Homemade Fermented Food and Chronic Fatigue--Healing My Gut

in #life8 years ago (edited)

If you are in chronic pain and can't seem to heal this may be the reason why, link to fermented food and gut health here. I found my health through eating organic whole foods, fermented foods, and dropping processed food, fast food, sugar, alcohol, allopathic medicine that treats symptoms, and gentle exercise, like walking and gardening.

Fermented foods, microbiota, and mental health: ancient practice meets nutritional psychiatry

The Impact of Diet and Lifestyle on Gut Microbiota and Human Health

The doctors called my fatigue, asthma, skin rashes, chronic bladder infections, depression/panic attacks, fibromyalgia. I was told to go to therapy for my panic attacks and take antidepressants. I was given inhalers for my asthma and Retin A for acne like skin rashes. I was on antibiotics several times a year for bladder and lung infections. All that medication is poison to your gut flora and fauna. No one told me I was killing my gut by taken this medication.

Not once was I asked by any of my doctors about my diet. We did talk about my relationships with family. I had horrible very dysfunctional relationships with family. Maybe I was clinging to my past and had horrible toxic relationships and that was causing all my physical problems. Nothing really seemed to work no matter what medication I took or how much therapy I went too. Plus I was getting really fat, my bones and joints were falling apart and that made everything depressing because I was in constant pain. My back was totally screwed, disks bulging and cutting off nerves in my leg so I couldn't walk. I was fat, tired, sick, my feet hurt all the time! Come to find out years later, thyroid was going out, pancreas and gallbladder weren't functioning correctly. No matter how healthy I ate I was not digesting and absorbing the nutrition I took in.

I finally figured I would be the one who had to fix myself because my doctors and medication seemed to make everything worse. So I walked away from allopathic medicine and psychology. I started researching and reading alternative data about physical and mental health. It's been a twenty year journey to find my health. I learned a lot along the way and made many mistakes. I learned a lot from my mistakes too. What did I learn? How healthy we are is all about gut health, even the mind is tied to gut health. If you can't absorb your minerals because your gut is all screwed up your mind will go friggen crazy!

I learned to meditate figuring that will help my mind out, I won't be so tired and moody. I can samadhi all over the universe, sit so still I disappear, generate all sorts of compassion and loving kindness (being sarcastic here) but eventually I have to get off the cushion and live my life. You could have the most wonderful relationships, be sitting on top of the world without a worry but if your gut isn't healthy it's all going to go down the toilet with lots of smelly farts to stink up everything. Meditating in a big Dharma hall with lots of people, one is full of gas, stinky farts that curl the hair in one's nostrils really challenges one's equanimity. I have butt loads of equanimity now...ha!

Your gut has a whole world of little beings living in it that help you digest the food you eat. If they are out of balance your world will be out of balance too! Sitting in retreat I got to see the body is like a universe and it is full of the most amazing beings. It's funny how I feel like I am just one being, but really the I that I call me is made up of billions of different little beings and if given the right information function perfectly together. It's amazing how everything I call me works as one. Too bad humans couldn't work together that way. Maybe they could if given the right data and nutrition.

Most of the ingredients came from our garden.

This is the recipe I used...well kind of, I added extra stuff to my taste... If you want to know my recipe, just ask and I'll post it. This recipe is very easy and well written out, easy to follow directions, link is here Kimchi Recipe

Follow Me

Sort:  

I'm sorry but I can't understand what you are saying.

  1. You had a lot of diagnoses
  2. You took a lot of medication causing side affects (till here i get it)

the food thing not so much
you claim you were eating healthy (I assume you mean traditional home cooked meals say, potatoes/rice/corn && meat/fish/eggs && fresh vegetables)?
now you eat fermented food and you claim improvement over the other food?

Yes, I posted a link that goes further into gut health linked to overall health. I am still figuring out how to post my journey to health and your critique is spot on. Also the host of symptoms were labeled chronic fatigue., edit fibromyalgia (I get the two mixed up but basically they're the same) I healed all my problems through eating organic whole foods, maybe I should add that! Thanks!

This all ties together and writing is so confusing to me, plus I didn't figure how to take care of myself all at once! Someday I will get my healing story organized. Thank you so much for helping me!

I've never had kimchi but we were just talking about a little while ago with my friend. Think I'm going to give it a try.

Also made me think of this post from alchemage few weeks back, it may be interest to you.
https://steemit.com/food/@alchemage/edible-medicines-of-the-magi-episode-2-the-powerful-benefits-and-how-to-make-ghee-a-traditional-medicine-and-staple-of-the

Thank you! That is a wonderful link, I will have to follow and like @alchmeage, I forgot...hahaha... I forgot to mention in my article about how important oil and fat are regarding my healing process. I guess I will have to write another article ;-) I have never made ghee (yet).

There is so much important and exciting information to share so it all couldn't possibly fit into one post :) I'm not always so good at paying attention to my eating so it is good to find all these interesting posts to inspire that part of my life

That is what is cool about a sharing community ... I learn so much from sharing and receiving .... I am glad I am still alive!

very interesting. A lot of info I did not know. Thanks for sharing - Steem ON!

More fuel for the steem, thank you!

I'm so glad that you figured out how to recover your health.
You are right, the doctors will not usually help. I have found that my own research have been what usually solves a health problem.

I figure that is true healing, figuring out who we are and what makes us tick. The hard part for me is remembering how I got where I am now so I can share my story.

Gut health is SO important! Thanks for this post. I've just posted a recipe for an amazing beetroot & red cabbage sauerkraut over on my page :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65