Churning Paddy into Flattened Rice.(Poha/Churwa)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

One of the common food item among the Eastern Indians is Flattened Rice. Rice that is made up of Raw Paddy. So today My Mom asked me to get some Paddy's churned into Flattened Rice from the local market. This is my first time visit to get the Paddy churning into Flattened Rice from a Mill.

She did the needful at home and get the Paddy soaked in warm water yesterday(a day before). Now it is required to be churned from the local Mill shop. A mill or you can say a big furnace or machine for getting the Paddy's grinded into Flattened rice.

image

Looking at the Furnace, I was bit confused how , it help in getting me a Flattened Rice. Two cylindrical mouth and stove beneath. As it was early morning, I have to wait in the long queue. Luckily I got to 4th in the sequence. Keeping my sack of Paddy I started to look for entire process.
Two men came near to the furnace and start arranging for the combustion material. In this case it's wood and coal. They put the material from the side face and lit the furnace.

image

My curiosity for the entire steps started to get more. I never seen how flattened rice are made. Many times I bought Flattened Rice directly from stores.
When my turn came in, I emptied the sack of Paddy into a basket.

image

Another men who is operating the furnace , started to put little quantity of Paddys in to the front Cylindrical mouth. Actually he was drying and frying the Paddy's in the furnace. The furnace inside the mouth is revolving alongwith some black sand. It is traditional way of baking or you may say dry frying the Paddy's. The operator guy is holding a long handle like spoon for putting and taking out the Paddy's from the furnace.

image

While it was baking inside the furnace , I have a look inside the mill shop. It was totally dearranged and lot of sacks are kept inside one after the another. I further noticed, there is another big machine inside the shop as well.

image

Coming back to my baked paddy, the operator took out Paddy's from inside the furnace and another men started filtering the sand particle from it. It is also a manual work, as he filtering it with hand using a sieve.

image

After, filtering out the Baked Paddy that guy took it inside the store, where the big machine was revolving at a high speed . He put small quantity of the baked Paddy inside the big machine.

image

That machine is moving at a higher speed, and the Paddy started to grind within. The operator of this machine keep examining the grinding process through, he is making assure that paddy get properly grinded.

image

After, baking and putting the entire sack into the big machine mine, Flattened Rice is almost ready. Slowly he refilled my empty sack with Flattened rice.

image

There were lot of husk as well, alongwith the flattened rice. Well the mill work has been done and now it's turn at home to seperate the husk (powdered material) and the flattened rice. My Mom took this job and she carefully seperate both of them. Here is the final look that took me 5hrs.

image

This Flattened Rice is very dry , we use or say eat it either with curd and adding sweet or salt. Another way to use it is by frying with edible oil and salt . A good evening snack with Tea.

A good learning for today, where I got to know the entire process how the Flattened Rice are made. In India we call them Poha or Churwa

Stay Calm....

Keep Steeming...Steem On !!!


Vote for Witness I have given mine to,
@firepower , @enginewitty, @blocktrades , @gtg , @abit, @fulltimegeek , @utopian.io @bobinson, @jatinhota, @curie, @adsactly-witness, @therealwolf @patrice @reggaemuffin @c0ff33a @thekitchenfairy @drakos @roelandp @good-karma @yabapmatt @partiko @steemcommunity @qurator are in my list.


Namaste from @steemflow

STEEMFLOW.gif
image
...........................................

Steemit Bloggers
..............................................

Sort:  

🎁 Hi @steemflow! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

It just amazes me how different cultures do their food. I appreciate you taking time to show us a view of your food culture.
Ren

Thanks @heyhaveyamet different culture different food. That is why this platform is so amazing that we get to see so many things

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice post... When I saw the first photo of the oven, I was completely stunned by it. I am not sure why, but just from the photo I thought it was a hand. I know really weird. However, upon reading the post, I find out about this process of flattening and drying the rice. This was very interesting and I do hope you are able to share a recipe or more in the future for the rice.

Thanks for sharing!
Ren

Hahaha.....thanks @xcountrytravelers (Ren) it was indeed my first experience too and thought of capturing each steps.
Flattened rice are easily available in stores but grinding it in mill is first experience too ..even reaching the store and looking at those furnace (oven) I was also confused how it going to do..but now I understood each step and can easily share with anyone like I did...

Posted using Partiko Android

I found a market here near me so i will be looking for the rice. Thanks again.

Pretty neat, I have heard of flattened rice but had no clue how it is done,

Hope now it is more clearer....infact it was my first experience too and pretty good one...glad I make it share with everyone...

Posted using Partiko Android

And this been posted for 5 H and still no big reward????

Cough, cough @curie still exists or not? Lol

Hahaha....wish you could be one of the @curie curator 😉 I would have got much. But still relying only on @good-karma blessings

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steemflow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


Wow! That is quite the process!! I never knew that much went into making Poha. Thank you so much for taking us, step by step through the entire adventure.

It was quite an adventure for me, but five hours is a long time for you to be waiting for it to be done. I wanted to ask you how much approximately did it cost for them to churn it for you?

As for your mom, what a tedious job must be separating the husk and the flattened rice. Thank you so much for such a well-written and informative piece.

Thank you for posting in the #MarketFriday challenge.

Please leave the link to your post here so it can be found by others. They are easier to find in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much!! ❤

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Well the cost depends upon your quantity. Here the mill shop use to charge RS.6 / kg so how much is your quantity is the cost of grinding it.....
Even it was an adventure for me too...although I love eating Poha a lot but it takes this much never had imagined. Another interesting rt things...the Paddy's are of my own field so it taste more than usual Poha available in markets ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely! Homegrown always tastes best to me! And I know what is going into my product! I know you are right! Isn't it funny how we can appreciate it more when we know all the work that goes into it?

Thank you again! That was really an awesome post! Have a wonderful evening!

Thanks @dswigle another amazing thing is how the xommon things are so uncommon to others. Atleast we get to see and learn so many interestings stuffs...

Wishing a wonderful day ahead.

Happy New Year

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations🎉, You received a upvote👍 from CryptoBloggers
CryptoBloggers is the junction of cryptoblogging platforms. We created tools for each platform that help users to a better experience with the blogging platform. This bot is part of our tools. you can use our bot by joining our server and send this command $upvote YOUR-POST-LINK and you will receive upvote on your post.
👉 Delegate to Our Bot 👈
1 SP5 SP10 SP50 SP100 SPCustom SP
Join our Discord Server 👉

@steemflow,

As someone who is infinitely curious about 'how things work,' I found this post fascinating. I love learning about how humans have figured out how to solve problems using ingenuity and 'homemade technologies.'

Great write.

Quill

Thanks @quillfire really motivating words for me to continue sharing what people like to see. Infact , there are many in India to explore. Atleast I am able to share some through Steemit. These appreciation really help me to continue on Steemit..👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51