Journey from 300 pounds to 199... Damn you Chinese food, thou hath forsaken me.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Me at 300 with my sister... I was probably 17 or 18 here.
me and sis back in the day.jpg


So, I have been sharing my mission to 199 pounds and that this mission started when I was in my early 20's and weighed over 300 pounds.
If you are new to my page check out the back stories below, so I am not to bore the others :)


https://steemit.com/life/@starsteem/gym-time-putting-in-that-work


https://steemit.com/fitness/@starsteem/gym-part-2-update-now-i-weigh-201-down-from-300-1-pound-till-i-have-lost-100-pounds


https://steemit.com/life/@starsteem/another-installment-of-gym-time-new-day-old-work-go-get-it


Well, so far I have gotten as close as 201 as you can see from the links above and have hit a bit of a wall.
The last couple of days I keep coming in at 202 and change. No big deal, I have come to expect this type of thing from time to time, throughout this journey. I have to tell you though that without a doubt after a night of Chinese food... just forget about weighing in for a couple of days it will drive you mad. I'm at 204 and change now and know it is that damn Chinese food... BUT IT IS SO DAMN DELICIOUS! I don't know if it is made with love and is the reason you gain weight after consuming or made with hate because you hate yourself after eating it, but the term catch 22 comes to mind. Like eat this food and you will catch 22 pounds or it will take 22 days to get back down to your original weight. :)

My message is this though if you eat those types of meals (like Chinese) and gain some weight, it is what it is, as long as you know you are going to put the work in to remove it. I know I will, which is why I ate it to begin with, but if the weight gain shocks you and you allow yourself to get discouraged, take this advice. Portion control and use that feeling of discouragement as fuel for the next trip to the gym. You made a conscience decision to eat it, now make that same conscience decision to work your ass off. GO GET IT!

With that being said, this is what work looks like...


20170524_191053_resized.jpg

20170524_190512_resized.jpg


My wife thinks I look carzy at the gym. Do you agree? :)


And this is me now in the jacuzzi, no shirt covering me up. I am far from a model's physique, but with how far I have come it's all I can do to not where a tank top to work :)


mexico lizard head.jpg



STEEMON!!!


YOU FEEL ME

Sort:  

thanks for sharing, i like

Thats a great accomplishment..deserves more votes! Congrats bud

Thank you, very much appreciate the positive vibes! Cheers

Weight loss is one of the toughest journeys any person could embark on, good job toughin it out! Keep up the good work! Have you messed with diet as far as anythint like keto, intermittent fasting or anything like that?

THANK YOU!!!
Yes, I have done a bunch of different things over the years. The most effective for me was IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros). I was even thinking about explaining it to others on Steemit. I started doing it back in December 2016 and am down 25 pounds since then.

Ok yeah Ive heard of IIFYM that was what helped me get used to counting and measuring my foods. Along those lines I started messing with my ratios and came across eating to induce ketosis (which is a process which your body uses fat for fuel rather than carbs) which is high fat moderate protein and super low carbs which may sound backwards but its one of the best things for weight loss that Ive ever came across. Wishin you nothing but the best man!

Same here, that was the biggest change for me "getting used to measuring and tracking my intake. You have absolutely peaked my interest in Ketosis, sounds like just the thing I need right now as I begin to plateau. Thank you, my friend!
...Never Change! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72