26179641_1950974388247764_686393086_o.png


APP.png

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

WITNESSES: @aggroed | @ausbitbank | @blocktrades | @cloh76.witness | @curie | @pfunk |@precise | @smooth.witness | @someguy123 | @steemgigs | @timcliff | @utopian-io

Sort:  

I found your post through Muxxybot. These people who judge you for your disability--they're the ones who are flawed. There is nothing wrong with you. You have my respect 100% for coming out with this!

hi @bex-dk! I would not have done this if not because of the love I am getting from the entire Steemit community. I know, y'all have my back. So, thank you. Now I am finally baggage-free!

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Hi @gmuxx!! Thank you so much for appreciating the story behind this post. It will be a pleasure being featured by @MuxxyBot. I wanted this article to be a protest against discrimination and become an inspiration to those who are experiencing the same. Again, thank you so much from the bottom of my heart!

It's my pleasure. I totally understand where you are coming from.

Thank you for understanding and giving a minnow like me a chance to be heard.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @valerie15 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Nevermind those people who rejected you, prove to them that they are wrong, be a lawyer and show them your worth.

God bless you always...

@long888 thank you so much! Steemit, indeed has proved to me that there are still a lot of good people in the world. You are one of them.

Wow Val you moved me in so many ways with this story. You are beautiful inside and out, super smart and writes so eloquently.

The so called flaws that you consider are but roadblocks that you and other people place on yourself. The world is bigger than where you are currently now and Steemit will open endless possibilities.

I have to thank you for sharing something very personal. In a way I have also removed my mask here and become the person I truly am.

I wish I could give you a hug right now and say everything will be all right. We are here. We are your family in Steemit.

P.S.

Who is the HR that told you that? I want her name grrrr

#steem-untalented @teardrops

Awwe, thank you so much @maverickinvictus! My first few days in Steemit were rough and shaky. Finding you and the rest of the #steemitachievers team made my stay a walk in the park. Thank you for making me feel so welcome and for being so supportive. Truth is, I would not have the courage to pour everything out if not because of the love I have felt in the team. Thanks again!

And as to the HR Officer, I forgot her name and her face. 'Guess her faceless image on my mind represents everyone who turned me down. I intentionally included those words I wanted to tell her in my post to release my anger to her and to finally free myself from such hatred.

So truthful.

@yhubie, thank you! Thanks for dropping by! Enjoy your day!

What I see is not the imperfect hands but how beautiful those hands can create letters to words and words to sentences and sentences to paragraphs that touches one's soul. I saw not just a beautiful lady in you but a lady with a beautiful heart. I'm proud of you @valerie15 <3 hugsss

Huhu thank you for believing in me @katiepals!

a lot of truth in this piece, especially the part about the world's standards of beauty and acceptance. you've channeled your frustrations well, and is evident by how well you write. Thanks for having the real confidence to share your story with Steemit. :) More power to you girl. Upvoted and followed!

Thank you @noellesevilla! I would not have the confidence without the motivation from all the Steemit members like you. Thank you so much for such a warm acceptance!

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation post.
https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-50

my full respect to you my supportive friend...😊😊😊... so happy for you ..so happy im part of this platform ....aside from the earnings hihi.. this is the most important thing I'll never forget here in steemit..meeting a talented and inspiring people like you...😊😊😊

@jackielouvarquez. hi frieenddd! Hahaha meeting you is one of the best things I have in Steemit. Thank you for everything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57419.72
ETH 2441.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41