My Steemit Journey #1 - THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS

in #steemit7 years ago

Each week I'll be posting about my Steemit journey so far, keeping a diary of my progress and thoughts on the platform as I learn more!

Wonderland9102017.jpg

Hi everyone! My name's Jordan Simons and I just joined Steemit this week. I'm going to be keeping a diary of my journey here, documenting my thoughts and lessons learned in order to help anyone else who signs up in the future. Without further ado, here goes!

Through the looking glass.

When you first hear about Steemit it can seem a little bit overwhelming. The idea of Steem Power, Steem Dollars, Steem, Crypto, Dilution, IPFS, JARGON ARRGH it can all be a bit confusing. BUT because of the incredible community here, there are so many posts that help to explain all the scary words and help it make sense. At first I felt a bit like Alice tumbling down the rabbit hole but after a few days, I think I'm getting my head around it all. There's still a lot to learn of course, but I'm getting there!

vintage-1794763_1280.jpg

So it's 4 days in and I've made 3 posts so far (4 including this one). They've collectively received $245.32 in upvotes at the time of writing this post. Now I'm no expert (like I said I've been here a week) but the fact that anyone can make roughly $250 in their first week of using a social media is incredible to me!

A bit of background

I joined YouTube a few years ago because I was amazed at the possibility of being able to share whatever I find interesting and get paid for it. After a lot of hard work and about a year of receiving nothing - i.e. I worked for free every day, putting out content and building followers without making any money - eventually I turned it into a business and started making money. Not a lot, but enough to get by.

YouTuber-on-Steemit-Jordan-Simons-TheLifeOfJord.jpg

Fast forward to right now - IF I were willing to cash out from Steemit, I would've made in a few days what took me a year on YouTube. I'll say that again, In a few days on Steemit I've made the some amount of money it took me a YEAR to make on YouTube.

The Community

Of course the potential rewards aren't the only draw of Steemit, I've also been massively impressed by the community spirit here. People seem to genuinely want to support and encourage each other, offering advice wherever possible. I find that pretty refreshing and it makes me want to post more content and to give back to the community.

Steemit Community First Stemit Post Jordan Simons.jpg

Anyway like I said this is just the beginning and I still have a lot to learn, all I can say so far is that I'm happy and excited about the future!

Here are some of my first impressions:

  • The rewards are incredible and seem like they will only get better in the long run. Definitely worth investing your time in.
  • JARGON IS SCARY. But take a little bit of time to learn it and it won't seem so bad.
  • The community is great and people seem to genuinely want to help each other.

Some questions:

  • Should I set to 50/50 or Power Up 100%? - So far I've been doing 50/50 but have heard various things.
  • Should I convert everything to Steem Power in the beginning?
  • What posting frequency would work best? Daily? Every two days?

Thanks all!

You can also find me on:

YouTube - 68,960 subscribers
Instagram - 31,300 followers
Twitter - 8,850 followers
Facebook - 17,660 followers

Sort:  

Amazing! Welcome on board, man!

Hey Jordan.

You made interesting observations. Here are few thoughts.

There is a big learning curve here in the platform. But after a while, you will figure it out. Just be patient and read the guides. You will find plenty.

The community is indeed awesome.

Your rewards are great yet exceptional. If you see ( you can see by installing the more steem chrome extension ) more than 80% of your payouts were from less than 5% of your voters. The "big guys" voted you. We call them whales. Their votes were well deserved cause the videos are awesome. It's not sure that you will always have their attention and love ( and vote :) )

For your questions.

Usually, SBD is used to boost posts with bots. You are doing great with your posts so you may not benefit that much by them. You can have 10-20 in your account and play around with them.

I would suggest to power up until you get to 500 SP. then you can adjust your voting power, so that you can vote more often. Generally, more SP is better. Is more power. :)

I have read and my experience shows it, that you make most of your rewards during the first 2 days. ( I could say first 24 hours , but you can see how it goes ). So it makes sense to post every other day.

Hope it helped.
Cheers ! :)

Thanks so much! I'll definitely look at the extension.

Actually this whole comment helps loads - thannks!!

Keep it going man,
Love your work! Your youtube channel will be among the most known in the travel niche in the next months/years. The quality is amazing and I'm sure you'll make it!

Followed.

Thanks for the kind words! I'll keep going and will keep putting stuff out there always, thanks for the support!

A new Steemian ^^ hello @thelifeofjord I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome to Steemit!! I don't think it matters if you post every day or every other day. Just as long as you're not posting a dozen times per day or on the other end of the spectrum falling off the face of the Earth for long periods at a time. Congratulations on such success on here so quickly!! That certainly isn't the norm, just look at my blog. 😂 I've been a member since August but only started posting a week ago. I'm looking forward to learning more about your Steemit experience. Following you! 🙂

Thanks that's what I suspected, will aim for one a day but at the least every two days :)
Just followed back - looking forward to seeing some of your posts!

Thanks!! :)

Congratulations @thelifeofjord! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool, thanks :D

Heck yeah keep the motivation looking forword to all of your post your journey has only begun and when this gets bigger you'll be on top

Hope so! Thanks for the encouragement

Stay active and engage the rewards will find you.

Fingers crossed! Looking forward to being part of it.

Hello, welcome to the Steemit community, it's really great to have you here with us, i hope you have a great time here and achieve great success.
I would be looking forward to reading your post. Interesting introduction you got there and great pictures.
I'm @Janrotas, would be great If you could check out my page and follow back. I have some interesting write ups I'm sure you would or can relate to. Welcome again talk more later.
Cheers

Thanks for the welcome - just checked out your stuff and followed :)

Congratulations! This post was randomly selected and upvoted by @resteemr!


@resteemr is a new low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you - Follow & Earn.

Lucky me! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50