SteemDance - How To Dance - Beginner Class

in #life7 years ago

I have been a dancer since 9 years and my mentor and dance teacher @sirwinchester taught me how to teach and gave me the opportunity to teach his dance classes with him together and sometimes alone. I am so thankful for this opportunity because it really helped me to get more confident and to talk in front of many people because his classes are always packed.



Last year I posted a SteemDance series just for the SteemFest 2016. I got so many requests on doing something for non-dancers... Since I heard about SteemFest 2, I wanted to make sure that everyone feels comfortable when we will have a little catch up in the evening and the music will be turned on. There is still some time until the big meet up in Lisbon so I thought it would be a great time to start practicing....


Nobody cares if you can't dance well. Just get up and dance. - Dave Barry


I do not have special names for the moves I am going to show. These are designed by my dance teacher and its like a routine that I show every student before starting a choreography. 

I recommend to wait a few moments so all gifs could load a little.


Slide and open up the legs 

Here I´m showing you a simple slide to both sides. While I get to the other side, I stop - open both legs and do the same over and over again. It is very important to have a smooth transition instead of a rigit move. Hip Hop means to always dance in a plié. A plié stands for bending your knees instead of straighten them. 


Slide to the back

This step is a simple slide to the back. Use your arms to make it look more special. Always make it look difficult even if when its easy. 


The turn

A turn looks always nice. You can use it as a special or to throw away your hair. Turns can also be difficult because holding the balance isnt always an easy thing. Try to look at a specific point in front of you, turn around but try to look as long as possible to that point you chose before. This will help you to keep the balance. 


Simple step

These steps are very easy. In my class I would say "Step - Tap - Step - Tap". You step in front of you and tap towards the foot right after. Same thing to the back. Also use your arms to make it look more special. (forget the pose at the end xD)


Bounce flow

I didnt know how I should call this move because it´s a mix of a normal bounce and flow. To be honest, it took me years to get the flow that I now have. I was dancing like a robot or like a tree so getting this relaxed dance style took me years. Anyway, you can be a person who owns the flow naturally. To make it look more extra, I lifted my feet every time my weight was on the other side. 


The normal slide

As shown above, the slide is a typical dance move. Just step to the side with - for example - the left foot. Pull your right foot towards the left one and draw a line between your legs. Try not to lift the right foot. You should do this move to both sides. 


Advanced flow

I´m pretty sure that this move has a special meaning. But since I cant remember what it´s called, I name it advanced flow. The plié is again very important. Step to both sides and lift your knee whenever you have enough balance. 



----------------------------


“You've gotta dance like there's nobody watching,
Love like you'll never be hurt,
Sing like there's nobody listening,
And live like it's heaven on earth.”
William W. Purkey


Finally I enjoyed some jumps on the trampoline for good and positive energy



I hope this little tutorial helped you a little.

Confidence comes from discipline and training. - Robert Kiyosaki 



Thanks for reading 



Stay focused

Love, Soldier 



Sort:  

you have a pretty accent, should vlog more often.

cool steemit dance!

hi what a nice post. it will need for the beginners for some tutorial process on moves dance you have..its super great..thumbs up..
i would like to share to you my poety and story about romance ,love and remembrance..
further dew, her we go:https://steemit.com/poetry/@mrblu/the-blue-moon-of-love-love-me-like-crazy

cool dance tutorial :)

Those are some great dance moves! I loved the slide to the back, especially as you used your arms to make it look more special. That's also a cool picture at the end, I love the black and white with only you being in color :) Thanks for sharing!

So glad you enjoyed this post! Have you ever danced before ? Your description of the move was great ;)

Haha I have not. You could just say I have great attention to detail ;)

Wow youre working hard!

Thats how i know you- by dancing, with your first post on Steemit @soldier
Always great quality dance and awesome posts 👌
I'm not a dancer but still always great to read your posts.
For sure people can learn a lot from you.
Keep doing fantastic job 🔝

So cool to have some one who follows my journey from the start. The steemdance posts was one of my first posts here on steemit. Doesnt matter if you are a dancer or not. It is something nice to watch, but even better with music lol. Thank you so much

Nice tutorial and very cool motivation pusher in the video =)

What if your a guy though, how does that work out?

confidence, what a weapon to behold. gotta get some more of that. Hope you're well.

I´m very good thanks! Confidence is a weapon you´re right! Its so important to have confidence as a dancer or in life in general!

I love to dance. If possible I wanna follow some lessons to dance with my girlfriends. I am a bit jaleous on people who can dance very good. I am not sure I have the skills but trying wont hurt me right. Nice dancing from you I really enjoyed it :)

girlfriends brothermic :)

haha i mean Girlfriend lol

Oh please keep practicing. As I wrote above, when I started dancing I couldnt move at all. I looked like a robot. If you like doing it, dont stop! I believe every person can learn to dance...

advanced flow.....#WIN

Flow is important ! ;)

I gotta admit girl , you are one multitalented individual ! The moves and everything , you should maybe take part in some competiations around your area , I know you'd win :D without a doubt @soldier . I could never have the confidence to dance in front of people , I guess it takes courage . Ill probably try out your moves in a room alone haha . As always , stay positive !!

Hehe I already attended on some competitions. I won the german championships three times and second place internationally. So glad you enjoyed it :)
Courage is important but if you love what you do, the courage is coming all by itself

Very impressive , keep the spirit alive and keep winning in life because not a lot of people have talent within them like this !

Steem on ❤️🚂🚂🚂

Thank you so much, appreciate your lovely words <3

Always ❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48