💬 FREEWRITING CHALLENGE: DAY 2

in #life7 years ago (edited)

“Some people never go crazy. What truly horrible lives they must lead.”
― Charles Bukowski

What do I have today? Just some rant about what happened yesterday.

The cryptocurrency just all went red and for some reason I started to fear for my money. But somehow I found a diversion. I stopped looking at my phone and start studying hard core physics like quantum field theory just to forget the idea of my money going to the drain. With this kind of act, I learn one thing. I am more happy doing physics than any other act I've than in my entire life.

I like solving the mathematical craziness of indices in tensor notations, the importance of basic principles applied properly in simple problems. I started to realize that, maybe, yeah just maybe - physics is for me. I am more happy doing physics than happy having a lot of money at disposal.

Just this New Year, I spent my New Year at home. We had the money. I mean, we have a big store earning a lot. The money that I started counting doesn't even into my core of psychology. It was a barren feeling, having a lot of money cannot make me happy. It was the most profound and transformational thought I ever had. MONEY CANNOT MAKE ME HAPPY. It was with this line of thought that I started to ponder on the true meaning of happiness and these is what I came of with:

Happiness is the absence of worry.

Simple, but it has a deep implication. If you are a fan of The Lion King, the idea of Hakuna Matata would start to make sense. The basic concept of being worry-free is the very essence of happiness. The possession of a lot of money only remove one aspect of our life - we become worry-free of our materialistic worry. But there are more aspect of life. We have the health aspect, the spiritual aspect, the purposeful aspect.

The idea of having a direction in life and creating impact is another important aspect in life. It's something that daily cryptocurrency cannot do. Yes, cryptocurrency can make us a tonne of money. But what values of life are we creating or what aspect of life are we improving looking at the price every second and every hour of the day.

Life is not about the more-and-more of something. It's about more and more of someone. Yes, someone - like friends, family, cousins, playmate, workmate. Life is more successful if viewed in this type of window. I started reconnecting with my friends, family members and friends. They are the true "coins" of our life.

After careful thoughs on the effect of cryptocurrency trading on me. I started to accept that I should just hold my coins. Add more if it dips and forget about it for a while. I started to promise to myself not to be consumed by the thoughts of cryptocurrency and would rather focus more on skill sets.

Skill sets that gaves more value to the real world has more value as a psychological currency of happiness than a thousand Trons.


Want to read my other works?

  1. FREEWRITING CHALLENGE: DAY 1
  2. FOUR GENERATIONAL ARCHETYPES IN STEEMIT
  3. Philippine Architecture

Follow me @sinbad989 a.k.a
valkerie_new_brand.PNG

@originalworks

Sort:  

I LOVE Physics too! and SO true about money not being a source of happiness. To be honest, once our basic needs are being fulfilled - nothing else warrants genuine worry. As long as we are working to create the impact we wish to have on the world, things will take their course to fulfill it. Worry is barrier to us being grateful for where we are. Hakuna Matata on! =)

I couldn't agree more. Physics is life for me, i guess. Welcome to steemit, by the way.

Lion king and Charles Bukowski are the reason I read this article. And I don't regret reading it.

Thanks @abhinavmendhe. They both shaped my perspective on life.

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sinbad989.

You got a 7.69% upvote from @yourwhale courtesy of @sinbad989!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84