It's Christmas and we're still missing you, Tatay :-(

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Christmas is just around the corners. Nobody can't stop it, as the song goes "tuloy pa rin ang pasko".


(Photo credits: printscreen)

It will be our second Christmas and New Year's Celebration, without our tatay (father). The moment we lost him last year, our lives were never the same again.
BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

We celebrated the holidays last year, with a heavy heart. Of course, Christmas is the season to be jolly and everyone is happy and celebrating it to the full. But for us who have incomplete family, be it a loss of a loved one or an OFW, celebrating these holidays, are never the same. We continue to miss them and wished they were still with us. I feel you, those who have lost loved ones. And believe me when I tell you, that it is indeed, so hard to go on, so hard to move on.

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

I thank God that my tatay is with the Lord already, no more pain, no more tears. He is now in a much better place. But his presence will always be missed by us. We have a not-so-perfect father and daughter relationship, just like the others, but I am sure that my tatay loved me and my ading (brother). We're not that showy of our affection but we do love our tatay. Yes, I do have some regrets, though. I have planned to treat him out for dinner before, but due to some unavoidable circumstances, it did not materialize. I wish I had a time machine, to turn back time. As of this writing, my eyes were already filled with tears. I just couldn't help it. I terribly miss my tatay so much, specially this holidays, you know, we don't have that much, we don't go out of the country or out of town to celebrate the holidays, but we are happy and contented because we have each other back then, we are complete. We don't have the most delicious and sumptuous foods on our table, but we eat together during the holidays, back then. I am certain that I am already in my old self again, missing my tatay and wishing he was still here, with us.

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

It's been a year already, but those painful and sorrowful pictures on my mind get clearer and more visible to me. I do not hate this feeling whenever the Yuletide season gets near, it's just that I embrace it and accept it because, it has become a part of my being already. I cannot just forget about those times, when I was still looking after him and relieving my nanay in the hospital. It's a part of me and I cannot do anything about it. But I am moving on, we all are, by God's grace. There were also times, in my prayer that I am asking God, why didn't He extend his life even just after his 69th birthday. I pleaded God for this but He was deaf to my prayer back then. I still don't know His purpose, He has not yet revealed to me, but I keep trusting Him, His heart and His will, for me and for my family.

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

I don't know how others in the same situation like us, process their suffering and pain of losing a loved one. There is one thing I know for sure. They continue to trust and obey God. Yes, this is always easier said than done, but it's also the only way to move on. God created our feet to move forward and not backward. So with our life, no matter how sad or how bad things turned out, we need to move on. No matter how hard we fall, we need to get up.

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

I am writing this entry today because I feel empty and heavy and I really miss my tatay again. It's Christmas, the time, a perfect time for families all around the world, regardless of religious beliefs, customs, traditions, colors, anything, come together to just celebrate it and spend time with each other. I know that it is Christmas, it is all about love, giving, caring, and forgiving. A part of me tells me too, that Christmas, is not only just being with the family, it is also giving a part of us to them whom we love and cherished the most. So for this coming season, I know a part of me is missing because, I've given it to my tatay. I will always miss him as long as I live and I will always have this feeling of incompleteness because he is not with us physically anymore.

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

I am very sorry to make you sad about this post. I do hope that you understand my predicament. It is very hard to lose a loved one and during the holidays, we missed them the most. I am sure that some of you can relate to this. So for this coming Christmas, we planned to go to our cousins to bond with them. After all, Christmas will still be Christmas with or without my tatay. It is still the best celebration in the world. Why? Because it is the birth of our Savior Jesus Christ. And the very essence of this joyous event is for us to be united in giving ourselves to others, to share our blessings to them. Let us not allow the sadness and the loss of our loved ones to hinder our giving our love to others, especially this season. Let us continue to give love on Christmas day. In spite of our losses, our pain, our hurt, let us continue to give meaning to Christmas to those who are losing hope, to those who needs our love. Let us continue to celebrate it with our loved ones who are still with us, no matter what. Enjoy our moment with them and cherish every time spent with them.

