The Sidewalk Home

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180413_172329.jpg
Seems such a strange thing pondering myself having a home to go to, for many years it was not so. The last decade it seems has been fraught with such chaos, moving from here to there, the circle appears to broken now. No longer does life revolve around the madness of anothers addiction, the last year might be called joyful, triumphant even. I feel like I'm waiting for all hell to break lose at any moment but the days and weeks pass by and here I am wondering, contemplating thoughts of home.
20150910_074602.jpg
The beach use to be home. Living there in a box I lost and found so many things it's unfathomable. I miss it though, the constant roar of the waves, the days where you'd wake up and look outside and think you were in heaven, the days where you wake up and wish you were dead, they all seem like a repeating dream I lived in another life so long ago.
IMG_20171222_192507.jpg
Now I have stairs to climb and a bed to sleep in, water, running hot, and cold. Strange it is to call a place home.
IMG_20171222_192529.jpg
Every morning I walk out a door, I descend down the stairs I walked up, into the abyss of darkness outside before the morning comes, instead of sand I have streets, the blur in the middle of these two paths is missing in my mind as if it never was.
IMG_20180112_165325.jpg
Turning the corner, looking down the road that lies ahead I realize how truly blessed and lucky I am to have survived the missing pieces between sand and sidewalk, so many years lost in the middle. Home, at least for now I feel I'm home

Sort:  

So glad to hear you're doing well @spozone. This is a lovely piece of writing. 😊

Thank you Gillian. I couldn't sleep, so I figured I'd write.

If you're going to be homeless, I guess a beach beats a bridge. But, seriously, that's an awesome share. I wish you the best of luck--and Godspeed--in your new home. May it bring you many years of joy.

@steemitbloggers

You know I tried to stay in the city when all that started. I had a few places I'd try to sleep but there were just way to many people crawling around at all hours of the night so that was my thought, I took the last money I hadn't headed out to the beach with an old flatbed trailer and 6 sheets of plywood. Little did I know I'd stay in that box for so many years. The good thing is I slept like an baby out there with no one around.

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

While I'm sorry you had trouble sleeping, I have to say I'm also glad, because it led you to sharing this. I'm blown away by how inspiring, thought-provoking, and feels-hitting this is.


via GIPHY

You are quite the amazing person, my friend, and I'm so happy that #steemitbloggers is showing you some love. 😊 💜

Oh, and - tip!

You.... you, I hope the moonlight rains down upon you and showers you with blessings.

Thank you, dear man. Right back atcha. 😊 💜

Hi @spozone! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @traciyork!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

We play on the Earth for as long as we can before it is time for us to go...good luck...

Indeed, we are just visiting this planet. Best to relax and enjoy the ride, live life and live it well.

Home is inside. I know what it is to not have a place to call home. I am so glad you have one now. It is nice to meet you.

What an emotional slice of life @spozone!

Thanks @jaynie, you're pretty awesome yourself.

aaah shucks you are too kind ;)

Are you on discord at all?

I just got the app today and have no clue how it works and I call myself a geek. Using the same user name as here so maybe you can message me and help me figure it out?

cannot seem to find you - when you get a mo, can you try to find me?

jaynie#9450

I don't get the server thing. Don't know how to find one either. spozone#1830

I'm figuring it out. Which server?
Try this..
https://discord.gg/TNkp7P

no you will need to contact me directly. let me look for you again lol

I can see you but not contact you - so probably settings.... or you blocked me :P haha

https://discord.gg/TNkp7P
I'm there.. Or at least I'm talking to myself there... Kinda weird.

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of August 17 2018! Check it out to see who nominated you…

This is such a real piece of writing @spozone! Thank you for sharing. I have a very close family member who has walked in similar shoes; he too is home now, and I hope with all my heart he stays there.
#steemitbloggers

It changed me in so many ways. I was blessed to have been able to stay where I was for so long. It was 7 miles to the nearest lightbulb, I was far enough down the beach that in winter I might not even see another human for weeks. Just me, God, Bambi, the Cheshire Coyote, the crabs, the kangaroo mice, and the damned seagulls laughing at me all the time.

hahahaha those damn seagulls @spozone 😎 I can imagine how something like that would change you though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77