The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Three

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is a candid recollection of my memories working at Kwiksave (the now defunct discount supermarket chain) as a ‘Stock Lad’.

I wasted over FOUR years of my life in this horrible dump, and still wake up with nightmare's occasionally thinking I'm still there.

Some of the names have been slightly changed simply to save my arse in case anyone takes offence at some of the details regarding my facts or opinions. Many of the people mentioned are now dead as this happened so long ago, but their siblings are not.

This will be a multi-part article as there is simply too much to tell in one sitting. I hope you find it as entertaining as I found recalling it from my brain.


Other articles in the series:
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part One
The Kwiksave Chronicles of Slobberchops - Part Two


Kwiksave.jpg
Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:KwikSave,Church_Lane-geograph.org.uk-_350688.jpg


‘Some kids are best left to fend for themselves, and others were born to stack shelves’ – Steven Wilson


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

CarpetSave was at the front of the Kwiksave store and they rented store space from the supermarket.

The guy who owned CarpetSave, Clive Nuttall was extremely tall and walked with a permanent limp. He seemed to think of me as a nuisance and employed at least two other people.

One was named ‘Mike’ and seemed to run the upstairs branch of CarpetSave, though he didn’t appear to do very much.

Mike was a rather dopey character whom I couldn’t seem to connect with. He spent most of his life partially sleeping as customers upstairs were rather a rare breed.


sleepydude.JPG
Source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/charlesfred/14025781060

The other staff member was named Iain Smithson, who would later become a stock lad himself. At this time he was a YTS (Youth Opportunities Scheme) employee AKA a slave. Clive named him ‘Boy’, and the name somewhat stuck.

Clive has now retired and I have heard has sadly died due to a condition that was related to his height. I have nothing bad to say about this guy, he was one of the good ones.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

I didn’t get to know any of the members of the booze store as they never seemed to venture upstairs to the canteen area.

There was also a greengrocer’s shop at the bottom end of the supermarket ran by an aging man named ‘Sid’. Sid was quite a character and very approachable. He did get rather fed up of me frequently screaming, ‘Siddddeneyyyyy’ from the back shop which overlooked his storage area. I was rather annoying in those days.

Let me explain the ‘Back Shop’. This was an area where all the goods were kept. Generally pallets full of boxes which contained mostly non-perishable food.

Twice a week a huge truck would arrive sporting the words ‘Kwiksave’. Myself, Mort and the truck driver had to empty the contents which were on pallets into the back shop, aka storage area. It was usually very untidy and somewhat akin to the picture below.


Messy_storage_room_with_boxes.jpg
Source: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/3/39/Messy_storage_room_with_boxes .jpg

The Back Shop had a roofing area which overlooked Sid’s greengrocer back area. From this vantage point I sometimes used to taunt Sid. He mostly thought of me as a mindless moron. There was also a walk in fridge which contained the overspill stock of pies, pasties, cheese, yoghurts and basically any other perishable foods.

Sometimes I used to sneak in here when I knew Mort was otherwise engaged somewhere to eat a sneaky pasty. My lesson from Asda had still not been learned at this point.

The back shop was also used to store ‘damages’. Damages were damaged goods. Smashed jars of jam, opened packets of biscuits, out of date Mr Kipling cakes, packs of sugar that had been slashed open… you get the picture?

I was warned early in my Kwiksave career by Carrot, not to eat damages, however I sometimes did.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

Mort sometimes used to offer to sell me out of date cakes for less than the original value. I did buy them sometimes, but I can’t quite shake the feeling that the miserable bastard just pocketed the money himself.

As well as regular goods deliveries, frozen goods were part of the stock at Kwiksave. They arrived in a separate consignment. Handling large boxes of frozen goods is not funny at all. For example a box of frozen peas contains around 24 large packets of the goods, a load of ice, they are solid and heavy.


chips.JPG
Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Frozen_French_Fries_1 .jpg

Unlike most other goods, the frozen goods were not kept in boxes, they had to be emptied and placed in nice piles so the customers could access them easily. Without any gloves I was expected to empty a full pallet of frozen goods into one of around 12 large chest freezers on the shop floor.

I hated this job, my hands went numb and I still shiver thinking about those memories.

The excess items had to be stored in a walk in-freezer next to Sid’s place. Whoa Betide if you ever got locked in there, death would come swiftly.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

The worst delivery however was the dreaded Sugar truck. I used to literally fear this delivery which was around once every two weeks. You see unlike the big delivery, the one with ‘Kwiksave’ written on the side, also known as ‘the load’, the sugar truck was an independent operator.

Most delivery vehicles have a platform, you place the pallet full of goods onto the platform, the driver presses a button and the hydraulic vehicle loading platform goes up or down.

