Will Keeping Quiet About Your Goals Better Help You Achieve Them??? YES!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

 

FTA:  Tests done since 1933 show that people who talk about their intentions are less likely to make them happen.


In 1933, W. Mahler found that if a person announced the solution to a problem, and was acknowledged by others, it was now in the brain as a "social reality", even if the solution hadn't actually been achieved.

NYU psychology professor Peter Gollwitzer has been studying this since his 1982 book "Symbolic Self-Completion" - and recently published results of new tests in a research article, "When Intentions Go Public: Does Social Reality Widen the Intention-Behavior Gap?"

Four different tests of 63 people found that those who kept their intentions private were more likely to achieve them than those who made them public and were acknowledged by others.

Once you've told people of your intentions, it gives you a "premature sense of completeness."


I've certainly seen it in my own life.  I've told people what my goal is and they congratulate me for an ambitious goal.  The more I get congratulated on it the better I feel about choosing such a worthy goal.  I end up feeling so good that sometimes I make no effort.

That's how I've come to know what a good goal for me is.  I like it so much that I don't want to tell anyone about it.  I just want to work towards it.

The secret, they say, is to tell no one.  Then achieve it and speak about it later.

Reminds me a bit about how Louis CK feels good for just thinking about doing a good deed.  He never did it, but boy did it feel good to think about it.

Source: Lifehacker

Sort:  

An interesting concept. I can see how many might fall prey to vocalizing their goals and then falling away from their commitment after receiving praise. Of course, one needs friends who will hold their feet to the fire and keep them honest in their intentions.

Just as it is poor form to surround oneself with "yes men," so to have only friends who will placate and not push you when you need it.

Cheers!

Good point. Having friends who can push, criticize, and hold you accountable are key. And, can be so rare for many of us.

Very interesting @solarsherpa ...Bless

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 5.29 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @solarsherpa.

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub of 16.13 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @solarsherpa. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Yes, I heard this too a few years back and now everyone around me just thinks I've got heaps of 'secret' projects ;)

But you get my upvote for the Louis CK link - gotta be in my Top 5 comedians at the moment :D

This post has received a 49.38 % upvote from thanks to: @solarsherpa.
For more information, click here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @solarsherpa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @solarsherpa! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Final results coming soon

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89