Destiny Vs Free Will: Which Rules Our Life?

in #life7 years ago

0.jpg

There is something that I have been thinking a lot about recently and it has to do with life itself. If you think about life in terms of probabilities, there are literally an infinite number of ways it can happen from the moment you are born.

In fact, even the event of your birth itself (time, place, family to which you are born, etc.) is one amongst an infinite number of ways the event could have happened and your further life was influenced by it greatly.

We like to believe that we have free will and we can take our life in the direction we want making conscious decisions at every point along the way. There is however a popular concept of destiny or fate which says that everything is pre-determined.

So, I have been doing a lot of thinking regarding this. Are our lives ruled by our own free will or do we all come with our own destinies? Or is it both? Is that even possible?

Are We In Control?

1.jpg

We humans like to believe that we have control over every little decision we take and that our lives are determined by the effects of those decisions, in a cause and effect relationship. Many people believe that fate has nothing to do with it. It’s all our actions.

But how do we know that we indeed have free will? If our whole lives were in fact pre-determined, our actions and the freedom over them could appear to us as free will while in reality, it would only be an illusion.

Also, let’s say time travel were ever to be invented, and we could freely go to the future and the past. That would raise questions about free will too. I mean, the very presence of a future (that you can go to and come back) would mean that things are already pre-destined, right?

What I think personally, is that we are actually in control and have total free will. At any given time we have an infinite number of ways to head into, and through conscious decision making, we are shaping our future.

Is Everything Pre-Determined?

2.jpg

Now, for this principle to be true, there has to be a higher entity in some form or manner. Generally it’s believed to be god who has a plan for each of us down here on the planet.

It would explain why you were born in the family you were and why you met the love of your life when you did, and the way you did. Coincidence has no place in such a belief system.

In my mind, there is an obvious question that arises and that is the ‘why’ of it. Why would a higher entity make plans for 7.5 billion people and leave us all to play out their drama? Wouldn’t this make life meaningless as there is literally nothing we can do to escape the ‘roles’ and the ‘futures’ we have been assigned to?

People who do not believe in fate often say that, fate can simply be explained by ‘chance’. So, the people that you meet, the things that happen to you, and everything else, was just chance. One event out of an infinite number of possibilities.

Could It Be Both?

3.jpg

The idea that both these principles could be at work might sound counter-intuitive but could it be that we have free will under a much larger framework of destiny?

Let’s say some of the more profound events of your life were destined to happen and the ways you get there would be dependent on your free will. One could argue that it still isn’t true free will as no matter what you do, you would have to go through the set milestones of your life.

As you can see, thinking about all this can be too complicated and the most unfortunate thing is that, we just can’t be sure whether it’s one or the other. Well, who knows maybe one day.

What do you guys think? Is our life ruled by fate or do we have absolute free will? Do tell in the comments section down below!

Sort:  

You know i watched Harry potter in which he asks the dumledore, why he and Voldermort had different stories regardless of same powers, life, and even wands..
Dumbledore gave a very Simple but deep answer -

Your Choices..!

Maybe it's like the "Westworld" TV series. But they of course, did not have 8 billion people to take care of

haha Yeah, but it can indeed be a "westworld" type thing with our world too.

Before i comment any further,i have to say that this is the best post of my evening.Really love it.
Now,as a religionist and a christian precisely,i would like to relate this discussion to that aspect.
Yes,i believe that fate or destiny as i like to regard it, and freewill all come into play in our lives.God,as the supreme being,destined each human being He created for a purpose but still giving us the opportunity or priviledge to choose which is definitely freewill.
Yes,this is really complicated as you said but i'm certain The Bible has all the answers which you seek.

Thanks for the kind words and I respect your opinion on the matter. But could you tell me, if god has a purpose for everyone then how does our free will even matter? Just want to know your opinion on this.

I would imagine it depends on opinion. What defines something that "matters" versus something that doesn't? This is the role of religion, regardless of whether you believe that a "true religion" exists or religion is invented. That's why (in my opinion) being an atheist tends to lead one towards a nihilist philosophy, that nothing really does matter, although one could make the argument that advancing the human race is a sufficient cause to justify any action

But I digress. I think a belief system like that of @stephenpaul, which is really similar to my own, would argue that the purpose of free will is to provide the opportunity to express loyalty or love to God, or indirectly, through showing love to others. While the ultimate destination remains, the road is yours to find.

