😊How to beat procrastination with the 5 second rule!!! ❣️

in #life7 years ago (edited)

@splendorhub 5 sec rule.png
It wasn't until several weeks ago that I would claimed to be the queen of procrastination. I would joke about it, but I hated my procrastination. I was always trying to find the best technique to beat procrastination, or ways to improve habits to get me thru a task. Until one day I discovered the 5 second rule, and I instantly new this was the solution to end the disease of procrastination.

What is the 5 second rule? Is a way to trick your mind from self preservation, or self sabotage. I'll come back to this, but first let me help you understand the defense mechanism of the brain.

Our brain goes into meta-cognition mode when we initially have an idea or want to take action. In other words it forces us to think. By doing this our brain protects us from harm or doing things that are uncertain scary or new. This can result in procrastination, overthinking, worry or fear.

Here's the best part! With only doing the reverse 5 second countdown you can defeat your brains auto mode. This is due to a neurological mechanism . Every time you do the reverse 5 second countdown you activate your brain to move. And this trick can be used not just for procrastination but it helps with anxiety and the habit of worrying.

This is so worth the try! Next time you start procrastinating, worrying, hesitating or even becoming anxious count...5,4,3,2,1!
It worked for me and I hope it works for you too. Below is the source of this very helpful technique I learned.

Please up vote. Follow and comment. beso.jpg

Sort:  

Great advice! I never heard of that, I will definitely give it a try... 1,2,3,4,5... yep! It works

I'm glad you enjoyed it. Two tips, the countdown is backwards; this activates the brain.
Tip number two, check this other post :) https://steemit.com/contest/@splendorhub/celebration-time-200-followers-milestone-giveaway-contest-sbd-s Best wishes.

Congratulations @splendorhub! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

keep it up!!!

I like this, I am going to try and do this. I also heard about the 5 second rule when you are in danger, you must either react right away. It's like fright or flight. Great post and great picture!

Awesome. Thank you :)

I have been struggling with this sort of thing recently so I will adopt this strategy and see how I go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38