This Time It’s Not PersonalsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

“It is a kindness to ourselves, and contributes to the repose of our own minds, to extenuate and excuse the injuries and affronts that we receive, instead of aggravating them and making the worst of them, as we are apt to do.” - Matthew Henry



I Am Offended Sign Image
Image Source


I spent the majority of my early life taking things too personally and overthinking everything.

Now, I only take most everything personally.

Kidding.

I have made strides in not getting caught up in my own mental anguish by taking things that have nothing to do with me and making it all against me.

Instead of being so self-centered, I am a little less self-centered and try to be even less self-focused each day.

I don’t do a very good job of that.

But now I have learned not to be so offended by every little thing that comes my way.


“A fool’s displeasure is known at once, but whoever ignores an insult is sensible. – Proverbs 12:16 (HCSB)


What changed?

I had a journey of looking around me and realizing that I am not alone in this world and that I am interconnected and interdependent on others.

I realized that most everything I had at the time had been given to me by someone else.

I noticed that without the help of others, especially some days, I wouldn’t have had food to eat, a place to sleep, or anything else for that matter.

It is only out of the love, goodness, and kindness of friends and family that I am able to be here today.

If you know me, you may think my life isn’t too bad and I didn’t have it too hard growing up.

And you’d be right.

The thing is though, despite all the good things I had going for me in life, I was still able to mess it up.

I have always been good at things, and I was good at messing up my life.

However, that all changed.



Change Image
Image Source


As part of a college World Literature class we read classic works of religious text.

We read excerpts from the Quran and the Bhagavad Gita along with other works such as the Epic of Gilgamesh.

One day, as part of the course, we were going to study the Song of Solomon from the Old Testament.

Our teacher requested that we bring a copy of The Bible to class for the study.

But I had a problem with that…

I didn’t own a Bible.

So one day while shopping at Walmart with my mom I asked her to buy me a cheap paperback copy of The Bible and I took it to class the next day.

We looked at the Song of Solomon in class, but otherwise I didn’t really care too much about it.

Later at home, I found in the back of it a “365 day Bible reading plan” and decided that I could take that challenge and accomplish something cool, because I thought, “Hey everyone seems to have heard of the Bible, but who has really read the whole thing?”

I seriously thought no one really read the Bible.

At that point, I realized that I didn’t know much about the Bible at all.

Not being a Christian at the time of starting the reading, I was curious to find out what the book actually said about God and Jesus and everything else.

I approached reading it as any other religious text that I had read in the course of my other studies.

However, little did I know what the Lord had in store for me through this process.



New Door Image
Image Source


I thought I knew something about Christianity and what it was all about. But I had to unlearn my misconceptions and prejudices before I could understand what it was really all about.

Over the course of reading the Bible in a year, I prayed for forgiveness of my sins and to accept the gift of Jesus Christ as my personal Lord and Savior and for Him to come into my heart and be Lord of my life.

This was the start of the process to become less focused on myself and more focused on helping others.


“A fool’s way is right in his own eyes, but whoever listens to counsel is wise.” – Proverbs 12:15 (HCSB)


I had been foolish and thought I knew what was right.

But now I am open to listen to the counsel of the others, instead of taking comments and criticisms as attacks, I look for ways that they can help me grow.


Stay tuned.
Stay interesting.
Stay Strange.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because we could all use a little change.


Join me on the BitShares Decentralized Exchange
in The Billion Hero Challenge!


BitShares Title Block
Image Source


Get Giga Watt Tokens and join the world’s first full-service mining solution provider.


Cryptonomos


Sort:  

its Great job @strangerarray bravo

nice mindset, I like your posts, you are on my list to upvote and resteem. We need this mindset around here :-)

thanks for the re-steem and encouragement!

Great story! I bought the Bhagavad Gita recently and find it is quite tough reading!

Thank you snd yes the Bhagavad Gita is interesting.

We only read excerpts if I recall correctly, so maybe I should check out the rest!

I like your thoughts and attitudes here. Also, can you tell me more about the exchange you've got links to? I'm needing to get more educated there. I'm super behind the times.

Thanks @littlescribe and "Yes" I would be glad to help you with any questions you may have about the BitShares Decentralized Exchange .

Where to begin?

Here on steemit, we earn STEEM Power, STEEM Dollars, and STEEM, but say you want some else (maybe some of the things listed on coinmarketcap.com.... NEO is hot right now!

Well, the BitShares Decentralized Exchange is a place you can trade STEEM for other cryptocurrencies, and other market pegged assets and derivatives based on the BitShares token.

Here is a look at their "Top Markets" that you can trade in, amongst others:

Screenshot 2017-08-16 at 5.35.07 AM.png

Finally, the reason I share about the exchange is because they are going to have a Billion Hero Campaign initiated by @stan, the father of steem creator @dan .

The point of The Billion HERO Campaign is to raise enough funding in an 200% collateralized asset, the HERO, in "a game where you learn how to use digital currencies and while helping to determine which causes get a share of the billion dollar prize."

The "causes" are initiated by the campaign players proposing a project, preferably and hopefully, something that helps all of humanity, but @stan recognizes that maybe people will just be selfish and want the prize money to go to themselves, well he gives an example in The Inevitable First Heroic Project.

Anyways.... I am sure I didn't fully explain everything but again would be happy to help answer any questions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47