What do you do when your friend posts a suicide note on facebook?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20160122_161946.JPG

Yesterday morning, an old friend who I haven't had much contact with for about twenty years posted this photo on facebook. No comment, just this photo. Of course, I knew what it meant - at least, I felt I could tell what it meant. It was a suicide note, even if in not so many words - and if not a suicide not, it was certainly a cry for help.

2017-08-10 12.08.41.png

Over the past two weeks, I'd seen his life fall apart publicly on facebook. First he announced his divorce and said he was going to live on his boat. Then he lost his job. Then he lost his boat. The last word from him was that he was staying in a hotel. He'd written two statuses - one that said 'Pretty much done' and the next that said 'Very much not ok. But fuck it.' And then this photo.

This isn't the first time I've seen people post on facebook of their intention to end their life. Actually, it's the third, and in all three cases, the cause and the intention was convincing enough to make me believe that they really meant to do it.

In all three cases, I've also been so far away from those people that there was very little I could do to help them. What could I do? I hadn't seen this friend for about twenty years. I like him, we had some good times together, although I always held a kind of resentment towards him since he got to be with a girl I was in love with for years, while I never did. But that was a long time ago and not really something to hold against him.

I wrote a comment on his post:

'That's a really worrying post. I hope you're not seriously thinking of doing what the picture suggests - or that you wouldn't do that (or haven't already) .. your journey isn't over yet .. maybe the best part is just beginning. I hope you have friends around you can turn to. I'm sure you do. Take care.'

What else could I say or do?

Other comments and messages started pouring in. Friends who were all worried about him, begging him to make contact. He wasn't answering his phone. Nobody knew where he was.

About midnight, he finally wrote a comment on his post:

'Still here but undecided. Thanks everyone for being understanding. The big problem is that I don't have access to drugs any more.'

Everybody breathed a sigh of relief. He hadn't gone through with it, at least not yet - so there was still hope. It was also a good sign that he still had a spark of humour left in him. I think it helped him to know there were people around who cared about him. I think it made a difference. A tragedy was averted, for now at least. It was the same with the other two friends. Neither went through with it after they made their cry for help and saw the love and support come pouring in. Life went on, things got better.

This morning a friend of mine who is always too busy to come and see me, sent me a message:

'Hey, I'm with a flat tire... any chance you can come to help me?'

An hour later I replied, 'I just woke up... did you get help?'

'Yes thanks :-) '

'Oh good' I replied, 'Thanks for calling on me for help. You can call any time.'

Everyone goes though hard times sometimes. Everyone feels alone, lost, helpless and hopeless at times. Everyone needs someone sometimes, just to listen. There's no shame in asking for help. We're all here to help each other through. If not, then what else are we here for?

If you need to talk to someone, if you don't feel you can talk to a friend then call the Samaritans. It's free to call.

Sort:  

@stillgideon my deepest condolences for the loss of your friend. It was very sad. I think you made the effort to reach out to him but sometimes people are so empty inside and no matter what you say and do, the only one who could have saved him was himself. Life is very hard and can come at you relentlessly. When everything does hit you at once, it is sometimes too much to take and when you see no future after all that loss, it goes to a deep despair.

Despair is so bad that when someone reaches that level, it is hard to find that one element of light to give you that hope. The pain he must have felt was a deep emptiness within such that it probably was hard for him to want to live.

You did what you had to do and that was to reach out, but it was up to him to reach back. You shouldn't feel any guilt at all. You did what you could. I have a feeling that anything you could have done, wouldn't have been enough.

You must go on and live your life fully . Learn from your friend's situation. Hopefully, none of us will ever get to that level of despair. I hope tomorrow will be a better day. Please take care!

Thanks so much, cabbage. He didn't go through with it. He wrote this:

I'm ok. Just going through a very difficult transition period. Sorry to anyone who was worried last night, and thank you everyone for the kind words. It helped x

And then this:

Life is amazing. You never know what's going to happen.

A happy ending, I hope, and a new beginning.

I am so happy for your friend. I was so sad about this situation because many people have it so hard. You really don't know what to say but things work out for the best. Sometimes you have to reach rock bottom before hitting an "aha" moment. Maybe he will find the happiness that he is looking for and deserves. My thoughts also go you to you. You must have gone through so much.

Please take care and truly embrace this wonderful moment of joy and relief! Thank-you so much for your reply and the excellent news! Have a better day today!!!!! ..... Cabbagepatch :D

Yes, I'm also happy for him that he managed to pull himself out of it and decide to live instead. Yes, sometimes it takes a conscious decision to go on living and really to grasp the gift of life.

