You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curiosity about some english words that in my language have a different meaning ^_^

in #life7 years ago

I think I can understand number 2 as scotch is a brand of sticky tape so its probably been used like Fedex for courier or Xerox for photocopying. But given the word scotch is so prominent in UK, nobody would ever think of anything else other than whisky!!

We also say we watch a film meaning a movie, but all the rest are fun especially camera. Now I know, in future when I go to Italy for holiday, I expect I'm going to wonder if there's a camera hidden in my hotel room!😆

Sort:  

In Italy, every hotel had more camera 😆 😆 😆 I have to say that here in Italy we use also some English words, now they are common to use here, but it's really funny to think about the words that have a different meanings for us. Fortunately, the pronunciation is different, so we can mistake them just writing :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60