Small Term Gains = Long Term Rewards

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I wanted to write this piece because it's probably the single greatest lesson I've ever learned.

small-term-gain,-long-term-rewards.jpg

The only 'secret to success' I've ever been taught is to turn up every single day and put in the hard work. It doesn't sound sexy and it doesn't create many clicks, but it works. It seems like a simple idea that a lot of people ignore - if you keep putting in the hard work every day, eventually that consistent effort will add up to big rewards in the future.

I see too many business gurus are spreading the overnight success message and there a lots of people buying into it. We see it every day on social media - 'Someone Has Just Become a Bitcoin Millionaire', 'This Guy Made Millions From His Simple Idea', 'From Rags to Riches, An Overnight Kickstarter Success Story' - But the truth is that all those headlines ignore the hard work that has gone on beforehand.

the-iceberg-of-success.jpg

For each 'instant success story', you're only ever seeing the tip of the iceberg and missing out on all the years of learning to get to that point - all the times they failed and had to start again, all the days they turned up at 6am and finished working at 11pm.

The only definite way to ensure you'll be successful in whatever you do is to keep turning up every single day and keep putting in the effort. Eventually that consistent effort will all add up!

It can apply to anything:

  • Learn 10 words of a language every day. In 3 years you'll know 10,000 words, which is generally considered to be fluent.
  • Invest a small amount of money wisely every day. Compound interest would make you a millionaire in the long run.
  • Post every day on Steemit while constantly learning and improving. Eventually you'll become a whale & make a full-time living here.

Small Term Gains, Long Term Rewards.png

The main thing to take away from all this is to never give up and eventually you'll get to wherever you want to go. Keep grafting, keep putting in the effort and don't expect the rewards to come to you overnight - They WILL come to you in the long run.

SMALL TERM GAINS = LONG TERM REWARDS

Remember that and live by it. As long as you gain something each day, you're working towards your overall dream.

Hope that helps some of you, please let me know what you're working towards in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!

Popular posts:
My Steemit Journey #1 - THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS
How I Became a Full-Time Travel Vlogger in Under a Year
Hi I'm Jord and I Get Paid to Travel the World (and you can too..)

You can also find me on:
YouTube - 69,210 subscribers
Instagram - 31,300 followers
Twitter - 8,850 followers
Facebook - 17,680 followers

Sort:  

I can't remember who said "I worked 10 years to become an overnight success" . Somethings take their time...

My my. This is the best post i have read in my two weeks journey on steemit. Am at the phase of the iceberg that is still below the water which people have not started seeing, so this relates to me very well. I know very soon people will start to see the top of my iceberg and think i was an overnight success. Am pleased to upvote, resteem and follow. Thanks somuch for this encouragement, i surely take the iceberg illusion story everywhere i go. God bless you

Thanks Gabriel - I really appreciate the feedback and glad it made an impact on you!

People only ever see the tip of the iceberg and you rarely get appreciation for the underlying work, the important thing is to remember how hard you worked to get there! Good luck!

Thanks a lot. I just wrote my introduction post and ill be glad if you could check it out at MY INTRODUCTION POST Thanks

Gabriel, you took the words right out of my mouth! (Or my hands, as it were ☺)
The most encouraging post on Steemit

hard work eventually leads to success, yes :)

Seems simple right!

Awesome advice bro @thelifeofjord passion and dedication are essential for success. All the best :)

Appreciate the comment! I always try to think, if you never quit... you can never fail! :)

Amen Brother :)

Awesome and true. Thanks for reminding me of this, Jordan. 👍👍

Thanks Peter! I think it's something we all know but it helps to be reminded of sometimes!

Appreciate it! Thanks for the comment.

Hi,
I so hope what you are saying is true, BUT: also, I think that being a part of an online society like Steemit brings a lot of fun to our lives. This is a great opportunity to create good content , get new friends, have fun and learn form each other. Develop and prosper. This by it self brings with it a lot of good value. And then... then... ;)
Lets dive under the iceberg everybody, that's where the fun begins.

I agree - there are lots of benefits to being on here, besides just the potential of success in the future!

Very true! It fits into the whole 10,000 hours idea by Malcolm Gladwell, and also the power of compounding, which even Albert Einstein believed to be "the eighth wonder of the world"!

I love Malcolm Gladwell! There's another book I've read called 'Bounce' which is also around this idea but applied to sportspeople. Would recommend it if you haven't read it already!

Thank you for this post, for it is a gentle reminder that I'm not alone in the boat of "waking-up, showing-up and neverever giving-up". It's a tough ride, but in the long run not allowing frustration to ruin the everyday efforts that are put into long term goals is truly the way to go.
Again, thank you :)

100% you're not alone. There are always ups and downs but as long as you keep turning up then you get the pay out eventually!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.8% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @thelifeofjord
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @thelifeofjord to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Ok I'm new to all this... is it ok to Selfgoat/Selfvote? Is that looked down on in the Steemit community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50