Why Asians are better at crapping than Westerners

in #life7 years ago (edited)

crapping.jpg

If a bird craps on your shoulder would you wipe it off with toilet paper or clean your shoulder with water?

It seems pretty logical that one would use water right? So why is it that Westerners choose to clean the excess crap from their bums after a poop with toilet paper and not water?

I spent the day in Jakarta today, on Java, the island next to Bali, my current home. And I was greeted by a wonderful array of basic toilets.

The Squirty Thing

Having lived in Asia for over a year now I have become accustomed to using the squirty water system after my daily poop. And the idea of wiping my dirty bum with toilet paper simply doesn't feel right any more.

You can see below the squirty hose that features in most Asian toilets.

toilet-hose.jpg

The only thing I would say about them is that sometimes the water pressure can be rather intense and come as quite a shock and can even be a little painful.

Solution - check pressure before firing at your target!

The Squatting Position

The other thing I wanted to mention about Asian crapping habits is their squat system as opposed to the Western sitting system.

squat-toilet.jpg

Some might argue it is just cheaper to create a squatting toilet than a sitting toilet but having researched this subject I now know that it is actually much better for you to crap in the squatting position. Believe it or not, this is actually the most efficient position for your body to get rid of the maximum amount of faeces without feeling any kind of discomfort.

I do believe we have forgotten this important fact in the West and have become lazy with our seated pooping position.

This is in part due to naivety and in part due to the Westerner's enjoyment of taking their time on the 'crapper', some of us even using this sacred private moment to read our daily newspaper or toilet magazine of choice.

anstandsregeln-fuer-die-toilette-klolektuere.jpg

http://www.zuhause.de/foto-show-toilette-und-wc-mit-anstand-nutzen-klo-knigge/id_62570536/sid_45019532/si_9/index/

Needless to say, we in the west are constantly pushed towards materialism and fancy gadgets for our homes, so a simple hole in the floor just wouldn't do at all.

The Solution

I have friends in the UK who put a small box in front of their toilet in order that their legs can be raised up to the same level as their bum, achieving a similar effect and consequently a more effective pooping experience :)

Final Note

I also have also observed that there are many light-hearted toilet signs here in Asia and I very much enjoy how they appear to not see it as such a taboo topic as we in the West.

We all have to pee & poop folks, so let's talk about it, let's bloody well laugh about it and better still, let's start learning how to poop with efficiency and cleanliness!

Blessings to you all :)

IMG_2788.jpg

Sort:  

It's all about dat squat! It's funny to talk about, but taking a shit in the squatting position feels so much more . . . healthy. It feels like how your body is actually engineered naturally to take a shit.

While running around India for a month, I ran into pretty much nothing but squat toilets and straight up shitting outside. I was a bit weirded out initially by the idea of squatting and shitting, why, I do not know. Eventually I had to get over it and just do it. Once I did, I was like "Oh, ok. I get it. This makes taking a fat shit so easy. I feel emptied!"

Thanks for your response to this! I love your honesty. And yes! It does seem to make you feel emptier. All the research points to it being a more effective system. But like I said, we have forgotten this in the West.

These are things I do not wanna really know my friend :-)

Ah, the taboo of poo :) Sorry if i offended. Just felt like it was an important thing to share. Why knows, it may even help a few people :)

no worries and sure it helps some people!

"I have friends in the UK who put a small box in front of their toilet in order that their legs can be raised up to the same level as their bum, achieving a similar effect and consequently a more effective pooping experience"

Hahahahhahahahahahah

Although its funny I was planning to do the same thing... Our ancestors did it for thousands or years.
@samstone; cool post.

It true! I know it sounds pretty funny. I've tried it and it actually works quite well :)

Fun stuff:)

That's what I thought whilst writing it. Though I realise it may not be to everyone's taste :)

Everybody have their own sence of humor:) But it's totally right about the pegions poops:)

Seems to be funny, but important for our health. Asians are better :)

In this situation Asians sure are better :) I have seen many times how those with less money instinctively follow a more natural path to health.

Thanks for the comment :)

Ha...ha... Nice posting Sam.... !

Thank you my friend. Someone had to say it :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.59 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Haha... allow me to mention, this post is full of "crap". ;-)

haha! Yes indeed it is :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28