Mindfulness Monday - I can get by with a little help from my friends

in #life6 years ago

k12l0tvxw3.png

Happy Monday Steemians!! I hope this past week has gone well. I thought it would be great for us to go back and revisit our archnemisis FEAR. As anyone that follows this postings knows that I have had several changes in my life recently. The words fear and afraid came up. With my surgery I had friends and family ask me if I was afraid? 'I asked of what? What do I have to be afraid of?' Their response was, 'Of something going wrong.' I made an informed decision, what is there for me to be afraid of. Then I realized what was being asked. They wanted to know 1) if that I was afraid of the surgery itself and 2) if I was afraid of dying. Then I also relized, it wasn't my fear it was theirs. They were the ones afraid of something happening. I explained to them that I was very comfortable with my decision. I had no reason to be afraid. If it were my time to pass, then so be it. Nothing I could do to change that. However, I was very confident in my decision. My family and friends that are my support structure agreed with me and were amazed I wasn't nervous or afraid. I was relaxed and confident.

My second incident happend during this time also. I had taken 2 weeks off of work for recuperation. This was not long enough. I went back to work 16 days after surgery. Two days before I was due to go back, I had gotten a phone call from a former coworker. She said she had a job opening. I asked her if I could think about it. After my first 3 days back, I contact my manager and gave my notice that I was quitting, not that they cared. Their response was 'Oh ok, we'll get your shift covered.' That's it nothing else. So of course that proved in one aspect I had made the right decison. Again I had friends and family that are not part of my 'inner circle' ask me if I was afraid of starting a new job or if I were nervous. My response again, was 'No, why?' Again I realized it was their fear not my that was causing this response. A fear of not seeing me. A fear of losing communications, or what have you.

What I learned from all of this, is if you're informed, there is nothing to fear. Fear will only harm you. Stress you out. Cause you to make mistakes. I hadn't really realized this until the past couple of days. One of the major factors actually has been the community here on Steemit. So many people are in a tizzy over Steem and SBD prices. No they're not good right now. Does that mean you give up? NO. You know why? You are not making a rational decision. You are basing your decision on fear of failure.

Have you noticed, that the quality of posts have actually gotten a little better? Have you noticed those that are still around engage more? Have you noticed that some of your favorite people have actually stepped up and started writing more? Why do you think that is? It is because they are not letting the fear of failure deter them. They are determined to stay strong and not let someone else's fears bring them down. It doesn't matter what others think. It matters what you think.

Just like to succeed on Steemit whether crypto is performing poorly or not, is you have to conquer your fear. Step out of your comfort zone. Talk to people. Make sure you interact with everyone that leaves a comment on your post. Make what you do meaningful. Don't let the fear immoblize you, especially when it is someone else's.

e22na0h585.jpg



Pay It Forward Contests


IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



manna banner.jpg
Earn passive Universal Basic Income


banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

very beautifully put! Great that other people's fear didn't get into you! I hope all is good with your new job and everything! And I know what you mean with the steemit posts! Well I haven't posted myself for a while, but that has nothing to do with the steem prices, maybe I'll get a post together on why in a bit :) Thank you for your positive words x

Thank you @frejafri. New job is awesome. I don't think I have ever worked someplace so friendly and welcoming before. That says a lot. I think what you have been posting has been fine. With traveling and the part of the world you're in, I can imagine getting the time is hard enough.

And you're very welcome 😊

Actually the posts from the Overland To India Journey is a finished journey I am documenting now after, so I'm not there now, but still homeless though ;D Right now I am in Italy at the parents of my partner's house. But I had some problems with my eyes lately that makes it hard for me to look at a screen for too long :/
Great to hear that the job is good! <3
Yes, I'd actually also prefer if people posted less and better here on steemit, instead of the at least 1 or more posts a day that many people are trying to keep up with. then the good posts drown in the many.

You are totally correct @tryskele 😙 when I read about your surgery, I'm afraid that I couldn't see you around anymore. Though we're not that close, but you are one of gorgeous people that I care about on Steemit.

I was once a person who leave a comment just for winning a contest, but then I realise that I can learn from you and other steemians real life experiences not only to keep growing on steemit but also to nourish myself for real.

Thank you @tryskele.. so, how's your work at the new place, do you have more free time with the husband now?

Aww ❤ @cicisaja. I'm not done yet. Too much orneriness left in me. It's kind of neat once we start to open up to each other. So much we don't know about how other people live and how so many of us take things for granted. When @el-nailul mentioned how much money they are needing for the school, all I could think about is how do I get the money to him? I cannot believe the exchange rate is what it is 😔

Had my first day today. It was so mellow I almost fell asleep LOL. I got more done in the morning than they were getting done in a whole day. Hopefully all systems will be operational tomorrow. I really think this was the right choice.

Aahh about @el-nailul, I forgot to follow up my support for the school😯 a friend who supposed to send it were out of town for a meeting, now I need to call him to check whether he had sent the magazines for the kids to learn.

Well..well.. you have a half day to relax then😉 sound to me what you're doing at your new place is a piece of cake kind of work for you☺ and that's good for your health too. One thing for sure that I learn from you is "limitlessness" the sense that there are no boundaries to what you can become or do.

"if you're informed, there is nothing to fear. Fear will only harm you. Stress you out. " This is so very true. It is the biggest problem i have when we are faced with an adventure in the unknown. I have found i will lose if i give into frar so i don't.

I guess getting out of your comfort zone is the theme this life.

Great post, thank you for sharing it.
Ren.

That was one of the things that I loved about the post you did. It really seemed like, we're just going to go where the road takes us. When my husband and I do small trips 2-3 days. We make a basic plan, book a place to sleep but we let things go from there. No hurry, just enjoying the ride.

I used to be so afraid of making decisions, since I have a tendency to believe people are good and honest even when they have shown me otherwise. So for a while I couldn't trust myself.

We travel the same way except we dont book a place
Too often we end somplace completely different. The damn bunny trails get to us too often.

Most people are good, but many are rotten for sure. So far we jave been lucky.
Ren

That is cool. I want to do a trip like that. We used to do that as kids. Mom would drive and we'd explore then end up heaven only knows where.

Agree. When you know that "you" are eternal, all else is trivial.

Namaste, JaiChai

It is so true. Thank you @jaichai

mondays are allways hard XD

Coming back from a day off of rest and relaxation, yes is difficult. Even more so when you're in a job you don't like, or they don't like you. Ultimately everything is what you make it. Outside factors play a MAJOR role though.

goodevening Tryskele, i do not fear i am addicted and i love the fact i am makng a library of moments in my life for my offspring. They dont have a pension the have crypto so this is for my kids.
goodnight

That is the best motivation anyone could have with all aspects of life. I know mine have been a driving force for me. :)

Well driving force I have set a goal of 12 months and than evaluate, but still four months to go so I do 110 % so I can make a decicion on the future.

wow, exactly what I wanted to hear at the moment..
"Fear will only harm , stress you" i have been feeling similar with the new job and
Love the positivity here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62