Curiosity about some english words that in my language have a different meaning ^_^

in #life7 years ago

As you know, my mother language is Italian and in this post I ant to share with you some curious words that have a different meaning betwween English and Italian ^_^

1. APE

In English is:

 A large primate that lacks a tail, including the gorilla, chimpanzees, orangutan, and gibbons. (source

In Italy, the APE is a bee ^_^


2.

the SCOTCH

In English is for a scotch whisky (or for something Scotish ^_^), but in Italy is just the word that we use for the adhesive tape .

3.

the FILM

In English is:

 A thin flexible strip of plastic or other material coated with light-sensitive emulsion for exposure in a camera, used to produce photographs or motion pictures (source

In Italian, the film is the movie. We use the word "pellicola" for the light sensitive strip in a camera.

4.

the CAMERA

In English is the device to take photos or video, but here in Italy "camera" is the bedroom.

5.

the FAME

In English the meaning is:

 The state of being known or talked about by many people, especially on account of notable achievements. (source)

In ltaly, when we say "Io ho FAME" meanings "I'm hungry" .

There are other English words that have a very different meaning in English, so you can understand that sometimes we can make mistakes ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia



silvia beneforti
Sort:  

So I am ape-bee,
I see
a bee so free
climbing the tree
bannas and honey are right for me
I am as happy as can be :)

  • very cool :)

So nice poem, @sumsum!!!! This is your ape-bee :D

As has been mentioned, "film" is used in British English to mean "movie".

Some words also retain their latinate roots: "famished" means to be very hungry; "apiary" is a place to keep bees.

On Italian words that have recently entered the English language, I find "latte" the most annoying - if you order that in Italy you'll be given a glass of milk! I assume it means either caffe' latte or latte macchiato.

Wow! I thought I knew a little bit about Italian and boy was I wrong! You totally just taught me a couple of new things. Thanks for explaining some of the difference that you are aware of @silviabeneforti!

You're welcoe, @ozhiya ^_^

Hi my friend! I don't know Italian language even my aunt living there in long time, i can understand some word like French, i will learn from you then, hahaha, and i will teach you arabic.
Happy weekend.

I would earn a bit of arabic, it's a language with a beautiful sounds!!!

interesting !
so .. if I write an ape went to my camera and took a scotch - it kind'a give you a whole new meaning?

lol :D
Fantastic, simply fantastic!!! I have to sketch a scene or two using your sentence!!! I'll do it! ^_^

Fun is quite often used as a movie here too in Scotland

Good to know! Now I improved my Scottish dictionary ^_^

It is always good to improve that :O)

Really? So when you say let's watch a movie, you say let's watch a fun?

Oh dear, autocorrect error... Film!

Interesting differences. Item number 4 surprised me: the bedroom
and the camera. Thanks for the informative information, Sylvia.

I think I can understand number 2 as scotch is a brand of sticky tape so its probably been used like Fedex for courier or Xerox for photocopying. But given the word scotch is so prominent in UK, nobody would ever think of anything else other than whisky!!

We also say we watch a film meaning a movie, but all the rest are fun especially camera. Now I know, in future when I go to Italy for holiday, I expect I'm going to wonder if there's a camera hidden in my hotel room!😆

In Italy, every hotel had more camera 😆 😆 😆 I have to say that here in Italy we use also some English words, now they are common to use here, but it's really funny to think about the words that have a different meanings for us. Fortunately, the pronunciation is different, so we can mistake them just writing :D

Imagine an Englishwoman trying to learn Italian after she has mastered Greek! Fame means "Let's eat"! I like Greek but I also like the Italian language, it's so musical. I will follow you to see your art. Happy Steeming!

My pleasure. Love Italy love Italians!

Interesting differences. Item number 4 surprised me: the bedroom
and the camera. Thanks for the informative information, Sylvia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60