A Sax, a VIC-20 and a Tombstone - Ein Sax, ein VC-20 und ein Grabstein [English/Deutsch]

in #life7 years ago



Dear friends,


I'm sharing above self portrait with you all, because in my opinion it is a perfect match for todays #monochromemonday and #musicmonday.

Back in the days I quite loved my saxophone, which I exchanged for my first Commodore VIC-20 in the former GDR (German Democratic Republic). My aunt and her children lived in the eastern part of Germany during the time it was divided, while I lived in West-Germany.

When my wish of learning to play the sax became evident, I couldn't effort buying a new instrument. On the other hand, people in East-Germany desperately wanted to own a homecomputer. So my Cousin sold the VIC-20 for me and got twice as much money for it as it would cost to buy a saxophone in the GDR. But as everything was very limited there, you could not just go into a shop and buy a saxophone.

Luckily my cousin was able to find a used instrument that had got dusty in someones party-room. So he bought that old silver beauty for me. But how could we bring it out of the country without paying exaggerated taxes?

The trick was that my parents also bought a tombstone for the grave of my grandma, who passed away a few weeks earlier. The customs officials at the border were so flummoxed about someone exporting a heavy stone, that they totally forgot checking the rest on the customs list.

And that way I got my beloved saxophone.

Thanks for passing by!

Liebe Freunde,


heute möchte ich das obige Selbstportrait mit euch teilen, weil es meiner Ansicht nach perfekt zum heutigen #monochromemonday und #musicmonday passt.

Zur Zeit, als das Foto entstanden ist, war ich ziemlich verliebt in mein Saxophon, das ich in der ehemaligen DDR gegen einen Commodore VC-20 getauscht hatte. Meine Tante lebte damals mit ihren Kindern in Ostdeutschland, während ich in West-Deutschland lebte.

Als bei mir der Wunsch aufkam, Saxophon spielen zu lernen, konnte ich mir kein neues Instrument leisten (da ich noch Schüler war). Allerdings waren die Leute in der DDR damals total verrückt danach, einen Heimcomputer zu besitzen. Also hat mein Cousin meinen alten VC-20 für ungefähr das Doppelte von dem verkauft, was man eigentlich für ein Saxophon in der DDR hätte ausgeben müssen. Das Problem war aber, dass man damals so ein Instrument nicht einfach so im Laden kaufen konnte.

Zum Glück fand mein Cousin nach längerer Suche ein altes verstaubtes Sax in einem Partykeller eines Bekannten. Er hat diese silberne Schönheit auch für mich gekauft, aber wie sollten wir das Instrument außer Landes bringen, ohne horrende Steuern (in West-Mark) zahlen zu müssen?

Der Trick war, dass meine Eltern gleichzeitig einen Grabstein für das Grab meiner wenige Wochen zuvor gestorbenen Oma in der DDR anfertigen ließen. Die Zollbeamten an der Grenze waren dermaßen perplex, dass jemand einen schweren Grabstein außer Landes bringen wollte, dass sie total vergessen haben, den Rest auf der Zoll-Liste zu kontrollieren.

Und so kam ich schließlich zu meinem heißgeliebten Saxophon.

Danke für's Vorbeischauen!


@shortcut
Sort:  

Was für eine tolle Geschichte mein Lieben, wie sie nur das Leben schreibt.
Schön das du deinen Traum so erfüllen konntest und das mit Erinnerungen die man nie mehr vergisst, dass macht es doch noch wertvoller.

Hab deine Geschichte direkt mal geteilt, gern mehr davon :)

Vielen Dank, liebe Rachel! Freut mich, dass dir die Geschichte gefallen hat und dass du sie mit deinen Lesern geteilt hast :-)

It's just crazy how complicated things were back in the day. Simple things like getting a saxophone. We bitch and moan today about so many things, but if we look back in the day we can see how much easier our lives are. Smuggling a saxophone with a grandmothers tombstone VS whining about not getting an upvote from a whale.

P.S. Quite i hairstyle you've got back in the day mate lol

Correct, I absolutely agree about those whining for not getting what you think you deserve. Maybe that's the reason why I started looking for creative solutions, because I didn't always get what I wanted.

I guess the last time I went to a barber was before I left my parents home. From that time on, I always cut my hair by myself. Some people like it, some don't - I just don't care too much about it ;-)

I was shaving my head for good five years :) just recently i had some hair grow back for a change. Do not know how long that will last :)

100% upvote - tolle Einblicke in deine Vergangenheit - großartiges Foto!

Danke dir ;-) Freut mich, dass dir der Beitrag gefallen hat.

Und haste das Sax noch ? Achja die ersten Instrumente sind schon was absolut besonderes ! Danke für den Post und im Ernst der gute Jim Morrison und du seid euch Mal extrem ähnlich :)

Danke, ich fühle mich geschmeichelt ;-) Leider musste ich das Sax ein paar Jahre später verkaufen, als es bei mir einmal finanziell sehr eng war. Ich werde es aber niemals vergessen.

I thought it was a picture of Jim Morrison. Good story !

Haha, thanks for the compliment ;-)

You were very charming in your younger age. Saxophone seems very difficult to learn.

Thanks, it's not as hard to learn as playing the trumpet for example, but I wasn't really able to get over some jamming! For me it was a tool to express myself rather than actually play someone else's songs.

That is your true love for saxophone.

;-) Yes, music was my first love...

That is really very cool.

its about the Jim Morrison! nice post!

This post has received a 23.93 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @roused

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43