Shave like a Gentleman - Shave of the day -Part 1

in #life6 years ago (edited)

2_AdobeStock_80118064.jpg

Tedious, boring, monotonous, are all words that used to come to mind when I would think about shaving. I have pitch black hair, and I grow a really thick beard. Back in highschool, when I was able to start shaving, I thought it was really cool. In my adult life it has become a daily task because I need to be clean shaven being in the Military. However, I would like to show you how to turn that mundane daily ritual into 20-30 minutes of relaxation, self reflection, indulgent stress relief, and give you the mental preperation and self confidence to conquer the day!

Photo Source: Rights to above Image have been purchased through Adobe Stock Image https://stock.adobe.com/

A year ago I stumbled acrossed something called wet shaving. It is a style of shaving that stays away from the plastic razors and chemical laden creams. It is shaving like your Grandpa used to: a mug, a brush, high lather soap, and a stainless steel blade accompanied by an ornate handled tool.

Some of you may have visited a store called, "The Art of Shaving," in some upper class malls. They sell over priced mens goods, and try to sell classic shaving as a brotherhood. Well, what most people are not aware of, is that they are owned by Procter & Gamble, who also bought out Gillette. Marketing is what they do best. I am here to tell you that you do not need a $200.00 shaving set from a fancy mall to get your whiskers to be as smooth as a baby's bottom.

Now you maybe be asking your self, "Why would I want to spend 20-30 mins shaving? I can shave in 3-5 mins with my Mach 23, a 7-bladed, 2-handled, tripple smooth applicating, vibrating head razor; therefore, why would I want to spend more time then that if I didn't have to?"

I am going to tell you, you owe it to yourself. As men, we have many stressors in our lives. We experience stress on the job, traffic to the job, tending to all of the needs of our family, deadlines, finances, mortgages, health, and friends. There are a million things that can cause stressors to men . As men, we think we are invincible and if there is a problem, we need to fix it. This MENtality causes stress.

So why not take a little time for yourself, clear your head, and flat out just pamper yourself a little bit? I know that does not sound manly; however, we need a bit of that too. Women go to the salon, receive nail treatments, relax in the spa, tan, put those weird cucumbers things over their eyes. Why? It is because women have multiple stressors too but they are better at taking time out for themselves to release it.

One of the best way I have found to release stress, recharge my batteries, and clear my mind is by shaving the classic way.

Here is my Shave of the Day

UO5B4it7S86XMwx94byvAw.jpg
Here is a shot of my shaving den, the place I can relax for a few moments before starting my day. It has all of the accoutrements I need for a close classic shave.

6Lp6vSXWSdqe3LU24X47%Q.jpg
I start out by filling my scuttle with hot water inside and out, to warm the ceramic. This is not a necessary item, an old mug will do the trick. However, my wife was nice enough to have this custom scuttle made for my birthday, and it warms the lather for just a bit of extra comfort on those cold mornings. I will also prepare my double edged safety razor with a blade. Here I am using a Merkur 34C and a Feather Stainless blade. Feather is one of the sharpest blades you can buy, so I wouldn't recommend it for a beginner. But I have yet to find a closer shave.

6oUuLVetR1qecDPIPNtcmw.jpg

I decided to go with the Razorock XXX today. Its an Italian Soap with a fragrance that is a mix between a top-shelf Italian cologne and a traditional barbershop smell. It also lathers really well. I will also soak my brush and the new razor blade in the hot scuttle water. While that is soaking, I am taking a warm wash cloth, as warm as I can stand, and holding it against my face and neck. This will open the pores and soften the whiskers to get that buttery smooth shave.

tKEmp+zlTeCLVMYFLXCtUw.jpg
I will also use a dash of preshave oil. This is another non-necessary item, but I had some, and decided to go all out this morning. It will help create slip for the blade to glide on, but if you have a good lathering soap you will be fine. I also have my morning coffee readily available. This can also be substituted out for a good craft beer, just depends how you want to start your day.

o5U73wbuQFmAy8PQi11Fhw.jpg

Next you will load your brush with soap. The warm water held within the hair of the brush will help it to pick up the soap and transfer it to your scuttle or mug ready to lather. I usually load my brush vigorously for 10-15 seconds. I am using a Parker badger hair brush with a weighted stainless steel handle. This is a very nice brush, and once its broken in it will lather like a champ. Also purchased by my wife for my birthday, she treats me very well. :)

xM4g4tdaRAKkf+UWy3uC2g.jpg

Lather! This skill can take some time to perfect, practice makes perfect. Mainly I keep spinning the brush in the bowl, back and forth, until I see the lather start to form "Peaks", once it begins to give me peaks, I know that it is dense enough to shave with.

NL2Phkw5SI6wBUl2O9k5dw.jpg
Apply! Use the brush to rub the lather into your skin and soften up your beard. I like to apply it generously, it smells good, its warm, and the brush is doing its job standing the hairs up getting ready for a close cut.

