If I Just...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

If I just “X”, then “Y”...



Probability Image Labeled For Reuse


When looking for a change in careers, the possibilities seem endless.

The ideas swirl and the applications fly out into emptiness.

Leads are pursued.

Contacts made.

Follow ups sent.

And time ticks by.

Then the waiting continues and the situation mentally becomes a struggle.

Big questions crop up and future job and life satisfaction come into play.

No need to get out of the frying pan and into the fire.

The directions are vague.

The market is ripe to collect revenue.

Job seekers get to know the meaning of caveat emptor.

There is no shortage on career counselors, life coaches, resume reviews, placement firms, headhunters, temp agencies, pyramid schemes and additional education opportunities.

But which one do I choose.

What is going to matter most?

What difference does it make?


I think, “If only I just “X”, then “Y”...

But the logic of if-then statements are great for programming, but are not as crisp IRL.

Lately I’ve been reading over some helpful information from 80,000 Hours on “information you need to find that fulfilling, high-impact career.”

Sounds great so far.

I think it is helping.

Then I find things I am interested in and wonder if they are actually useful or just a money pit.

I have debt and don’t have spare cash.

I’ve financed my education and so am timid to finance other learning opportunities.

Especially if they lead me to where I already am and not to where I should or want to go.


MIT has a Fintech certificate course on Future Commerce.



MIT FinTech Image
Image Source


I read through it and think I would like to take it.

If “X - I take MIT Fintech course”, then “Y - will I get a FinTech job?”

Looks great, seems exciting.

Reasonably priced at $2,600 for 2016’s course.

Maybe that will change in 2017.

Will I make real contacts that can really connect me and get me a job?

Or are the biases too strong because I don’t have “Z” years experience?


Become a Data Scientist and Break into data science with the first online bootcamp made for career-switchers.



K2 Data Scientist Image
Image Source


Hey I want switch careers.

I like the thought and potential future outlook of being a data scientist.

Do I have want it takes?

Does it matter?

The program seems legit.

They offer mentors and “complete career support”, whatever that is…, and review Python Programming, Databases, and other Industry Tools.

Price: $5,500 or “3 installments payment plan with a total course price of $6,500”.

Maybe be worth it in the future, but I don’t know the future.

Humans are bad a predictions.


The CFA Institute has a prgram to “begin earning the Chartered Financial Analyst® (CFA) credential”.



CFA Logo Image
Image Source


Sounds great.

Came highly recommended by one of my profs.

3 tough exams.

Tons of hours sunk into studying.

The CFA Program curriculum covers concepts and skills you will use at all stages of your career.

The self-paced, online format makes it easier for you to continue working while you complete the program.

Completing the CFA Program shows employers and clients you have mastered a broad range of practical portfolio management and advanced investment analysis skills.

Program enrollment fee US$ 450 plus time sensitive registration fee US$ 650 for early registration up to US$ 1,380 for late registration (per exam?).

Total cost of maybe $1100 to maybe $4590 depending of exam fee being one time or per exam and when you register.

But then what?

Do I have an employer lined up?

Any hope or direction after I am done?


What do you think? What do you know?

I am looking for advice and direction.

What have you done?

What have you tried?

What will matter?


Michael


Written by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because if you just give me money then I will have it.


Please check out my recent Sunday Series post:

Or my recent TIL post:


Hey y’all for more great content check out my friends.


P.S. Before you go, do you have Student Loans and are looking for ways to save money?

I recommend Credible.

Use my link to get $200 !

Sort:  

I took the Level I CFA earlier this month. I think its a great program and low cost (but large time commitment) and definitely worth it to me so far from a growth perspective. But if you want your efforts to lead to a job quickly, CFA might not be the best play. Haven't looked much into MIT Fintech certificate, but Fintech is growing rapidly which is a good situation for job hunters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61