What's it like to be a Spy in Real Life?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

James Bond

James Bond is a shitty spy. This is a rather untimely remark to make in light of the recent demise of beloved actor Sir Roger Moore, but it had to be said. Actually, it didn't really, I could have just used Ethan Hunt as an equally viable example and took my chances with Tom Cruise dying by the time I finished this article. Hopefully I'll remember to make the change before I post this so as to not come across as a dick, but if I don't: hang in there at least for another few days Sean Connery or you'll make me look even worse!


Subtitles: dang da-da dang dang, dang da-da dang dang [Gunshot]

So why is our favorite world renowned, womanizing, speed boat racing, violent prone, borderline alcoholic in a tuxedo a bad secret agent? Oh...I see, I think I just answered my own question. In addition to the fact that he is famous, he uses his real name, 'Bond,' and in case the villain missed it the first time around, he'll repeat his full name: 'James Bond'.

Presumably he's not very representative of real world espionage agents. After all, what do you expect from a guy who chose his code name based on how much the last digit resembles a gun? So what does being a real spy involve and more importantly, how do I sign up?

What Do Spies Do?

The most impressive feat I see spies pull off consistently in movies is when they're stealing information from an enemy database they're always able to insert the USB stick into the computer the right way around on the first try. Honestly I'm so damn bad at this that I'm just happy to get it right on the first go when removing the damn thing. But what else do they get up to?


Spies are renowned for their Sherlock Holmes cosplay

Spies are agents of international espionage - their job revolves around collecting important information that other nations wish to keep confidential in order to gain the geopolitical upper hand for their own nation. It would be akin to someone from Synereo joining this platform with the purpose of scoping out and sabotaging their competition. The follow up movie would certainly be entertaining: The Spy Who Flagged Me.

Spies mostly attempt to do this either through surveillance or by recruiting prospective turncoats like, say, an Iranian scientist or an American President, to feed them highly classified information on an ongoing basis.

Although spies employ a very particular set of skills, skills they've acquired over a very long career to achieve this end, certain myths ought to be dispelled.

  • Spies aren't all really hot - Extracting information via sex is frowned upon in the U.S. although other countries like Russia continue to use this technique. This is why I'm always suspicious of exotic girls who aren't resisting my advances before the roofies kick in.
  • Spies don't drive fancy cars - Most spies don't get to drive Aston Martins that can travel up walls and shoot heat seeking missiles out of its exhaust pipe and transform into a giant sword wielding robot when required. That tends to go against the whole 'clandestine' theme.
  • Spies live really dangerous lives - This isn't entirely true, most spy work is relatively safe, but they do tend to endanger the lives of their informants. I guess snitches get stitches everywhere.

Overall, although you do become privy to certain secrets and can't divulge them to even your closest friends and family, spy work is mostly comprised of the same dull meetings and monotonous paperwork that comes with most jobs.

How Do You Become a Spy?

You can't choose to become a spy, they choose you. Nah, not really; you can just go to the CIA website and apply like it's a position for a check out clerk at Walmart. And unlike the KGB, I'm in with a chance too as the 'no soliciting information via sex' rule means you don't even have to be good looking.


Not the best looking website, but then again do you need one if there's no ICO?

Aside from awesome USB skills, what other attributes are they looking for? Well you need to be a U.S. citizen, have no criminal record, hold a bachelors degree and additional skills like speaking multiple languages without an accent, experience living abroad, serving under the special forces and being an X factor finalist all greatly increase you odds of success.

Well the chances are slim but I've still been working on my intro line: 'The name's Gar. Trafal-Gar' Hmm...yeah, needs work.


Image Sources 1,2,3


If you enjoy this post please Upvote, Resteem and Follow me @trafalgar for more satirical articles

Sort:  

Good thing is that, @trafalgar is not a spy. He's a Doctor and Captain of the Heart Pirates. hahah.. if you know what I mean. xD

I thought the name sounded familiar 😂
Thanks for the clue

HAHAHA
that's exactly where I got that name from, you're the first one to call me out on it since joining steemit =)

For real? Am I the only here loves watching anime and reading mangas aside from you? Sigh... I guess most steemians here lived in boring life. LOL :)

I love Anime too dont worry jajaaj

people keep thinking I live near trafalgar square :p

Nahh. You are from Flevance. You're one of the Eleven Supernovas before and now you're a Shichibukai.
Okay enough, Manga is Life! ughh xD

For more than 15 years, I have been working at home, through the Internet, for an open source software company. Most of the software we produce is available for free. We make our revenue with support contracts from other companies that use our software.

For years, my children have tried to explain to their friends what I was doing, without any success. I am not sure they themselves understand exactly why I am paid to do what I do.

They have told me, years ago, that their friends did not believe their explanations an where convinced that I was a spy.

This is how I became a spy, without even trying.

hahahaaha genuinely hilarious
you have sort of 'look' of a spy too judging from your picture
can go from affable, to imposing, to completely inconspicuous at will!

That's hilarious. I'm sure you're a much cooler dad to your kid's friends because of it.

So James, we meet again!

Great story!

Excellent post, comrade! The KGB approves!
P.S. For Mother Russia!

In Soviet Russia, the KGB does not approve: you approve the KGB.

You know too much! We will watch over you, comrade...

haha thanks terry, glad you approve =)

The only spy I personally would consider to be a 'hero' is Edward Snowden. :)

Yes I suppose thats true
too bad he has to live in hiding

Loading...

This caught my eye. Why?

Because the James Bond character was actually based off a real life spy trained at the famous Spy Training camp 5 mins south of my house here on the Lake Ontario waterfront -- it was called Camp X.

It trained USA and UK spies and allies. I was a Camp X activist over the years raising awareness for this project and the famous Camp X lead guy writing books, giving speeches etc on this is a friend of mine -- Lynn Philip Hodgson!

Look it up!!!

I like your line about Gar, it is funny man. LOL

I hope we will see you around the latest

#SteemitCampfire

--

tonight after 7 pm EST! The REMINDER post is now up, the actual main post goes up after ~ 5 pm every Friday!

1 post runs all weekend on my page if you did not know!


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camp_X

I'm on the other side of the lake from you lol in canada

So you are on the US side? What area?

haha thanks for checking my post
i can't make that time, it's in the middle of the night :(

The one post runs ALL weekend man, just pop around anytime from Friday to Sunday to gather community and hang out and discuss your epic spy name and game LOL

have a good weekend my man!

ah ok, if this reply doesn't get spammed out I'll check it out

Here is my favorite spy...

Now we have to assume that she inserted the flash drive properly. But we definitely have evidence that she can remove it on the first try.

And honestly, her main job is to get in that costume. Thank you costume designers!!!

You HAVE to cosplay her at the next comicon event you attend!
I wonder how your kids will feel if you did that

Ashamed... like they do about 99% of the time they are dealing with me.

You had me at How do you become a Spy, but you lost me at have no criminal record.

And herrrrrrrre's Trafal... Gar!

haha hey nice to see you active again
haven't seen you pop up in my feed for a while :)

Thanks man :)
I keep posting, but it usually takes me a few days to write a new chapter, before I send it over to my editor and then she has her hands full to try to translate my writings into English.

Bond 😎

hehe that's a pretty neat emote

"Well the chances are slim but I've still been working on my intro line: 'The name's Gar. Trafal-Gar' Hmm...yeah, needs work."

Lol.. sounds catchy..

haha it's a work in progress :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00