Life - Where has Teekay been!?

in #life8 years ago

It's been a week since my last post, despite saying that I would be back to my regular routine. So, let’s get real for a minute.

I've been feeling the blues. The past few months have been quite hard for me. There have been high points, sure, but they have been very rare. If you follow my blog, then you already know of past misgivings. What you don't know is that in the last couple of weeks I hit a real speed bump.

The breakdown

A week before Christmas, my parents threw a party at our house. I'm not so much the partying type anymore, but I decided to join in on the festivities. After a lot of alcohol and what was a fun evening, me and my mother had a dispute. A lot of unspoken feelings came out and it turned violent. Don't worry, I would never hit my mother, though she did hit me. My step father came in to break it up, and being drunk, I lashed out at him. Long story short, I've felt bad about it ever since.

Now, as much as I'd like to take the blame, the entire situation wasn't my fault. My mother, whom I love dearly, has an alcohol problem. I've tried to tell her before, but telling someone they have a problem only creates more of a problem, no matter how subtle you are about it.

The situation ended with me losing my shit. Once I kick off, I don't stop. My step father called the police to stop me. I ended up in the watch house that night and left in the morning with a Domestic Violence Order... Hooray for me. I've since decided not to drink heavily ever again, go figure. I don't like the feeling of not being in control, which I wasn't in control once my fists had started flying.

Why am I telling you all this? Because I've been struggling with it ever since. I've come to some serious realizations about the people around me and have spent a lot of time contemplating what went wrong. I've learned that what transpired that evening was avoidable. Although I wasn't the one in the wrong, I am man enough to admit that I could've avoided the situation, were I in control at the time, which I was not.

Then and now

Since then I've been knuckling down on my business ventures. What started as a small time thing, has grown. That too has been hard to deal with, being that I'm doing most of the work myself. I have had a partner throughout the process but he's not as free to involve himself as much as he would like too. I've also been dealing with another person whom is awesome, but unfortunately not someone that I can rely on because they too are busy with their own businesses. As marketing goes, my business woes are not profitable mentions, but fuck it, I'm the kind of guy who gets stuff off his chests so he can move on.

Besides that, a very good friend was living with me for the past 6 months. He recently left to go do his own thing. It was fun having him here, though it turned out to be an unnecessary distraction. I had invited him to live with me for his benefit, as his lease had run out and he needed a cheap place to stay, not only that but I wanted him to collaborate in the business as well, and explained this to him prior. Unfortunately, his determination dwindled shortly after arriving and his time here turned into a holiday for the both of us. Since his departure, I've come to terms with it, but I am disappointed. I really wished he'd to come along for the ride.

These things have plagued me, including financial woes being that I'm now self-employed. All these things have put me in a funk which I've had to deal with in order to move on. I wouldn't be telling you any of this if I wasn't confident in my ability to move on. The truth is though, I need it to be said so that I can, as if this were therapy and I'm my own patient. There's an even bigger uphill battle ahead of me and my time will be spread thin, thinner than ever before now that I'm basically a one-man army, so I need to get over it and suck it up.

Moving on

I know what I need to do now, I just don't know if I still have the motivation to get it done. I'm too proud to ask for help but I think now is the time to do so. I'll be looking for better business partners in the coming weeks and I'll be vetting them properly this time. No more yes men, because it's time to get shit done. I've squeezed a six-year plan into one year and there's no way I'm falling back on my promises.

I'm sure if you're reading this, the negativity I'm expressing is all too evident, for which I apologize. I don't mean to be a downer, which is why I'm trying to get it all out now. What better way to do that, than to do it on Steemit, am I right? Instead of eating junk food, watching movies, and sleeping all day like an entitled teenager, I figure this is a much healthier way of dealing with my problems.

So, it's time now to get back to reality. To stop feeling down in the dumps, pick my feet up off the ground, get back on my grind, and do what it is that I need to do. To be honest, I didn't think I'd make it out of my despair this time, and was thinking the worse. I guess it goes to show just how much our emotions can get the better of us if we let them. I would like to say I won’t let myself make that same mistake but it only takes one bad day to ruin your week.

I know this is not a very entertaining piece of writing to endure. Thank you to those that have.


Thomas Te Aroha Kohi

Owner/Producer, Thirsty Records | Hip Hop Artist | Entrepreneur

Born in New Zealand and resides in Australia, Thomas writes about many different subjects, mostly about those that affect him at the time. He likes to philosophize about each subject and does the same in his music. Addicted to knowledge though no scholar, Thomas tries to be original & true in his quest to better himself.
Follow him here for more

Sort:  

I agree with @steevc. Thanks for sharing this great post, Senseiteekay!
Upvoted & Followed.

Thanks for reading @lazariko12.

Followed back.

Honesty and vulnerability play well here.
Most of us are here because we're sick of the fakeness in the world.
The price of maturity is being ashamed of who you were.
The only people who are proud of everything in their past are the people who haven't grown since then.

I like being honest, not so much vulnerable. In saying that, I didn't write this for the bucks. I've made enough money here already, more than I first thought possible. But yes, I am here because of the fakeness.

"The price of maturity is being ashamed of who you were."

That is probably one of the best lines I have ever heard. Did you come up with that?

Thanks for your input @mattclarke :)
followed

Thanks mate. Yes I did, although it's so self evident, I can't imagine myself the first to make the observation.
Keep up the great writing.

I think most of us have unconsciously made that observation, but you my friend, may be the first to express it so eloquently.

It's really not easy to have friends as good business partners. It's only after 10 years of trying to do that, that I finally found the few who I can do things properly with, plus I actually followed a friend down the path of his long-con in the forex market (with my cash) before I started my journey in cryptos - hard lessons to be learned but I guess it had to happen :) All the best!

I hear you man. The hardest part is letting them go. I guess it's just a part of business, really. It's strange thinking this way, but I guess it's a necessary evil, to be stern in our position if we wish to be successful.

Thanks for your input @kevinwong, all the best to you too!

Like Piaget proved action precedes thought, and so it's action that creates new thinking so you are on the right track.
After your actions, you will be able to test, measure and correct them, and if you are pushing your will in the correct direction, you will see your ideas reflecting and propagating in the world you want. :)
And writing can be a cathartic process to improve your self-awareness

Thanks @charlie777pt. I was searching for a feeling of catharsis when writing this and found it by the end.

Good to let these feelings off your chest. No need to apologize for airing negativity, you have every right to. Just keep doing you, and I have no doubt that you'll be back on the right path. Leave all the negativity in the past and forge steadily forward, man.

Thanks for your kind words @jedau. Time to leave this recent negativity and get on with it :)

That's the spirit! Be well, brother :D

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.49 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64