*Life. --[pt2]

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Sometimes there's this feeling that we just can't shake. Something burning us up on the inside. Driving us. Those are the moments that define us. That make up..

_LIFE..png
src

*Life.

continued from part one...

Once I decided I needed to travel, there was nothing I could do to squash the idea. It wouldn't go away. It didn't help that I had been reading Kerouac's On The Road, and watching Scorsese doco's about Bob Dylan. That pioneer spirit that fueled the beatniks to just take off.. that's what I felt. I wanted to return to that era of endless possibilities, of trailblazing and the unknown. I wanted to feel the vastness of the expansive world that we inhabit.

I had seen Into The Wild, and while I'm not a big fan of Sean Penn or Emile Hirsch, the movie (based on a book, based on true events) really resonated with me. I didn't think it was crazy to hitchhike across the country or find yourself in a cabin in the middle of nowhere living off of the land.

I wanted that kind of life..

When I told people I was leaving, I got one of two reactions:

  1. You're crazy, why do you want to do that? Get a good paying job and take holidays when you want to travel!

  2. Wow, that's so awesome! I wish I could do that.. but I don't have enough time.. money.. (insert excuse here)

To those in the first camp, I didn't have anything to say. They didn't understand and they probably never would. I would just smile and nod and say something like, "Yeah, you're probably right.." and walk away.

To those who had the second response, I would reply "you CAN do it! Look at me, I don't have any time.. money.. etc, but you can find the time, make the money.. you CAN make it happen if you really WANT to." I mean I hate to flout the old adage Where there's a will, there's a way! but it's true! Almost anything you want to do badly enough, you can find a way to make happen.. (except maybe, learning how to fly).

So, I decided one miserable cold December evening that I was going to go.. I had never been to Europe, anywhere outside of the states really, I hadn't even seen more than a small portion of my own country! That was it. I quit the acting and voice classes, and got a second job.. and worked my ass off.

Within 6 months I had saved up enough money to buy a used Pontiac Firebird, and a plane ticket from Oakland to Rome. The plan wasn't much: drive from New Jersey with no particular destination as long as I made it to the airport in Oakland by mid-September. So in June, three days after my 23rd birthday, I set off..


src

Continued in part three..

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61238.65
ETH 2634.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46