YoSJ%rM1QHaVwz4lruPXnw.jpg
This is Alum. This will help with any knicks and cuts, it promotes clotting and will help stop any bleeding so your don't show up to work with those embarrassing pieces of toilet paper stuck to your face. When I shave I will usually do 3 passes, first pass with the grain of my beard, second pass a crossed the grain, and then a finishing pass against the grain lightly to pick up any stubborn areas. I apply a fresh coat of lather before each pass. Let the weight of the razor do the work. No pressing or pushing, or you are going to need lots of alum! These blades are sharp!

%qH9Gq2ZSuOLSY1lar4eJw.jpg
I finish up the shave by rinsing my face with cold water to remove any excess shaving cream, and then a splash of aftershave to close those pores. Try not to scream like the kid in the "Home Alone" movies. Come on tough guy.

uivixtPhSt6ocL%RfLHZJA.jpg
A little bit of post shave lotion. Especially in the winter time with the cold dry air. I like to use a unscented lotion so its not clashing with my after shave. I try my best not to smell like a stripper. haha.

vQM5CkvXSmepQTJXWFrIPA.jpg
And there you go, feeling like a new man ready to conquer the day.

Gents, there is nothing wrong with taking some time out of your busy day to spend on yourself. Sometimes it is just what is needed. At the beginning of this post I stated that you didn't need a fancy shaving set to get a great feeling close shave. In my shave this morning I went a little above and beyond, but thats because after a year of "shaving like my grandfather used to", I have accumulated some extras. However, in reality if you just want to stick to the basics wet shaving will actually save you money compared to shaving with brand named cartridges. Why spend 100's of dollars a year on the newest product Gillettes' marketing department can come up with, when you can get a better shave at a fraction of the cost? The blades I am using for this shave cost 20 cents a piece, and those are the really expensive ones. You can get a great quality blade for 10 cents a pop, and they can last a week depending on how thick your beard is. Remember the blades have 2 sides. I know everyone already has an old mug, a decent razor handle can be had for 20 bucks. Amazon stocks some pretty great shaving brushes for around 20 dollars as well. Try not to go too cheap on the brush. I like badger hair brushes, but they also make some great synthetic brushes as well. Do some research and give it a shot.

Shave Handsomely, turn that old chore into a new detoxifier for your life. Let me know how it goes guys!

-steemengines

steemengines_blue.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 195!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Thank you very much for your efforts and finding interest in my post. It was nice to read your write up on my article, and have you give your recommendation for others to check it out. You have helped to motivate me to continue contributing to this community, and to challenge my self to create interesting content for others. @gniksivart Thank You!

Good post! I feel the same way about my shaving ritual. There was a time where I first joined where I would just dry shave in the car on the way into work, but now I really enjoy the whole ritual of building my lather and having a nice shave.

Hell yeah man. I too am guilty of the quick dry shave, but with a beard like mine, it leaves me regretting it the rest of the day. I would have never of thought I would have liked it, until I took the time out of my day and shaved the right way. Any favorite soaps you recommend?

Haha my grandpa used to carry those set 😍 now a days we can't see those kit 😉

I must shave daily cuz college rules

I recently received an old set from my Grandfather. I am excited to try it out. Shaving doesn't have to be a chore, if you can make it relaxing! :)

dude this is freaking gold! Although im glad i have the worlds worst beard and also worlds biggest double chin, im glad i dont have to go through this all but i totally understand what you mean with thats a man salon. Awesome post man, i would totally use deception dapper if i needed to shave every day for sure haha

Haha thanks Bro! Im on the fence if I should finish the work I did on Deception Dapper and just finally launch it. Thanks for the support man!

i mean where will your efforts go, is that where you want your time to go and do you believe in your product? if so then hell yeah, badass name and good stuff! the ball is in your court my friend!

I know dude. Its just tough with so many irons in the fire... I need to take one out, to make room for more. You know which one that is too. lol

What fantastic images, I mean, it look like the photos of products offered in magazines haha.

For me shaving is a big problem because I have a delicate skin and it gets dry easily.
Sometimes it takes me an hour to shape my beard.

dasdasdasd.png

The beard looks good though man! I would prefer to have a beard, but with my job I have to shave. Shaving with a double edge razor can surprisingly cause less irritation. Being that there is only 1 blade gliding across the skin per pass, vs multiple blades in a cartridge. Heres a link for some tips on how to combat sensitive skin. https://hairfreelife.com/wet-shave-without-irritation-even-sensitive-skin/ Thanks for your interest!

hahaha yes, it is very difficult to keep the skin well.
Thanks that link has very good tips to apply, I didn't know that I shouldn't tense my skin. Greetings colleague.

Im like and I happy for visited your blog :) Follow you and Great job sir

Hey, Thank you! Im glad you enjoyed the post. Hopefully there will be more to come. Thanks for the follow, followed back.

This post has been resteemed by @talhadogan thanks to: @steemengines

You got a 2.64% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @steemengines!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

You got a 1.49% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @steemengines!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37