A Willing HeartsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #religion8 years ago (edited)

Usually, I am quick to give up if I am not instantly good at things.


This is the twentieth, of a hopefully weekly series, that explores faith, religion, and Christianity. The idea is to share with you my faith, issues I am working on, and to promote discussion.


Please check out the end of this article for links to previous Sunday posts.


Give Up Image Labeled for Reuse


And realistically, I am not good at very much right away….

But when he saw the wind, he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.”Source

These last few weeks I’ve grown weary and downhearted.

I felt lost.

But this is not the first time I have been here.



Image Labeled for Reuse


I could give you all the reasons, but they are really just excuses.

Knowing is not enough.

Growing is not enough.

The important thing is to get my mind right.

‘Cuz I got a place to lay my head at night.

When I start comparin’, start overcarin’, no I ain’t oversharin’, start blank starin’

That’s when things become unclear

And I want outta here

As if I know better than the one who created me…

I act like as if he hated me…

And I know that cannot be.

Because I know God’s love for me.


When Peter cried out, “Lord, save me.” it was after he got out of the boat and walked on the water.

We take action.

God guides us.

“His purposes are not random or arbitrary. If you are still alive on this planet, it’s because He has something for you to do. He placed us on this earth for purposes that He orchestrated long before we were born (Eph. 2:8-10).” (Chan, p. 92)

We sink.

God saves us.

Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” - Source


Lecrae - Deja Vu




Why did I doubt?

I am afraid. I forgot. I don’t know. I am lonely. I am sad. I want to go home.

God therefore teaches his people by their troubles, that he may prepare them for deliverance, and so give them rest from their troubles, that, being reformed, they may be relieved, and that the affliction, having done its work, may be removed.

Sounds familiar...


Remember where I came from in the first place
It’s all a gift, every breath is a birthday
So I spend time tryna find all of these souls lost
'Cause it’s a wasted time if I got it all and they souls lost
- Lecrae

For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

So, as always, if you are interested in knowing more about Jesus Christ, please let me know.

Lord willing, see you all next Sunday!

Thanks,
@strangerarray


References

Chan, F., & Yankoski, D. (2009). Forgotten God: Reversing Our Tragic Neglect Of The Holy Spirit. Colorado Springs, CO: David C. Cook.


Michael


Written by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because we are still here.


Please check out my recent Sunday Series post:

Or the previous TIL post:


Hey y’all for more great content check out my friends.


P.S. Before you go, do you have Student Loans and are looking for ways to save money?

I recommend Credible.

Use my link to get $200 !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49