BlogPostImage
Image Source(direct link to img)

And to all those who are still complete and intact, all the more enjoy it also to the fullest. Don't find the time, instead make time for them. I have made a post about the difference of these two (finding time versus making time). Here's the link for your reference, thank you. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@shirleynpenalosa/family-matters-most

Merry Christmas to all of you, from my family, the Navarro and Peñalosa Family. :-)

Thank you for stopping by and God bless us all :-)

@surpassinggoogle is such a generous person and has a very big heart for all of us here. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Other good witnesses to recommend:

@paradise-found
@teamsteem
@blocktrades
@curie
@cloh76.witness
@rcarter.witness
@reggaemuffin
@arcange

They need our support


Badge created by sir @iwrite

Sort:  

This post is very thoughtful. It is an important post.
I would like to "spotlight" this post at my #gratefulvibes Challenge blog.
I will let you know, thanks again for your heart of love!!
YES - my friend, this post is "in the spotlight" today at my #gratfulvibes challenge blog.
I hope you like what I wrote, this is important material. Thank you!!

thank you very much po, papa bear :-)

Hello @shirleynpenalosaitschristmasandwe
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been spotted by @shirleynpenalosa to possess rare gem!

So what can we do than to seal the deal, give you our tiny upvote and celebrate you, for everyone has something to offer.

We welcome you to the #untalented family. Feel free to come around for its a home with us. Flaws allowed, so relegate reservations and play with that beautiful mind of yours, let's tap into more hidden aspects of you. No average, no bum, just awesome you and the best version of YOU is a gift to humanity everytime. Stay awesome!

Join the steemgigs community on discord

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.

However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs in the first search box.

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

thank you po :-)

Merry CHRISTmas Ma'am. di kita kanina (",)..

Merry Christmas sir :-) inton bigaten ta i detalyadok to amin hahahah :-D

I feel you, sis. Basta...have a blessed Christmas, wen.

thank you sis :-) Blessed Christmas to you and your family too :-)

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

thank you very much :-)

This post has received gratitude of 0.84 % from @appreciator thanks to: @paradise-found.

thank you so much :-)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shirleynpenalosa to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thank you so much :-)

Sis. tuloy and buhay ika nga.
kaya natin at kakayanin kahit mahirap at wala na sila
mahalaga nakasama natin sila..
Maligayang pasko sa iyo at iyong pamilya.

Kaya yan:):) xoxo

maraming salamat po....naiyak tuloy ako sa reply mo mam :-) God bless your heart po and thank you for stopping by :-) Merry Christmas po :-)

kaya natin yan maam, wag lang susuko at bibigay!
check ko po post ni papa bear:) nasa spotlight
Maligayang pasko sayo!

opo mam maraming salamat :-) Maligayang Pasko din po sa iyo at sa family mo mam :-)

sa inyo den po maam, steemit na lang sis para malibang hehehe
God bless your family xoxo

You are right. Christmas can be a very sad time when you lose a loved one. I lost my loving husband and my sons lost their father two years ago. Christmas is still sad for us, so we try to do a few new traditions so that it doesn't hurt so much. Each year the pain becomes a little less be we will never forget them. They will always be in our hearts. So, try to smile and carry on. Have the best Christmas that you can. Happy Holidays.

I am very sorry to hear that po....Yes, you're right po and as long as we live, they will always be missed, in every occasions, or holidays...Thank you so much for stopping by and have a blessed Christmas to you and to your wonderful family po :-)

That was a very beautiful post, especially with all those lovely photos. I know what you mean because I think of my grandma. She passed just before my 21st birthday and I've missed her every day since. I got myself to carry on because I knew that is what she would expect of and want for me. She was a very strong and wonderful woman, my friend, my confident, my sounding board whenever I was upset, my favorite sanctuary, my favorite baker, my grandma. :D Your post made me both sad and happy, ending on happy, thank you for that. :D
Merry Christmas to you and your beautiful family. :D God bless you all. Have an awesome day! :D

Thank you so much for stopping by po :-) Yes it's so hard to move on but it's the only way for us to heal each day. They will never be forgotten as long as we live because they are forever in our hearts. I am sorry to hear about your grandma...God bless you and your wonderful family and have a blessed Christmas :-)

You're welcome, it was my pleasure. :D Is "po" friend in your language or another word? Its true, they are always with us in our hearts and memories. :D Thank you, I miss her all the time but I try to remember the positive memories and let the sad ones just float away out of focus. :D
MERRY CHRISTMAS! God bless you and your fantastic family. :D Have an awesome day. :D

"po" is a Filipino term and it is a sign of respect for people with high positions, in authority as well as the elderly, po :-) We always end our sentence with a "po" or "opo" when we converse with our parents, teachers, older brothers and sisters. Thank you so much, in our language is: "Maraming salamat po" :-)

Very neat, now I've learned a new word and a new phrase. :D So, maraming salamat po my friend. :D

Wala pong anuman, kaibigan :-) in English : You are welcome, my friend :-)

Sweet, now I've got a new phrase, I probably won't pronounce it right, but at least I know how to say it. :D Maraming salamat po, kabigan, for teaching it to me. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43