There is a 'Vs' between UNIVERSITY and YOUTUBE!

in #life5 years ago

Hello Wonderful People!

How is your day going?

I'm gonna give my feedback right away on @ecotrain's QOTW- UNIVERSITY Vs YOUTUBE!

To be honest, I was a little surprised by seeing this 'Vs' thing. But, I understand it's just a fun question. Because for me, "There is still no alternative to University Education."

C9BAD2F8-0B0E-4C8B-BEAE-24C3B90FF5B5.png

No matter how advanced we are in terms of technology or online/internet growth, no matter how much available different knowledge sources are, there would always be a need for 'Academic Learning.' And more preciously University Education.

It's not just because I completed my Graduation and Masters from a Reputed University but rather this is what I feel observing around. University education is not just about 'Study', there are many more things related to it.

For me, University is the 'SeedBed' for the students. It's a place of development, growing thyself. It's a place where we learn 'what we should learn.' It's like a guideline, a pathway maker to help us decide what we should do, how we should do, what we should search for.

9751759B-4B67-4D3C-9079-D6F5D7C2C16E.png

I'm not opposing online education anyway. Youtube is an enriched world. We can get to learn 'whatever' we want. I don't know how many times I do search for something I did not understand from my study book. To learn anything new Youtube is the first thing we visit. But I think self-learning/acquiring knowledge from different sources is to enrich ourselves more, to strengthen our knowledge. But without a guideline, a specific structural study, an academic environment; we will be "Jack of all trades, master of none"

University education can not cover-up everything, there are still needs lots of improvement in the education system like including more tech, life-related topics, experiments ie. And our teachers also need to cope up with all those things. It's not possible to gather everything in 4 years. But we can know how to gather more. It's like University lightens the fire in us to explore more. And we got the opportunity to explore more online/youtube as per our desire. The money and time we invest in University totally worth it. There is no boundary between learning outside our formal education.

F0252255-28D5-461F-83DE-4887E0AA581D.png

Youtube can be a great place to learn 'how to' or different 'experiments' 'deep understanding' of certain things. I usually search for different motivation related topics, HR-related topics (for my job), nowadays parenting, child development topics also. And, yeah, I also enrolled myself in different online training sessions or learning, mostly because of my job. For me, these are an easy way to access different study materials.

Photos: My own capture from my University of Dhaka and a small part of my book collection.

If you want to take part on this disscussion you can find more Here on @ecotain's QOTW.

THANKS FOR READING

Much Love

text16.png

Find me on other Social Places
Twitter FacebookDiscord

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you rem-steem! You've just received an upvote of 45% by tommyknockers!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thank you rem-steem! You've just received an upvote of 51% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Hmm, second year degree student here...

Once upon a time, I had an argument with someone about why they should get university education if they are capable of it (financial wise, academic wise, etc). I am quite honest when I'm telling him that it is possible to learn everything university teaches with the right connections and methods without going to a university, but then the place still serves as a good place for anyone who is learning...for reasons that don't really do with academics.

For me university is more like a sandbox society in which you will have to learn how to deal with stupid things yourself when they pop out. Like, questionable choices by the management, really really annoying (or non-contributing) classmates, stress, pressure, ...you can go on forever if you wanted to. It is more about getting the experiences instead of learning things. These tiny skills are what that can affect you for a long time onwards, so I think that states my point on the importance of university? :P

But not gonna lie, the whole class including me uses YouTube as a (highly important) secondary learning platform...you can't skip that, sometimes you just have to. Hehe.

To be honest I didn't think about this 'bulling' side. But this can't be an excuse to feel other alternatives are better than university education. Bulling is everywhere.
And as I have said YouTube can be a second or substitutional subject to learn deeply.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree. Nothing compares with the experience of college life. Technology, especailly through sites like youtube, can be a backup or reinforcement, another consultation resource, but it can not constitute the entirety of someone's education

That's what I believe and feel. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @rem-steem, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @priyanarc!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Wonderful argument @rem-steem. Very valid points. The experiences one gets when they move on to higher education is something that cannot be taught any other way besides, living it. I think it is those experiences that truly help shape a person for the future.

Totally agree with your thought. Thanks for your addition.

Posted using Partiko Android

fair enough brother! ive done it and it was beneficial in many ways,, esp if you dont have to get a huge loan to do it!

Yeah, that's really worse.
Here in my country higher education is almost free. Government gives a huge subsidiary on education.
And...ummmm, maybe you should call me sister. 🙂🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

I am well past my uni days. However i have seen some great lectures on YT. People I would never had the privilege to see IRL. But yes, I am sure it is not being 100% honest in asking it :)

This was a thoughtful contribution @rem-steem and my initial thought too - "why is there even a VS to discuss?" I'm putting my own thoughts down in the next day or so. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Will love to see your writing on this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56