To my dear old friends - I miss you all and this is how I feel about it

in #life7 years ago (edited)

[A 5 minute read]

Remember that the most valuable antiques are dear old friends... - H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

errores-impiden-mejorar-relaciones.jpg
Source

I have been looking at some pictures on my harddrive for a steemit post today, and I landed myself in a folder that contained the photos from my University days. Each photo had one friend or the other in them, and it got me thinking...

delft_1.jpg

It got me thinking about some of my old friends.. and it got me wondering... Where are these guys?, What are they doing?, and how are they doing?... It has not been long since I passed out of University. A little over a year and a half. I haven't seen these friends since then. And it feels like a long, fucking long time!

The more I went through the photos, the more nostalgic I felt. And it has got me thinking... what has happened to these connections?

Where did we lose touch with each other?

Or probably, the question to be asked is this: How did we loose touch with each other? How the fuck did it happen?

IMG_3357.JPG

The more I ask this question to myself, the harder it is to answer. The fact that I studied in a foreign university does not help much at all. All of the people that I miss at this point of time are from different countries, and are now living in different countries, hundreds and thousands of miles apart. It is hard to keep in touch with friends in your hometown. Keeping in touch with friends across continents and time zones is a hard task.

I realize that once University and studies end, it is a whole different world. Everyone's life, including mine has taken a directional shift. We are all busy trying to hit the curb running. It is a new life, new people, new relationships, new problems and new goals that need to be handled. Now that college is only a glimmer in our eye, we are busy hustling in the real world, trying to lay a foundation for our career. And all of this is making us lose each other, little by little.

IMG_4881.JPG

Slowly, some things and some people that mattered to us start to be forgotten, left behind in our never ending sprint forwards.

Like a leaf that has been forgotten between the pages of a book for a long, long time, they remain there, each in their own world. Until something kicks hard in our heads, and we suddenly start wondering where everyone has gone! Just like I am wondering now, while writing this post.

For sure, I can always send a message on Facebook, or do one better if I can and send a message on whatsapp. But it is not the same.

It feels fucking strange!

IMG_1670.JPG

I think my greatest folly is the connections that I have formed with the people I terribly miss. I am a very social person, and the people that I am good friends with, I connect with them on an emotional level. Whether it is the first days of university when we all sat on the steps and shared one platter of french fries, or getting drunk and talking to each other incoherently on the way home, they have all made the connection stronger. It is not just these things, but also talking to them, getting to know their stories and ideas, dreams and ambitions, they have all made the connection so important and cherished. I have enjoyed the company of these friends very much, and I have had great memories with them.

Sometimes, I close my eyes and a little film plays in my head. It is in sepia mode for some reason. All the memories made with friends pass by in a fleeting moment. And when I open my eyes, I realize that nine out of ten times, the best moments that I have had have been with someone else in them. And it has made me realize that life is better lived together.

B_C1orRWsAEFwTE.jpg
[source: pinterest]

I wonder if these connections should have held on. And at other times, I realize that life has to go on.

It is all just fucking confusing.

IMG-20151222-WA0007.jpg

While I did not know back then, but in hindsight, I see it clearly; We were making memories in the past... Only for them to be re-winded and looked upon with nostalgia in a distant future.

I realize that it is hard to make something last when everyone moves in different directions and the holidays end. But I believe that we owe it to ourselves to pursue the things that we want to last. Of course, it is always easy to give up on people and connections. But, do we not owe it to ourselves to try and keep those connections intact? Not because they once were, but because they are still there. Because we should not give up on the connections that gave us joy and happiness. We have to try. We have to put in some effort, because it is worth it. In the end, there is nothing like meeting old friends.

To the friends that I dedicate this post to,

I will miss you because you were once part of my life, because you are not here, and because it sucks.

timeless.jpg
[source: pinterest]


If you liked reading this post, please upvote and comment. You can also read some of my other blog stories from the links below:

What helping someone with depression taught me about anxiety, depression and its effects

How a high speed crash taught me two of the biggest lessons of my life

I did a roadtrip of beautiful Kerala - This is what I saw

Around India on my motorcycle


Follow me @thebatmanbiker

Thanks for reading, cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67895.92
ETH 3743.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64