The Word Surf Community Reports Another Tragical Loss || R.I.P. Jean & Oscar You'll Be Deeply Missed! Let's Embrace Life And Not Miss A Single Thing 💙

in #life7 years ago (edited)
Grief is in two parts. The first is loss. The second is the remaking. - Anne Roiphe

Both of them require strength, Anne.

Two young professional surfers died in two consecutive days. The Brazilian Jean da Silva passed away last Friday, and the Mexican Oscar Moncada followed him yesterday. The surprising fact: both extreme sportsmen didn't die in a surf accident.

It's not exclusively due to the fact that I'm a surfer by myself that these kind of stories really touch me. The two young athletes where even younger than me and definitely too young to die. They were great personalities, full of positive energy and a real win for all the people that surrounded them.

Tragedies like these always remind me of a friend of mine who passed away too early, too.

After a certain time, pain and consternation may raise consciousness about the inestimable value of being alive.

©️ Chachi: Oscar Moncada getting barreled

Too young to die!

One of my friends from school died at an age of 21.

It felt so completely unreal and totally wrong.

She passed away in a car accident. According to the reports she was driving too fast and her car left the road accidentally. She died on her way to the hospital.

During school we spent a lot of time together since we were direct neighbours in a very small village. That is decades ago but I remember it as if it was yesterday. Also whenever I eat pancakes I think about her, since her mom baked the very best ones in the world for us. She wrapped them in aluminium foil and stored them in the fridge. So whenever we came home after playing tennis or riding the bycicle, we enjoyed some of these fluffy and fresh pancake rolls.

How many stories she could have lived, how many experiences she could have made, how much she could have loved and been loved?

These young rebels should have had much more time.

We need to reduce pace!

According to the Association for Safe International Road Travel 1.3 million people die in road crashes each year, on average 3,287 deaths a day.

3,287 people per day. That's a terribly high number!

Especially when famous drivers are involved, a wave of consternation swaps all over the world, and we start to realize once more how dangerous our streets actually are. I remember very well that I was shocked for days when I heard about Paul Walker passing away in a car crash in November 2013.

If these cruel tragedies had one message, then it would probably be this one: we need to slow down!

Oscar Moncada cried for his friend and then followed him.

According to the news, Jean da Silva died voluntarily attempting suicide.

Since Friday, there's been a lot of condolence in the social networks. Surfers from all over the world were expressing their deep sympathy for Jean.

Oscar Moncada was one of them.

He was a beloved member of the big-wave surf community. Now he passed away in a car crash only one day after Jean's dead.

The most tragical part of the story: Before the crash, Oscar posted a tribute to Jean on his own Instagram account:
Rest in peace, my friend, #RIP. Even as a person as good as Jean da Silva can leave us of this world [sic] Today I wake up with this sad news…I will miss you, brother, today I cry for you.

Oscar Moncada saying goodbye to his friend Jean da Silva

I have few words left. Just these: embrace life! Now.

We often spread buzzwords like 'carpe diem' but don't really understand their meaning.

Still everybody who has lost a person at an early age does understand it. There is probably nothing more valuable than being alive.

Since life and living has become our daily routine we sometimes forget that all this is a great gift which can be taken away from us at any time.

Embrace life and take care of your beloved ones, steemians! We'll never know how much time they and we've got left.

Marly -


Thanks for your valuable time!
This blog was launched at the end of July 2016
aiming to provide stories for open-minded
people who enjoy living on the edge of their lives,
stepping out of comfort zones, going on adventure,
doing extreme sports and embracing the new.
Welcome to the too-much-energy-blog!

Enjoy life, you never know how much you've got left.

Original content. Quotes found both on quotefancy.com (1) and (2).

Sort:  

That is very sad news, I hope the families are supported.

I lost a close friend to a car wreck in high school. It was my first big loss, and like most first things in life it hits the hardest. Looking back I see it is one of the things that helped shape me and my future decisions in life. We are all so connected, the things that happen to others have a profound effect on the people that surround them.

I appreciate your words, @lifemovedbysteem.
You are absolutely right: even though the loss is an extraordinary hard challenge, they help us to become stronger and find the right path for ourselves.
Also the people we lost will always be with us - in our memories :-)

Thanks for stopping by and sharing your valuable thoughts. I hope you're enjoying a great weekend.

Awesome post ;)

Hi, Marly,

I'm so sorry to hear this bad news. And so very sorry for the loss of your dear friend of the pancakes, even though some time ago!

It is good to consider our mortality and to be ready to go whenever God calls us.

I have some hope that as autonomous cars are developed, there will be less and less road tragedies from crashes. People tend to be foolish, drive to fast, and also careless. Myself, I get sleepy sometimes. And so robot drivers should be a big improvement, I hope. :D

Take care, dear! Hugs!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Hey @creatr my friend!
You are right, maybe technology will help to reduce these numbers.
Still we need to be conscious, too. Life is the most valuable thing we possess.

Thanks for being there.
Take care, sweetie! :-)

The best gift in life is to be alive.. The most important thing is to enjoy your life is to make happy your beloved persons. I think this is the way to be happy.

Rest in peace guys, that the waves in the heaven will wait for them.

This is one of the best post I have read on steemit. Life is surely a precious gift and we will not get it another. People often blame their circumstances for their lives being miserable but they do not realize how lucky they are that they have been given this beautiful gift.

Take care dear @surfermarly. Adrenalin can be very strong narcotic.

I don't understand your comment.

According to the reports she was driving too fast and her car left the road accidentally. She died on her way to the hospital.

When someone get used to speed and danger while surfing, he/she can get addicted to speed and danger. It can become a way of life, and it can have consequences in the traffic accidents. People sometimes think that nothing can touch them… and then they go.

I just hope that you know your limits, @surfermarly.

Now I got it :-) Yes, I do know my limits. I think I've even written a lot of blog posts about that here on steemit.
Yet, sometimes the edge is invisible. My friend, for instance, was driving in the rain. Probably she just underestimated the risk for a second.

One second that changed everything.

My heart hurts with empathy. I know the pain of too many losses; most from cancer, some from accidents, some from suicide. They're like scars on my heart. Funny thing about scars, they're made of tougher tissue than skin.

the boy in sea is very brave

heard it yesterday and I was shocked. they both died way to young. Sorry for your loss as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43