Not so with the sugar truck. This vehicle even by standard of 1981 was positively ancient and did not have a loading platform. Now you might think sugar is light and easy to transport, not so!


sugar.JPG
Source: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Sugar,_Downpatrick,_September_2010 .jpg

Sugar is packed into thick brown paper for transportation. In this paper there are 24 x 1kg bags, so that’s 24kg per brown bag. The sugar guy seemed to take intense pleasure throwing a bag that is 24k in weight from his truck, to a hapless me at the bottom for me to stack on a pallet.

Around 60 bags later, I was bruised and red faced with the sheer effort needed to keep up with the grinning sugar bloke who just kept repeating every now and again, ‘Come on you wimp, it’s not that bad’.

These bags come down with speed, jolt into your arms, and then hit your chest at speed. These days this would not be allowed with all the health and safety checks…, but in 1981 it was the Wild West.

I still get nightmares about the sugar truck, shudder.


shopping-3225130_960_720_sml.jpg

Source: Source: https://pixabay.com/en/shopping-cart-man-woman-running-3225130/


To be continued...


All stock photographs I have used are filtered as ‘Labelled for reuse’ or 'Labelled for noncommercial reuse' and the sources have been cited.


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

My study resembles the back-shop picture.

My dad worked for a company who sold agricultural products. I couldn’t believe how warehousemen and drivers used to throw 25kg sacks of grain around.

Blimey, this brings back memories.
One of my first jobs was as a branch personnel officer with a well-known supermarket chain, also the branch safety officer. I was a pain in the arse insisting that the fresh meat trades assistants wore chainmail gloves when they used the bandsaw, warehouse assistants didn't climb on the racking and the night security chains were taken off the fire doors when there were people in the building.
Amazing that these supermarkets used to have a warehouse (or back shop) large enough to hold a week's worth of stock - imagine how much money was tied up in that all over the country.
I would have made sure that you had freezer gloves 😎.

You must have worked at one of the bigger chains such as Asda. I know they had fresh meat counters and did have some safety checks.

At Kwiksave, 'branch safety officer' was not a position held by anyone. They didn't exist, believe me!

I managed to escape the place eventually without getting frostbite.

Staff and managers alike blithely ignored the safety regulations. It was a recurring nightmare that someone would get caught in a fire in the warehouse and not be able to get out because the security chains had been left on the fire doors. Glad you made your escape!

That Mort is really a fascinating type. A modern Mephistopheles.

Only being familiar with a certain Magic card I had to look up this character.

'Although Mephistopheles appears to Faustus as a demon – a worker for Lucifer – critics claim that he does not search for men to corrupt, but comes to serve and ultimately collect the souls of those who are already damned' - from Wikipedia

If he came for me, then he failed to collect my damned soul as you will find out in shortly in Part 4.

After that I will need to start writing again as my original material is almost extinguished.

I was thinking of the mephisto of Goethe's Faust. Not really a match for his unruly assignment. That will make you Faust!

I thought that regulations around labour these day's are a bit overdone. But a recap of the early day's (the sugar) makes me reconsider that :)

Wow! That is horrible about the sugar truck. I can't even imagine. I am sure we all had our annoying phase when we were younger :) Did you have to price anything? I just wondered since the cashiers were supposed to memorize the prices if anything had prices on them?

No there were no prices, it was all memory work by the cashiers. I don't know how they managed it.

I don't even know him but you are definitely right that Mort kept the money for the spoiled food.

Mort had what was coming to him, stay tuned for the next episode.

You got me reading there and I would read back thru parts 1 and 2. Out of every supermarket there is a back story behind it all and I never thought about it. Can't imagine it was like hell back then.

Thanks for visiting. They were indeed dire times and I'm trying to open my brain and get all those moments out. Ill be continuing it next week.

It amazing how vividly you described your experience. Will be looking forward what happens to the guy who has been selling you the old stuff.

Omg Kwik Save that brings back some memories, ok first off laughed so much at the sugar delivery story that was fantastic, secondly no frills brand man my cupboards were full of black and white goodness.

‘Come on you wimp, it’s not that bad’

Why do i imagine that guy as an big bearded pirate look alike?
But i know that rough work. Used to work as a bricklayer with my father. The only thing i had to do, is to bring up the bricks through tiny windows in the 4 party.

Chances are that money you gave for eatables (past their due date) was pocketed by that guy but isn't it like a policy of the manufacturers that their expired product be returned so they can make sure to destroy it?

I actually was just wondering that some people get a lot misery from the loopholes in the system while a lot of others exploit it for their benefit. Your time spent at this place was a like a mini version of a human life span :-)

I'm quite sure Mort did pocket the money, he was all heart. However time was running out for him as you will read in the next exciting episode ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81