You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Opportunity Cost Of Fluff: Realness, Rawness, And Badass Authenticity...

in #life7 years ago

Religion is a toughie - and perhaps one of the areas it's needed most, for there is so much bullshit there. Tough, yes - though perhaps a test of character to go against the grain of a status quo that is simply fucked in so many ways...

Sort:  

I guess for me, I've found it's especially tough being authentic with family members. But when it comes to religion, I've decided to play along with them. I choose to be inauthentic with them because I think I'm better off in the long-run. I'd rather be on good terms with them, yet annoyed at times by their clashing opinions, rather than be estranged or have them trying to reconvert me, lol. There's a price to pay for being authentic and inauthentic.

and some might call that price "integrity."

Thanks for pointing that out. I never thought about this definition of integrity before - living honestly when its inconvenient.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67801.51
ETH 2617.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72