Charity wrestling show outcome!!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

received_10155006384640958.jpegreceived_10156415408868561.jpegreceived_1362256767156278.jpegScreenshot_20170724-000710.png

I haven't had time to write a lot lately. I posted a month or two ago about a friend who passed away. I am blessed with a lot of friends in a lot of different fields in the clearwater area. So myself and a couple other people wasted no time organizing a charity show for the family of our friend wayne.

I was terrified the show wasn't going to be as successful as it should be. I have wrestled for 11 years but never been the one to run the show. It was the absolute most stressful thing I've done in my life. Under normal circumstances if I were to run the show and it wasn't up to standards I might lose a couple hundred bucks. This show, however, was totally different.

There were many organizations that wanted to run the show but being close to Wayne as myself and our group were we wanted to be the ones to do it. I was leaving the house at 9 a.m. for work and not getting home till 10:30 or 11 at night because as soon as work ended I was passing out flyers,selling tickets, trying to get partial sponsors etc. The family entrusted me in being the one to run this show and wanted to do his service alongside it. I'm not embarrassed to say that I almost broke down in tears multiple times thinking it wasn't going to be a success.

When the day came we had over 400 people in attendance and raised around $3,600 for the family in addition to some other money that other people had raised. I lost a good friend but gained many more as his family was absolutely amazing and I'm so happy that we got to be the ones to say goodbye in our own way.

So many people stepped up that day and offered their time set aside grudges and made it one of the best experiences I've ever been a part of. I split my lip almost got knocked out and came away with a bruise from my upper bicep all the way to my inner chest but it was all worth it.

I didn't post this to try and brag I just wanted to share one of the most amazing experiences of my life which I could not have done without everyone's help. Rip Wayne we miss you.

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts
Even better: If your reputation is lower than 28 re-steeming only costs 0.001 SBD!
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.

Congratulations @steemrollinglife! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68