๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ Motivation Nightly #5: What DREAMS and REAL SUCCESS is Made Of! Advice From Experience! ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

in #life โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)

It's all a matter of choosing the same future every single day until it becomes your reality! Good evening friends and lurkers on Steemit! My name is Sheryl, but call me Shello! Tonight's Motivation Nightly is taking things up a notch, as we dive into what goes into high level success. I also show you a little more about my personal life, and my past achievements, to give everyone a little more understanding to where I'm coming from.

I have what it takes, do you?

1.png

Dreaming in Steemit

When you heard about Steemit, you were drawn to a possible future, one where you become a successful blogger making amazing amounts of money, just writing about what you like. Like everyone at some point, I ran into lower payouts than desired and started to question myself. It wasn't that I didn't trust Steemit, as my first posts made more than I thought they would. I didn't trust myself yet, to be able to consistently dedicate my time, energy, and soul to such a long term project. It's simple. You want consistently decent gains? Then be prepared to put in consistently decent efforts first. A lot easier said.

You Are Working For Free

Don't believe me? Look at your posts from the past week. How did they do? Did you make a few cents per post, or maybe even a few dollars? That's how it's going to be for a long time, the system works properly. If you don't have enough posts to reference then go bookmark this page and come back when you do. If everyone could become a pro blogger, Steemit would literally run out of funding to support this project.

You're basically working for free, with the hopes that one day in a future far from now, your worth as an author gets recognized and rewarded. You become the success story. You have to hone your skills so well, and keep at it so long, that it becomes absurd that you aren't getting paid. So absurd, that someone decides to pay you for it. Then, you have to go even longer. If you don't think your work is mind shattering, no one else will see it either. The reason why many of the people who have joined Steemit will never reach this level of success, is because they give up before anything can come back to them.

Never Give Up

I try hard to avoid using outside images, but today I will make a special exception. This is my favorite motivational image- all time, that everyone has seen. It shows a tired man turning around after all of his hard work, the moment before a break through. If he knew when success would strike, do you think he would have stopped trying? That's the truth about most of the bloggers on Steemit, or anywhere. If you don't go all the way, you get nothing, and eventually someone else will.


You Have To Put In More Than You're Willing

And you have to compromise other things if you want to be successful at something. It has to be more important than anything else in your life, and you have to be okay with not getting any credit for it, but always putting in your best work regardless. Even when you're tired, even when you're ill, even if... you don't want to. Think about the one person that always wants to see your new stuff, and everyday when they check, it's there smiling back at them. When some of your blogs don't do great, it's going to hurt bad- but it should be seen one of your many small failures along your path to success.

Trying ESPECIALLY When No One is Watching

Last year, I had 300 friends on Facebook. It was a laughable number since I had been in nightclub promotion for 10+ years. Oahu is tight knit, and reputation is everything. I saw many of my friends have lists of over a thousand people, and instead of focusing on being jealous, I decided that I wanted my online presence to be just as strong as it is in real life.

I rewrote my bio, screened and removed all of my offensive posts, and started to work towards taking good pictures of myself. I had 15-20 different messenger windows opened at all times in active convos, and would comment on anything if I thought it was cool or could find something to say. Two of my friends that I knew in person had maxxed out lists, so I looked at what they were doing and how I could improve my image. I was beyond surprised when one day I logged on and had over 500 friend requests from different people all over the world. Now when I post anything, chaos ensues c:

To everyone who doesn't know about the kind of efforts I had put in leading up to this, you would think it magic- or I'm hacking. I get comments from people that have known me for a long time and everyone says; "wow! You're so popular!" Even one of my friends who became a rapper in Korea releasing albums asked me tips on how to get a following out of nowhere.

What I did was everything that other people would not be willing to do. To get the kind of success other people don't have, you have to do the things that these "sane"people aren't going to try. Funniest part about this post, is that every person who commented KNOWS I'm going to reply. Some people are trolling hard, making references, or are sharing inside jokes with me.

I only saw the end goal, and right now.

If you can focus all your energy on the things you can do right now, how magic things happen won't even matter. My facebook may not be impressive to you, but considering that I don't have a brand, or something I'm promoting, being able to have a following for just existing is an impressive feat. People try to advertise with me, and I'm trying to figure out what I want to use my public figure page (3k likes) for.


