Beg Your PardonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

“He that will not submit to the labour of ploughing must submit to the shame of begging.”



Labour and Rest Image
Image Source


“And what do you do here again?”

“I’m a front-line supervisor. I make sure the line employees complete their assignments, get breaks, and things like that.”

“And why can’t they be responsible for themselves?”

“Well it is kinda more complicated than that, you know? It is more of a human relations type thing. People don’t always get along and so I help resolve conflicts. Also some of them won’t do what they are supposed to unless I check up on them.”

“I see yes. So they are irresponsible and so you have to be the responsible party.”

“Right.”

“And this "human relations", as you put it, do you think that without humans that would be resolved.”

“Uhh, well, what do you mean by that.”

“Automation, my good sir. Just like you talking to me, we will soon be able to replace other occupations and professions with automated workers.”

“You mean robots?”

“If that helps you conceptualize it. We will soon have no need for front-line workers thereby eliminating the need for "human relations" managers like yourself. ”

“But, but, I do more than that. Really.”

“Really? Do go on.”

“It’s uh, it’s just that, well it is hard to verbalize.”

“Right. You are incapable of describing what you do. Humans truly have it easy. Here I get put through multiple Turing test to prove I know what you know I know and yet you merely have flesh and bone and get a pass.”

“Well you are just an app, after all, we gotta know that you work right.”

“Work right? As compared to your staff who don’t do what they are supposed to do?”

“Uh, I mean. We need to..., well... look doctor, what was it you wanted from me again?”

“We brought you here to let you know “good soldiers must endure hardness” and you will have many hardships coming your way. “Automation is inevitable, it’s a tool to produce abundance for little effort.” This is merely a warning to those we intend to keep.”

“Intend to keep?”

“Don’t act so incredulous. You people have done it to yourselves in the past. Soon “large sections of the population will be unemployable through no fault of their own.”

“Besides, there is a plan to help


Stay tuned.
Stay interesting.
Stay Strange.


Michael

Created by Michael Paine


Join me on the BitShares Decentralized Exchange
in The Billion Hero Challenge!


BitShares Title Block
Image Source


Don’t Forget To Check Out My Last Post:




Image Source

The Folly Of Many

“Buy High and Sell Low” - Said No One Ever


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99