Wonderful discussion...based on my years on earth...I've come to believe that some force is in play that creates certain situations that to me...can't just be random chance...how we react to the things that "happen"....mold us daily...I feel that if I am working "with the force"....somehow it flows easier or gets accepted whether I like it or not...

Then again...with all the discoveries in the quantum physics realm...perhaps we are more connected from a scientific standpoint than we realize which is why these events happen...

All for future generations to discover...

Meanwhile...I'll try and let you know if I get to the other side...

Yeah, I believe that further discoveries in the quantum physics realm will help us understand more about the nature of our reality and maybe then we will finally know.

So I have woken up this morning...I "think" I have an almost infinite number of things I could "choose" to think about or actions I could take...so I am choosing to lie in bed and give some more thought to this post...got up and made a coffee to drink while lying in bed...this is something I never do....was it some predetermined fate that I would do this?

Does it matter? Since I "think" it is my choice....does that not make it so? Is not our fate simply that we exist as human beings having evolved to a conscious state to which we are fully aware of all our thoughts, emotions and actions?

And if while reading this post....I suddenly become gripped with depression over the thought that nothing I do is my choice anyway...it's all predetermined....so I might as well stay in bed....under the covers and die a withered death....would it matter?

Ironically....whether it's my choice or my fate....I won't allow myself that option....because my thoughts and emotions tell me it does matter....so I won't let myself simply waste away....that seems to be a choice I get to make....

On the other side of the coin....if my genetic makeup or a non treatable chemical imbalance suddenly thrust me into a state of depression over which I had no control....leading to a death not of my choosing.....is that not fate?

Now this sentence was not the first one I typed....and while I attempted to back delete that sentence....I hit a wrong button and got a weird message about needing to download program with other languages to continue....that wasn't my choice....It was my fate or consequence of an action I took even though unaware I took it....so it appears to me that fate would be all the actions that occur around me over which I have no control....how I react to them....feels like my choice.

Finally....if it is all pre determined I only perceive two possibilities....some force exists that is running the show....or we are just mathematical algorithmic blocks on the universal blockchain waiting for the all powerful miner to confirm our existence....

Regardless....whether it's destiny or free will....I need to feed my growling stomach.

Always a vexing question, dependent upon ones spiritual beliefs. From my perspective, there is no preordained destiny--only choice, chaos and randomness. Great topic!

Yes, I tend to believe the same. :)

Amazing post.I'm new on steemit I'm following you please you follow me.I hope you follow me.Have a great Success.Thanks

Please don't do this type of thing. It will only make people NOT want to follow you.

Fate and destiny are two things that are almost the same, but different purposes and purposes. If we talk about these two things, then we can equate perception, we must be in one religion @sauravrungta, because different religions are different from the point of view of both things. According to our religion of Islam, taqdir has been determined from birth, while the fate is also already determined, only we are required for endeavor (effort). Different points of view in each Religion I think the absolute right of each Religion.

Regards

@safwaninisam

I think they are the same. Just different words.

I firmly agree with the concept that it is both. If a higher power is accepted as the designer of destiny, then it makes complete sense that small, individual actions would be left up to the one makings them, insofar as it aligns with the overall destiny.

Yes, it could be both. But in this scenario, does it matter if we have free will if ultimately our fates are sealed?

Very interesting question, and one which I myself have wrestled with for a long time. As a Christian, my personally philosophy by necessity has to include God as an actor somewhere in this cosmic drama, but I don't think I commit fully to either predestination or the "clockmaker" argument.

It seems illogical that a divine power would "plan out" such widespread suffering and apparent chaos on an individual scale, so I personally believe that it follows that humans have free will to cause these problems themselves. However, I think that there does exist a "divine limit" on the amount of our free will, since there is still an ultimate plan for humanity in the long term that no human can prevent or avoid by their own free will.

Anyway, great post and thank you for sharing your thoughts!

Progress in life is about working on the part you have power to influence, and to live with peace with the fact that every moment everything can change by powers of nature - but at least you doing your best

Those are some wise words :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69