So Far, No Morning Sickness, But The Paper Cuts Are Terrible

in #life6 years ago

For those of you have been following me, you probably know that my husband and I didn’t become parents the conventional way. I have explained our circumstances a few times, so, to keep it short, a few years ago, doctors diagnosed us with unexplained infertility. At first we were distraught, how dare we fall in to this statistic! But, as a proactive couple, we didn’t sulk. Instead we discussed our options, and there it was. We wanted to adopt, and adopt we did!

2015 was our year, we became parents to the handsomest little boy, EVER! We can honestly say that we loved him utterly and completely before we even met him. When we laid eyes on him for the first time, it felt like we had always known him, and that he was always a part of us. 

And now, we’re at it again! That’s right folks. We have started the adoption process again and we are eagerly waiting for the arrival of baby number 2! So, while pregnant couples are off for scans and check-up at the gynae, we’re continuously phoning the Department of Social Services to see if they have processed our documents. While I honestly feel like phoning these departments can be compared to labor pains, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

To be honest with you, in the bigger more important sense of the word, I don’t like comparing adoption to pregnancy, because they are two very different things. I have no urge to be pregnant and do not feel that it is necessary to compare it with adoption. BUT, when explaining my thoughts and feelings to those who have never adopted and only have biological children, using examples from the pregnancy process to explain procedures and feelings about adoption can come in quite handy. 

For instance. Many adoptive parents use the term “Paper Pregnant” when all of their documents are in and the wait begins, this can be compared to a pregnancy announcement (there’s no confirmation of a 9-month waiting period in adoption process however)! 

Another example would be “the call”. This is the moment your social worker phones you to tell you that you have been matched with a child! You could compare this to labor, without the pain, but with all of the emotions and anxieties. 

So, while the two ways of becoming parents are completely different, there are things that “kind of” relate to each other. 

Anyway, this is where we are currently at in our adoption journey. Our paperwork is in and we are waiting for the different departments to process and certify certain documents. This part can take some time however as many of the departments are backlogged, slow or simply incompetent if I must be honest. It could take at least another 3 months before we are officially “paper pregnant”.

Patience. Patience is key.

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

Join us @steemitbloggers

Animation By @zord189
>
Sort:  

Thank you for enlightening us with all he procedure you have to endure. Indeed, adoption isn't easy at all and probably many of us are oblivious to it. Congratulations @sweetpea for becoming parents once again. I share your joy with you, hooray! Excellent job for the patience and anticipation regardless the difficult process! 💓love your superb title by the way, it was a good 'bait'!

Thanks for your kind words @happycrazzycon and yes, the title has done the post well ;)

That's really exciting @sweetpea. I di not realise it was such a lengthy procedure! But TOTALLY worth it obviously. Congratulations on your upcoming paper pregnancy :)

Thanks so much! Yup, it's quite a lengthy and involved procedure, but all in an effort to protect our children and to make sure that the kids are in fact, going to loving homes.

yeah, it makes complete sense.

Congratulation @sweetpea on the “Paper Pregnant”. Hope the wait will not be long, keep us update on the outcome!

Thank you @roselifecoach, I will keep everyone updated, writing about our adoption journey helps with the "waiting" part!

Yes, definitely will help to distract from it.
All the best.

It is only unselfish people that adopt.

I wish this was true, but our reasons to adopt are somewhat selfish, but in a good way :)

Free labor? : )

1st time I've heard the term actually, but I can understand how there would be the 'pregnant' stage at adoption.....well now you have a cute lil boy that is part of your family!! Enjoy

Thanks, yup, our son is our EVERYTHING :) Lol, I am still not sure on the term "paper pregnant", but when you see the pile of documents required, it is quite the pregnant belly load!

LOL, I can imagine. The paperwork just to get the kids to fly or travel is quite something, so to actually get a child as part of your family out of the system must be crazy. I'm sure you must have felt like you were being investigated by the FBI :)

LOL! Love the title! Congrats on the paper pregnancy, and I'm sending you lots of anti-red-tape juju and best wishes that the process is quick and the paper cuts are small!

When I first started to connect with other WordPress bloggers (ages ago), I stumbled upon the Microblog Monday hash tag/idea, which was started by a woman who (in addition to being a blogger) had infertility/adoption issues. As a result, many of the bloggers who participated in the hash tag also had similar topics for their blogs.

My point (and believe it or not, I have one - LOL) is that I've read a bazillion posts about the subject from all kinds of families - those who only adopted, those who had some adopted/some traditionally born, some surrogates, some who couldn't adopt, some who decided not to adopt.

My takeaway is that there are a bazillion different ways to experience the parent thing, and it makes perfect to make comparisons to share how you're experiencing it for yourself. And yeah, patience definitely helps. Although to be fair...


via GIPHY

LOL, thanks for the good giggle, and for the juju! I follow a few adoption-related blogs too, at the moment I find the stories from actual adoptees the most interesting and helpful in raising my son. And oh yes, patience SUCKS, but I have come to somewhat master it, I have no choice :) x

You're very welcome!

And in case you're interested, this is the blog that hosts Microblog Mondays -

https://www.stirrup-queens.com/

And this is about the only adoption-related blog I still follow (even though I dropped out of the MM thing), because Lori is an awesomesauce person!

https://lavenderluz.com/

Hopefully it all gets sorted out quickly. I'm sure the waiting part can feel like agony. All the best xxx.

Thanks, at least this time around I have a very busy little boy to keep me distracted :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78