The Parable of the Three Frogs - - The Word "Decision" Implies Action

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Earlier today, I had the opportunity to hear a young woman share her personal story of recovery.  She said something that resonated with me.  I did a simple Google search, and found that it is a sort of classic parable.  
So . . . here goes:



Source

Three frogs are sitting on a log.

One of the frogs decides that he is going to jump off.

How many frogs are left?


If you said three, you would be correct.  A decision is just that, a decision.  It must be backed up with action.  I can decide that I am going to be the best chess player in the Western Hemisphere . . and still be last in the standings.  I have to study the various openings.  Watch videos of other championship games. (yes, there are actually chess videos out there)  Study my opponents.  Practice.  Train.  Dedicate myself to growing stronger in my aptitudes and abilities on the chess board.  If there is no action behind the decision, it's only dust in the wind.

Source

I'm not taking away from the importance of the frog deciding to jump off the log.  True enough, the decision has to happen prior to the actual jumping.  Well, unless there is a strong gust of wind, some force of nature, or a predator nearby, but you get what I mean.

Agree?  Disagree?  Shoot me a comment and let me know what you think.  


Sort:  

nice thoughts.
@shawnfishbit

It's all about actions. You have to choose carefully how you use your time and energy in your lifespam because both are limited. I like the chess analogy because I can relate to it. Here's why. When I was 7 my father taught me how to play chess. At 9 I beat one of my uncles in 10 moves and he was genually pissed to be beaten by a kid (I used a variation of the sheppeard trick). I knew at that time I could be good at this if I dedicated time to it, but decided later to pursue other interests. There is still 3 frogs even if they are on the log or not.....

Muy buenas fotos!!! dejo mi voto!

If one of them was actually to jump, the possibility of the two remaining there would be less, because they would follow, for a reason or another. :)

Yea. Kinda like the old Lemming video games.

This post has received a 8.18 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @shawnfishbit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50