Life and Death~A Snook Ramble

in #life5 years ago (edited)



Twenty-three years ago on August 24, I married my husband. It was a second marriage for both of us. We wanted to keep the wedding small. I wanted a picnic in my parent's backyard until I started looking into the cost of having fifty people at their house. I will admit I started crying from frustration that day at work.

My husband and I were paying for the wedding. Money was tight. Hubby stepped up to the plate that day and suggested we go looking at a few bars that might be able to hold a small wedding too.

We ended up finding the perfect place. It was a volleyball bar with beach sand courts. The bar wanted to start catering to medium size weddings. They were remodeling the main bar and adding on a beautiful outside patio in the back. Unbelievably it turned out cheaper to have the wedding there then in my parent's backyard. The bonus was the bar took care of everything.




Four years ago on August 24, my Dad passed away. My Dad was human and had his own faults to the end. As a Dad, he was the greatest. He taught me so many wonderful things about human nature.

He instilled in me the knowledge that all humans should be treated equally. He showed, by example, a person is never too proud to kneel before God showing your respect for what you believe in.



The day I married my husband I needed my Dad to lean on. Being my second marriage, the first going horribly wrong, I will admit I was scared. My Dad made sure I was doing the right thing before he proudly walked me down the church aisle.

Rumors have it my flowers could be seen shaking. One person might have placed a bet on if there would be any petals left on the flowers by the time I made it to the alter. Lucky for the flowers it was a short aisle.



In front of God, family, and many friends I married my husband.




This year the anniversary of my Dad's death hit me hard. Hubby and I were to go out for dinner and I wasn't up for it. For whatever reason, this was the year I finally am letting myself mourn my Fathers passing.

When he died I had to take care of my Mom who had never lived on her own in her life. When I finally came back home after making sure Mom would be okay, I was too exhausted to feel anything.

Dad is with me each day as I look down at my hands and see his wedding ring on my finger. He still gives me strength when I need it most and reminds me of all the wonderful things he taught me while growing up.




Twenty-three years later, through good times and bad, for better and for worse, in sickness and in health, I know I married the perfect man for me. We are not perfect. We don't sing through our days like in the movies or some romance book. We are there for each other to hold the other up when we can not stand on our own.

My husband has shown me that it is okay to disagree loudly with each other. Arguing is part of life, it isn't the end of a marriage. He has shown me what marriage really means.

Over twenty-three years my husband has become my rock. He kept his promise to my Dad the day we got married. I am a better person having my husband in my life even when he drives me slightly insane. 😹



If I have been a tad absent from Steem, now you know why. It was finally my time to mourn my Dad's passing with my whole soul.

It was also time to take a good look at my marriage and see it for what it really is. Two people living their lives together, counting on each other no matter what. I made a perfect choice 23 years ago. No more looking back.



Help someone smile today. It can not hurt you.


Love,

Snook



All Photos are Mine, @Snook



Steem Witness's I support

Enginewitty!, Jackmiller!, Guiltyparties!, C0ff33a / Deranged!

The STEEM Engine

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  

You were such a beautiful bride... and I agree love is not perfection, love is an enduring flawed thing that stands through misfortunes and storms, arguing in fact is necessary if both parts have a voice. I'm sorry about your dad passing away, mine died also some years ago, though I loved him and I "hope" he did as well, he was not a rock I could ever hold on to.

Thank you <3

I am sorry to hear about your Dad. hugs

Not gonna lie, that made me cry a little bit. Or um, dust - like, in the wind and shit.

dust. let's go with dust. I have it too <3

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank You!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you!!

those two events truly make the 24th bittersweet for you.

it does.......

Hello lovely lady! :D

You were a beautiful bride and your dad looked so dapper in his wedding garb as he walked you down the aisle. :D I'm sorry you lost your dad and on your anniversary too, its good that you finally took the time to mourn him though, now the healing can begin. :D Hopefully your future anniversaries will bring you nothing but joy and fond memories. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Thank you!!! and yes, it was what I needed to do.
Thank you always for your heartwarming words.

You're most welcome lovely lady! :D

Its my pleasure my friend, thank you for always making me smile. :D God bless! :D

It looks like a beautiful wedding...
And you made a gorgeous bride
Thank you for sharing this special part of your life with us
<33

Thank you for stopping by. <3

I was so touched by the moments you took to share with us. I send you peace that your soul finds it. Love you

Love you!! and Thank you for being You!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01