Crypto > Venmo - Making my first payment to someone in a Cryptocurrency! Which one will I choose?

in #life6 years ago

After a year of trying I have finally got someone to purchase some cypto!!

For almost a year I have been trying to get my best friend Matt to get involved, learn about, and purchase some cryptos.

Matt and I have been the best of friends since we met sophomore year of college. We were both entrepreneurship and finance double majors and took many classes together challenging each other.

In a little over two months I will be a groomsmen in Matt's wedding! For the wedding, Matt got a great deal on the tuxedo and instead of renting it, we bought them. Well Matt bought them and we were paying him back. Naturally, I was the last one to pay him back.

Instead of sending him a check or venmo-ing him some money, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to get Matt into the cryptosphere.

There wasn't much convincing that needed to be done with Matt as he was on board immediately for us! It was a win-win for both us!

Matt would get some cryptocurrencies and I would get him introduced to them.

Once he agreed to this, the next thing I needed to decide on was what cryptocurrency would I choose and why. There really wasn't much thinking at all that I needed to do about which crypto Matt would be getting.

To me the answer was a no-brainer as there has been one cryptocurrency that has stood out in my mind.

SmartCash ($Smart)

SmartCash is based on the Zerocoin protocol, similar to Zcoin and PIVX, which provides additional anonymity. My favorite part about SmartCash is how they have structured the payouts for mining the coin. Unlike bitcoin which rewards the miners with 100% of the payouts, SmartCash gives 70% to the Hive Teams for community outreach/projects and 30% to the miners, SmartRewards, and Smartnodes.

The Smartnodes (masternodes) and SmartRewards are what have me so interested in this project.

SmartRewards are basically a reward for those who hold the coin long term and help to promote price stability. If you hold over 1000 coins in your wallet you are eligible for the SmartReward as long as you don't spend any SmartCash from that address. For more information on SmartRewards and to calculate your reward for the current month visit their site.

Smartnodes are basically a computer that run a wallet and make decisions related to transactions! In order to have a Smartnode you need 10,000 coins, which at current prices is about $7,000. For running a smartnode you are paid 10% of the block reward.

As you can tell I am a SmartCash nerd, but let's get to the fun stuff! Purchasing the Smart so Matt can get paid and it is verified on the blockchain (thanks Steem!)

This was not the easiest process since SmartCash is not on the main exchange I use. Since the transaction fees of Bitcoin are insanely high at the First I needed to purchase some Dogecoin. I set a buy order and it got filled a few hours later.

Now I have the Doge in my Bittrex Wallet and it is time to send it Stocks.exchange to purchase the $Smart

Withdrawal from Bittrex was confirmed and they took a small fee! 2 Doge - Not too bad!

After a few minutes the transaction was confirmed on the blockchain and the deposit is now available on the exchange.

In order to purchase the Smart I had to convert the doge to BTC as Stocks.exchange does not have a Smart/Doge trading pair.

My sell order for Doge was successful and now I have BTC in my wallet so I can purchase the $Smart

I set a buy order for the SmartCash and after 30 minutes or so it was it!! SUCCESS!!

After calling him and telling him about this, he said he wants to get up to 1,000 so he is eligible for the SmartRewards!! It looks like he has been converted to the good side!!

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

DOGE!! Lol

Transactions are basically nothing! It is wonderful for that!

Even if it's not ever taken seriously, I'll always like Doge, maybe not as a store of value tho!

It has its purpose for sure! Did you ever register for the poker league?

It does! And I did hopefully I'll be able to play soon!

Haha I did the same. Bought doge first and used DOGE to buy smartcash!! Transaction fees using DOGE is so much cheaper than using BTC or LTC etc..!! When I was buying, cryptopia still had they DOGE market (now closed) so i didn't even have to convert my doge to btc, I just bought smart directly with doge!!

Yeah!! That is exactly what I thought too! BTC fees are outrageous and make it awful to exchange!! I do miss that Smart/Doge pair from cryptopia!!

I hope more of the larger exchanges like bittrex will open a DOGE market too!!

Σ$$$ Tipped @sevinwilson Σ20 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.593 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $11.86 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Thank you! :D

I really like the smartcash model. Smart rewards are awesome, I do regret not purchasing more when it was cheaper. I could have set up a node.

So do I! It is definitely unique, which is good in the space with so much alike! I hope to have a node set up soon!

Doge is best for low fee

nice! thanks for the tutorial

Congratulations. Good post.

Σ$$$ Tipped @sevinwilson Σ10 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.593 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $5.93 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

You can use the following commands:

  • balance - displays your current wallet balance
  • address- displays your deposit address
  • withdraw <amount> <address> - withdraws the amount of SMART to address
  • tip <usernamegt; <amount> - sends the amount of SMART to username
  • terms - displays terms and conditions for using @smartbot

You have Σ60 SMART (unconfirmed: Σ0 SMART).

withdraw 60 SPBNSsLr6xzEDmheQhs1FSMqj27JAZDRFk

@sevinwilson: Σ59.99 SMART has been withdrawn from your account to SPBNSsLr6xzEDmheQhs1FSMqj27JAZDRFk. You have been charged Σ0.01 SMART withdrawal fee. Transaction 58b85c733c830466461b40d40ac967c0d95c21bd1e5c0b0739486c941fa7c303 is now completed. To monitor the transaction status click HERE.

hey so nice I really like your post! Lets make steemit together to a better place with our content! Definitely a possible altcoin moonshot, has potential to do a 10x. Check out my blog for more possible moonshots.

https://steemit.com/@altcoinmoonshot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65