Skills Take YEARS to Develop and Payoff

Last year, while I was arcading- I happened to bump into an old friend of mine at a Dave n Busters. His name is Jordan, but he's known as Tokyoboi on twitch. You may know him for his blindfolded speed runs of Zelda games (

)! The first thing he did when he saw me was ask me to learn a song to play with him on the popular rhythm game, Dance Dance Revolution. He reasoning was that it had to be me. After two practice sessions, we came up with this and put it on youtube.

Now what we don't tell you is the only agreement we made was the switching in the middle of the song, everything else was either choreographed independently, or we improvised it on the spot. It didn't look that hard for us to do.

We also don't say that we've both been playing for 15+ years.

Anyone that can make something look easy, has worked harder than you can imagine possible. I remember going to arcades after school by myself everyday to play because I liked the music, I didn't care if no one was watching me- and I didn't do it for any kind of recognition or fame, my first real passion. One day, I got scouted to enter tournaments- I eventually went on to make some money from them.

This is what I do know from experience on why it looked easy. This routine wasn't that hard for us to learn. When I initially learned how to play however, the only goal was to stop dying on every song at the lowest difficulty. But I played everyday and grew a real passion, not once did I ever think; "uh, I have to play today." For Steemit, blogging, or anything, a big factor to whether you succeed or not is if you can do something every single day, that it becomes second nature. Sharp learning curves are at the beginning. Now I have a small fear of arcades, because people pay for my games and drinks just to watch me play.


Prove Your Worth

@cryptoctopus wrote a great post recently IF I WAS A MINNOW ON STEEMIT I WOULD... - PART 2 He brought up a point that I fully back, that you are going to have to be in the top 10% and outshine 90% of users here if you want to succeed. My genuine advice is to do what you love and let the post ideas come to you. For me, I was already doing all of the things I did, far before even hearing about Steemit. You need experiences to bring here. If your life is boring, go make it interesting. It won't just improve your posts, but it improves you too.


Harsh Reality

I follow a youtuber by the name of Kubera, you guys might know him as @avilsd! One thing that separates him from other crypto-bloggers is that he also wants to help more people succeed in whatever they do. The work is hard, but if you can get to the right mentality it becomes easier. In one of his videos, he goes off on an "unrelated tangent" where he tells it as it is. Skip to 10 minutes in, and you'll see that when he's talking to his viewers, the place he's coming from is the magical one, where he's already seen some of his own dreams come true in the past, and knows what it takes to get there.

He lays out how much you have to do in terms of getting on the right path, and says that 99% of people won't follow through. Kubera also explains that you aren't going to make anything, for a long long time. That's why most people give up, it's a long process where gains won't immediately show. Just like my dance video, the only way to make unbelievable things happen, is to put in insane amounts of work and bust ass everyday for it. You need to be willing to do any and everything to plant seeds toward success, and know that it will take years.

I'm still new to Steemit, but the few posts that went over $100 don't show me that I can make quick money. What they show me is that I possess long-term potential and was shown a glimpse of what I can do.

One Question You Need To Ask Yourself

Are you willing to give everyday to the future you want, and place its importance above everything else? You can do something for a long time and never improve if your heart isn't in it. Your desire directly reflects in your quality, if you aren't all there- it will show. You need to work hard enough that there isn't time left to slack, and love it so much that you don't want to.

I hope that I can help some Steemians take away something from this, and that everyone can spend some time evaluating what you want, and if it's worth it to you. I'm going to leave you guys tonight with a song that inspires me to continue striving, and give it my all. My real goal being here is to show you guys the impossible, and inspire others to do the same.

Sort: ย 

It's true. Most people don't want to hear it, but you have to put in the time and the love - and really visualize what it is that you're wanting. I think you have to get to the emotional center of what you're trying to do, whether it's financial freedom or fulfillment or love and connection. It's all good, but you have to own it and get really tuned in to that feeling.

Hello @solarsupermama, it's really true that in order to achieve it, you have to see it and it will show in your actions too. I'm still in the process of owning my world fully, and there should be no letting up. Thanks for stopping by, and I hope that you enjoyed this one c:

@shello

Absolutely. I really appreciate your voice. It's a fun and interesting perspective.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shello from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51