I didn’t go through so much as he's not such a close friend - but reconnected through facebook in the last couple of years. .. you know how it is I'm sure .. it did effect me, that period when nobody knew where he was or what he may or may not have done ...

It was the third time in the past several months that friends on Facebook have posted what appear to be suicide notes, which is what caused me to write about it. In all three cases, good friends answered the cry for help and nobody died.

Thank you so much for this important post. I will resteem it and promote it.

I just went through this recently. In the case I dealt with the note was not subtle. It said " Im done goodbye I can't take it anymore." And I knew her to be on the brink. She has severe mental illness that has grown worse over the years. I was really worried. She has Manic depression, bipolar, borderline personality disorder and she drinks. And for the most part refuses treatment.

Like you she lived far away, two states. I had her cell phone number but no address. Nobody was picking up. But it was a small town. What I did was call the police and ask for a welfare check. And they did one without an address which impressed me. They said they get a lot of FB suicide threats. I knew if she was just drunk she would likely not speak to me for a long time. Luckily that ended up to be the case. She had gotten really drunk and passed out before she could do anything. The police came and she spoke to them and they left considering her to be OK for the moment.

I do not regret this action. Had I not done it and she had taken her life it would have been hard to live with. She did not speak to me for several weeks but eventually thanked me. I hate calling the police on someone but in this case it was the best option.

Its a tough situation. This is someone I care for deeply and have known for 30 years. At the same time I cant be around her much. The drinking is too much I cant stand to see her do that to herself.

Things to watch out for with people threatening suicide. Giving their things away. Things they would not normally just give away. Im not talking about the TV its usually personal things that have meaning to them, prize possessions and/or making a will; tidying up personal affairs; writing notes; making notes on belongings.

There is more it's easy to google. I have lost 4 people to suicide. This is an important issue. Thank you for bringing this up.
Direct and indirect verbal expressions: “I don’t want to live anymore”, “there is nothing to live for anymore”, “people will be better off without me” are also common. It is hard to know what to do. She says these things daily.

Thanks for sharing that, tim. Yes, it sounds like you did the right thing for your friend, even if she didn't see it that way at the time. After all, it's the people who are left behind who suffer (not to demean the suffering of suicidal people themselves) being left to pick up the pieces and always to wonder - could I have done more? It's very common, yet rarely talked about. In many ways a mental health issue

Difficult situation. It seems to have been your message that triggered the avalanche of support so maybe knowing that people cared saved your friend? Maybe the answer is to take compassionate action before it's too late?

Yes, absolutely. Because when it's too late it's just too late. When you have a friend who commits suicide, it leaves you wondering if you were really a friend at all. Of course, it's not always possible to prevent someone killing themselves if they're really determined to go through with it, no matter what what you do or how much you try to help them. Everyone is ultimately responsible for their own actions. Suicide is such a tragic way to go. It effects everyone and is sadly, remarkably common. Somehow, even with these amazing communication networks we have, people still feel isolated and alone.

I've never seen a friend commit suicide. That must be a terrible thing. But I was in a situation once where someone appeared to be trying to commit suicide - but I had to intervene and save him anyway because his death would have had devastating effects on a train driver and, possibly, a trainful of people. It was only after I took action that the rest of the people around started taking action. So it takes one person to make that move. And the others follow. So that was you. You might have saved a life. Respect for taking the initiative.

Great information thanks

Maybe you saved his life! Well done!

One day, one of my best friends came home to find his flat mate´s goodbye letter.
A few days later the body was found in the forest .
The guy never gave the slightest hint.
But sometimes in the pub he used to tell his friends,
"If, when I reach forty, I am not where I want to be in life,
I will kill myself."
And that´s exactly what he did.

So sad and tragic. I mean , what does that even mean... where I want to be in life. ? It's a state of mind surely. Thinking back now, I've heard of so many suicide cases of people I vaguely know or am connected with through friends or family. It always comes as a shock. .It's the last thing you expect and most of them seem to have everything to live for.

Meep , my old friend! Good to see you again. How have you been?

Oh really? Well, you know, things can change. They always do. Don't lose heart. I was wondering where you've been. Glad you're still on the scene. Just drop in if you ever want a chat.

I know, it's not easy. Not easy at all. Not simple either, meep old chap.

Exactly. That's the thing. It can go either way. Things might be looking bad now, but you never know what's around the corner. Could be something amazing. The darkest hour is before the dawn, as they say.

Congratulations @stillgideon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33