My Son Has Two Mothers - An Adoption Poem

in #life7 years ago

Today, while scrolling through Facebook (sorry Steemit, I betrayed you), I stumbled upon the most beautiful poem, it meant something to me anyway. Two years ago I became a mother through adoption, the day I met my son for the first time is set in my mind like stone.

This is why these beautiful words hit home, it's like my heart had words. My son has two mothers. The one that gave birth to him, and the one who will share his life with him. 

Many have asked me if I resent the fact that I have to share my child with another woman. My answer is no. How can I resent someone who gave me the most amazing gift in the world, how can I resent someone who cared so much for my child that she decide he would be safest in the arms of another family? I don't resent this woman, I love her. I love her even though I have never met her.

Please enjoy this poem, I hope you can appreciate the magnificence of it.

The Legacy of an Adopted Child

(author unkown) - Image Source

Much love - @sweetpea

(bringing you original content)

@teamsouthafrica

Sort:  

Heart touching really good post

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sweetpea from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Literally has me crying as I read it. When I was 13my baby sister was placed for adoption, I am 28 now and over the last 10 years I was blessed to know her mother and to see the way that she loved and parented. This poem hits the nail on the head, thank you for sharing it with us. I'm an author as well, I'm currently trying to spread my most recent piece if you would be so kind as to check it out and vote and re-steam I would be so greatful! Thank you
https://steemit.com/steemit/@nichole.james/my-souls-cry-to-the-universe-original-piece-by-nichole-james-please-upvote-and-resteem

In tears!! BEAUTY-FULL post and message to the multiverse!! I have no children of my own but the maternal spirit is in every sentient being and it really takes a village and a guiding light to raise each child and each of us. Thank you for sharing and God Bless you and your son on your magical wonder-full journey. XOXO

Thank you for your kind words, I truly appreciate your well-wishes. The world is very complex and these complexities need to be embraced if we want to raise future generations who are well-rounded and happy humans - that's why adoption never scared my husband and I, it's an easy thing to do if your main focus is on purely loving a child, despite the dynamics. Much love, @sweetpea

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65551.56
ETH 2659.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89